We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great skiing hotel”
Review of High1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High1 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jeongseon-gun
Seogwi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great skiing hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great property for skiing vacation, 2nd floor of it is connected with ski resort by gondola (which you don't find often in any other Korean ski hotels), but you need to check if you book exactly the place you wanted:) since there are 3 hotels and 3 condos located at the same ski resort named as High One, some reviews are actually mentioning other condos at the same ski resort ^_^. Anyway check also the gondola running timing, if you cannot reach hotel by gondola there are still shuttle buses you can take. Ski, relax in sauna and enjoy the scenery around! The view from gondola leaving hotel is smthing which takes your breath at first:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went for a short stay, loved the room. Wifi coverage is good in the room. There is no market nearby so we have to buy instant noodle from the ski area to fill our tummy at night. The hotel only provides tea bags in the room. Breakfast was splendid and I had western cuisine. We took a bus to Ski Resort bout 10 minutes away and it's convenient. Ski rental + goggles cost us around usd 60. Gloves have to purchase separately. To me, goggles is not useful and I regretted renting it. So be wise :D

Room Tip: I suggest that you do not need to rent goggles for ski activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winter_Love520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on Oct 2011. The easy way is by taking a cross-country bus from Incheon International Airport to Gohan / Sabuk bus terminal then It takes around 10 min of taxi drive from the bus terminal to the hotel.
The ski resort is a bit far away from the hotel but but connected by a shuttle bus that runs every 20mins and the gondola. It's a great hotel to stay, if you are fine with the travelling between the hotel and ski resort.
The rooms are clean and hotel staff friendly. English is not widely spoken at the ski resort and most brochures/info are in Korean only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel by arrangement of tour agent. The rooms are nice with toiletries and comfortable. Wifi is availableaking it a plus. My family had a western breakfast which was splendid. The location is rather remote & rooms slightly cramped for 3 persons.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Travelled with a group of friends, 9 in total (with 1 kid and 2 young teenagers). Stayed for 2 nights in the Mountain Condo (away from the casino area but very convenient if you're into skiing). 2 bedroom configuration, one normal bed (with attached toilet) and one ondol. Unfortunately the ondols were very very uncomfortable (not thick/hard enough) and instructions on the heating was in korean (no window for the ondol room) so we had to leave the door open to let cool air in. Little kitchenette was great for our ramen party (after 2 or 3 meals there are only 2-3 restaurants to choose from). The lounge area was also spacious enough for us to gather in.
We liked the Korean restaurant (Palace?) which served the best Ginseng Chicken (we ended up going twice).
As there were 9 of us with kids, we got the hotel to arrange a private transfer for us at a pretty reasonable price and they were very helpful. Journey took 3 hours with one rest stop and driver was pleasant.
As we had never skied before, we managed to get a short intro to skiing and our instructor spoke good english and was very helpful and patient in teaching us. He also helped us in the purchase of the ski pass and rental of ski equipment. As foreigners we got a discount on the ski pass and equipment rental (this place also supports night skiing).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnesaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Getting to this resort by public transport was a big challenge. Followed the instructions on English version of the website (which carries significantly less info than the Korean counterparts), we ended up at a bus stop in middle of nowhere (later found out it's Shin Gohan Station). No shuttle bus from this bus terminal to hotel, you have to take a taxi by yourself. My snowboard bag can barely fit into the taxi, so we end up paying for two taxis.

There are 5 hotels/condo in the resort. I was told my reservation is either at the mountain or valley condo, but after 10mins of checking at the check in counter then we found out our reservation was actually at another condo. We had our taxi driver waiting all along and we have to drove back to the other side of the resort for check in. This quadrupled our taxi fare. So, make sure you know which condo/hotel you booked beforehand because each of them are at different location and do not share a same check in counter.

If you're bringinh your own board, you're gonna have a bad time. Shuttle bus within the resort is not luggage-friendly, we tried to open the side luggage space door and was stopped by the driver, we have to carry all our luggage into the cabin which very narrow aisle.

Leaving the resort and heading to Seoul was an adventure too. The hotel shuttle brought us to a place called Sabuk Station and where we were dropped off was absolutely nowhere near any public transport, we again have to take taxi to the Shin Gohan station for a cross-country bus back to Seoul.

Lift ticket package is unreasonably complex. There are 10 combinations of ticket, early morning, morning, morning to afternoon, afternoon, afternoon to night, night to midnight, you name it. And there is no multiple day pass. We were here for a 4 days ski trip and we have to spend 1hr everyday on rentals (you can't keep your rental gears overnight) and ticketing.

Food in the resorts was so-so, I like the KFC tho. Plenty of convenient stores which help to fix your late night cravings.

Upside of this resort is they have super long hours for skiing. Night ski courses include mountain top tracks and open until 23:00. Rooms are big and new.

This resort is ok ONLY if you're Korean and have your own car.

In general: hard to get there, bad ski ticketing and rentals, lack of english instructions

Room Tip: Hill condo has no rentals gear and no good food. KFC is located at valley and most shuttles departs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alan-hob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I went to this hotel with my hubby for our honeymoon. We booked this hotel through Wing On Travel and they said they have mentioned we're honeymooner to the hotel. However, the hotel did not care and prepared nothing for us!

The hotel is not brilliant with bad English level, but this was my first time to go to South Korea, may be this is the normal English standard in South Korea.

This resort is suitable for skiing or snow boarding, but not ideal for just relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jeongseon-gun
2.9 mi away
Gangwon Land Hotel
Gangwon Land Hotel
#2 of 14 in Jeongseon-gun
66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Convention Hotel
Convention Hotel
#3 of 14 in Jeongseon-gun
23 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Gangwon Taebaek Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Castello Hotel
Castello Hotel
#3 of 4 in Taebaek
3 reviews
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Jeongseon Maple Tourist Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jeongseon-gun
1 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mayhills Resort
Mayhills Resort
#4 of 14 in Jeongseon-gun
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High1 Hotel

Property: High1 Hotel
Address: 399, Gohan 7-gil, Gohan-eup, Jeongseon-gun, Gangwon-do 233-811, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Jeongseon-gun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Jeongseon-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — High1 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your High1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High1 Hotel South Korea/Gangwon-Do - Jeongseon-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing