We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Fen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Pakenham B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Fen House while visiting family nearby. As fellow b&b owners, we were looking for tips to take home with us and scrutinising things a little bit more closely than many possibly would.

We stayed in room 1, which was spacious and immaculately clean. Bedding was lovely and the towels were nice and fluffy. We stayed in December and the room was warm and cosy without being too hot. The en-suite was spacious, with nice toiletries and lots of hot water. Little extras such as chocolates and fresh milk were the icing on the cake.

Breakfast was wonderful (we have now added eggs benedict to our menu!), and Lynn and Glyn were wonderful hosts, and we hope to stay again next time we are in the area. Hopefully next time will be in summer and we look round the lovely gardens.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
19
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was an accidental find whilst rushing to Suffolk to support a family member receiving medical treatment there - with so little time for any research, what a lucky find!! Talked in by friendly owner, Mr Patterson, as I drove my way, fraught and tired in the dark after a 5 hour drive. Arrived to find Mr Patterson waving outside to welcome me and to collect my luggage. Immaculate room, thoughtfully decorated with modern, stylish touches, crisp white linen, fluffy dressing gown, hot & powerful shower, fresh milk, and a slice of homemade cake to collapse into. Perfectly cooked breakfast of home produce from a wide range of choice (I had delicately fried baby tomatoes on the vine!). Good coffee - made properly and strong. Even the fresh milled pepper was impressive. No attention to detail spared here, folks. If you are looking for good overnight accommodation, or a few days' base in rural West Suffolk, this is a delightful find and ranks right up there with a first class hotel - just much, much better £value! Thoroughly recommend. Thank you Mr & Mrs Patterson!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I only had the pleasure of staying for one night, but it was certainly a comfortable one, with accommodation of the highest standards. Lynn and Glynn are the perfect hosts who welcome you into their home as if you were friends. This is one of the best B&B’s I’ve ever stayed at with one of the finest breakfasts. Great value too! I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Fen House to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B with incredibly friendly staff, and delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katewaite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed here for one night on a business trip and was really impressed. Received a very friendly welcome from Lynne, the room (No 1) was incredibly spacious, more wardrobes than any hotel, modern, clean, tasteful, furnishings; large walk-in shower in the en-suite which again was impeccably clean with toiletries provided. Free wifi but dodgy mobile reception, which was the only minor inconvenience. Although down a country lane I did not have far to go to find a pleasant pub serving a decent good value meal. Breakfast was delicious with eggs benedict on the menu to make a change from the ubiquitous 'full english', entirely made from scratch by Lynne, with Glynn providing excellent service. Altogether a charming b & b providing quality accommodation, food and hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gray_Joybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed at Fen House recently whilst attending a wedding at Hengrave Hall; the break included 2 nights at Fen and one at the Hall. In all honesty Fen House proved to be head and shoulders above Hengrave's garden rooms. For a start Lynne and Glynn are excellent hosts. The bedrooms and bathrooms are comparable with a chic hotel. The gardens are lovely and the location perfect, so peaceful. Last but not least, the breakfasts are excellent. If we get round to visiting the area again will definitely be looking at visiting Fen House. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to one and all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james_maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Fen House while attending a wedding in nearby Ixworth. It was an ideal choice and we couldn't fault anything during our time there. Lynn and her husband were exceptionally friendly, hospitable and helpful during our stay with them. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_hartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fen House

Property: Fen House
Address: Fen House Fen Road | BURY ST EDMUNDS, Pakenham, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 2LP, England (Formerly Fen House B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Pakenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fen House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star rated self catering holiday home with 3 double bedrooms, 2 with King Beds and 1 with double bed, large lounge/diner, fully equipped kitchen including washer/dryer,dishwasher,double oven/hob, fridge/freezer, microwave.The large lounge has French doors opening onto private patio and access to landscaped gardens.Free WIFI.Children are welcome and ample parking on private driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing