We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A easy, convenient ski trip from Seoul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A easy, convenient ski trip from Seoul”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The Vivaldi Ski World is a small jewel for skiing. It is very close to Seoul, 1-2 hours by bus depending on traffic. There are buses to take you there which makes it very convenient and easy (many people go just for the day). The park is not very big and the runs are not the most challenging but the snow conditions were good: packed snow. Good hills for beginners. Staff was very friendly and always smiling... Only drawback is that English language was limited. At the ski center there were many choices of food including, Starbucks, Dominos Pizza, Burger King and other local flavors. Also a complete ski shop. There are many options of time sessions to ski (long and short) so that makes it convenient: you can even ski from midnight till 5am if you want to. To complement there is an Ocean Park for those who want to swim and other water rides (but we did not use). Perfect place for a 3-4 day get-away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
87
11
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Resort is located near Seoul, good for family with young children. They do not have many English speaking staffs but once you need help, they go all the way to look for one that can speak English. Do not bother to try on the spot booking of ski coach as they do not have standby English coach. The negative point of this ski resort is that sledding is only allowed on flat ground, not on the slope. Room condition is good and well maintained.

Room Tip: I have booked through a local agent, but if you can get a Korean to book for you, you can get it at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmetsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beluran, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had been at Vivaldi Park on Dec 2013. It was my first time there and skiing with my friends and sister. In fact it was our first time in South Korea. We stayed in the old room with nice view, difficult to find an English speaking officer. The scenery around the hotel area is outstanding. Comfort stays overall speaking, value for money in view of its environment, room size and hotel condition.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hafsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

It is my first visit to Vivaldi Park but not to Korean ski resorts at all. Vivaldi is a good average. The slopes are pretty easy for experienced skiers. But if you need a warm-up for the season then it is a place to go. Everything is well organized, there are sufficient parking lost, at leafs for weekdays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were here in Dec 2013. We booked Vivaldi Park through a tour agent and also booked the private transfer for the 5 of us (family with 3 kids) and 4 large luggages. It took about 1.5 hours to get there from Seoul and we stayed at Cherry wing which is its newest wing. The front desk hardly spoke English and we were blessed to have Mr Chae our driver who spoke good English help us translate queries and requests. Through Mr Chae, the frontdesk helped us to book seats on the free shuttle bus (tour coach) back to Seoul. The timings back to Seoul Sports Complex were 5.30 am, 8.30 am for the morning runs. You need to make a reservation to get on it. There is subway from Sports Complex so that was convenient.

We missed both of our breakfasts at Vivaldi. Reservations are required and the timings were too unearthly for us (7 or 8 am) and breakfast was served at other hotels/wings (ie walk underground from our hotel to Oak/Pine etc).

The family suite came with 2 bedrooms (1 Western, 1 ondol) and 2 bathrooms. The ondol was a disappointment as the mattresses were very thin and we could feel the floor when we slept, even when we put 2 mattresses together. I would suggest just getting Western rooms for proper sleep. The ondol room got very warm at night and we had to open the balcony to let the cold air in. The bathrooms were large (no bathtub) and new.

The living area too was big and the kitchenette had a sink and counter seats for 5 persons. That was a nice touch for us. There is no housekeeping service so do clean up after yourselves and throw away the garbage at a service room near the lift lobby.

As for the sking, it was confusing for us with the different booking systems for ski lessons, gear and clothing. Lessons from the ski school needs to be booked 2 hours before time ie book between 8 - 950 am for the 10-12 pm ski lesson. There are few English speaking instructors so my advice is to book early. There are different packages eg family package, 1:3, etc. Our 4 year old was not allowed to go on family package with us and needed a 1:1 coach. The sledding slope was not open when we were there. Hence, we bought a kiddy sled for the 4 year old to play with.

You will also need to book the ski gear from the ski school (10k won per pax). And ski clothes from another place next door (77k won for 3 pax for 12 hours). Bring your passport and drivers license (they need photo identification) in order to book ski gear and clothes ie 2 different license for different places to book these stuff. My husband had to use the hotel card as collateral after having to book from 3 places! The place to book ski sessions (am, pm) and ski lifts is another counter (see photo), separate from gear and clothes.

There are several food choices from the food court facing the ski slopes, to Burger King, Starbucks and the underground walkway (just outside ski school) which led to the basement of the hotel. There are cafes, supermarket, shops, arcade, kiddy rides and restaurants here. We enjoyed the Korean restaurant at the right end of the kiddy area. They serve the most delicious seaweed soup.

Ocean World's indoor park is open in winter. The walk from the ski area to Ocean World took about 10 freezing minutes. Foreigners get a 20% discount. When you get through the entrance, get a bracelet that allows you to store money value if you are planning to eat at the restaurants, get life jackets, fish spa (ie let little fishes nibble at your feet). They don't accept cash inside.

When you get through the entrance, you will be given a "watch" with your locker number which allows you to scan and open up 2 lockers - one for shoe, and the other for belongings. First, place your shoes in the shoe locker, then keep your clothes and belongings in the other locker. There are separate areas for shoes and lockers, and also separated by gender. Note that there is no privacy for changing. Everyone simply strips and change in front of their lockers! Bring your own swimsuit and swimming cap. If you need large towels, bring your own. Their towels are 1m by 30 cm. You will have to decide which part of your body to cover if you are shy. There is a spa and sauna area after the locker area where everyone is stark naked. We were too embarrassed to use those.

There was a wave pool which required a life jacket (extra cost), a jacuzzi area, a kiddy area with wonderful slides (which was unfortunately poorly utilised as the water was too cold!!), lazy river, and hot tub area. The lazy river had an outdoor channel and there were water slides for bigger kids. It was too cold for me to venture out there so we just relaxed at the jacuzzi and hot tubs to ease all the pain from sking.

There is a bath area with shampoo and soap provided but with tiny towels, you have to run up the stairs to the locker area to avoid getting a chill. There are hairdryers provided near the lockers as well.

Room Tip: Cherry is the new wing. Select the ski slope view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank MythicSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I went here for an evening snowboard session with my Korean clients. Had a great time, lifts are a little slow by European standards, but adequate. The lifties were very helpful and friendly. Piste patrolers were very evident keeping everyone safe. Anyone who injured themselves was swiftly taken down for medical attention. Nice touch was a big orange foam seat for boarders to sit on whilst clipping in. Local shops will rent out all the gear needed including goggles and helmet. Snow was a mix of artificial and natural, pistes were nicely bashed with few icy patches. There was a big firework display on my last run down which really made the trip. About 90 mins drive from Seoul.

Room Tip: Book your gear ahead with a rental shop, you can pick up gear and lift pass all in one package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Dae Myung Resort Vivaldi Park is a multi-resort where depending on the season different activities are available. In the winter Skiing, snowboarding and Swimming is available. During the summer the water park is open. All the facilities are very good. Equipment renting fees were well priced. It also facilitates an underground small theme park with movie theatres and a child care centre. The resort is very entertaining in many ways which was worthwhile going in both seasons. The accommodation was high standards regardless of having stayed in the middle class rooms (Oak/ Pine). There was a choice of the traditional Ondol (Sleeping on the ground) room as well as rooms with beds. It provided with a variety of foods depending on the cost a person may want to spend. Food courts and restaurants where provided. Also there was a Korean traditional public bath facility. The overall price was moderate for a resort.

Room Tip: For an average price would recomend Oak and Pine rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hongcheon-gun
13.2 mi away
Elysian Gangchon
Elysian Gangchon
#2 of 16 in Chuncheon
35 reviews
15.8 mi away
KT&G Sangsang Madang Chuncheon Stay
0.0 mi away
Sicily Pension
Sicily Pension
#2 of 18 in Hongcheon-gun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Daemyung Resort Yangpyeong
Daemyung Resort Yangpyeong
#1 of 24 in Yangpyeong-gun
7 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hanwha Resort Yangpyeong
Hanwha Resort Yangpyeong
#2 of 24 in Yangpyeong-gun
23 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oak Valley Condo
Oak Valley Condo
#1 of 2 in Wonju
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park

Property: Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park
Address: 262, Hanchigol-gil, Seo-myeon, Hongcheon-gun, Gangwon-do 25102, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Hongcheon-gun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Hongcheon-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daemyung Resort Vivaldi Park South Korea/Hongcheon-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing