We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High1 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mayhills Resort(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Gangwon Land Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Convention Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
High Valley Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
L's Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
L'Casino Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Moon Hotel(Jeongseon-gun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
24
42
9
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
42
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski resortshuttle busriceconvenient storecasino areaskiing snowboardinggondolatourskierslopesbuildingstationlobbycondolevellandvalley
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 77 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Getting to this resort by public transport was a big challenge. Followed the instructions on English version of the website (which carries significantly less info than the Korean counterparts), we ended up at a bus stop in middle of nowhere (later found out it's Shin Gohan Station). No shuttle bus from this bus terminal to hotel, you have to take a taxi by yourself. My snowboard bag can barely fit into the taxi, so we end up paying for two taxis.

There are 5 hotels/condo in the resort. I was told my reservation is either at the mountain or valley condo, but after 10mins of checking at the check in counter then we found out our reservation was actually at another condo. We had our taxi driver waiting all along and we have to drove back to the other side of the resort for check in. This quadrupled our taxi fare. So, make sure you know which condo/hotel you booked beforehand because each of them are at different location and do not share a same check in counter.

If you're bringinh your own board, you're gonna have a bad time. Shuttle bus within the resort is not luggage-friendly, we tried to open the side luggage space door and was stopped by the driver, we have to carry all our luggage into the cabin which very narrow aisle.

Leaving the resort and heading to Seoul was an adventure too. The hotel shuttle brought us to a place called Sabuk Station and where we were dropped off was absolutely nowhere near any public transport, we again have to take taxi to the Shin Gohan station for a cross-country bus back to Seoul.

Lift ticket package is unreasonably complex. There are 10 combinations of ticket, early morning, morning, morning to afternoon, afternoon, afternoon to night, night to midnight, you name it. And there is no multiple day pass. We were here for a 4 days ski trip and we have to spend 1hr everyday on rentals (you can't keep your rental gears overnight) and ticketing.

Food in the resorts was so-so, I like the KFC tho. Plenty of convenient stores which help to fix your late night cravings.

Upside of this resort is they have super long hours for skiing. Night ski courses include mountain top tracks and open until 23:00. Rooms are big and new.

This resort is ok ONLY if you're Korean and have your own car.

In general: hard to get there, bad ski ticketing and rentals, lack of english instructions

Room Tip: Hill condo has no rentals gear and no good food. KFC is located at valley and most shuttles departs from mountain condo.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alan-hob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I went to this hotel with my hubby for our honeymoon. We booked this hotel through Wing On Travel and they said they have mentioned we're honeymooner to the hotel. However, the hotel did not care and prepared nothing for us!

The hotel is not brilliant with bad English level, but this was my first time to go to South Korea, may be this is the normal English standard in South Korea.

This resort is suitable for skiing or snow boarding, but not ideal for just relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

first time to Korea in Dec 2011, no knowledge of Korean Language, and i made it to this resort,

Very first of all , landing at ICN , only holding a tiny piece of paper of - how to get there -instructio, subway to Cheong-Nyangni station, exchange to a train, i only say GOHAN ( the destination ) and got my ticket, didnt know which train to get on and keep asking which one and found someone understood english and pointed me. Glad i made to the train, since it's only schedule every 4 hour like, the train journey took also another 4 hours. ( interesting part, there are individual Karaoke room on the catering cabin ).
supposedly, there is a shuttle bus circulating this whole giant resort, but be careful which site your hotel is and hop on the right direction, if not, dont worry , you will still make to your destination but will take about extra hour ( i did the other day.. sadly ), so I took a cab up to the hotel , cost about 15-20 USD.

Back to the hotel itself, its part of whole big High1 ski resort which located on the other side of the mountain, if you do ski, there's gondola ride send you to the top of ski hill( a big plus to skier ), prior check-in, please do ask for a shuttle bus schedule.
Taxi service also availble, need to ask hotel staff to call.
The room my reservation was a western style, with a huge balcony and i attached the view from my room , stunning ...huh??
the room is standard size, class, WiFi equipped, just wonder why the TV set placed at your 45' angle from bed instead of facing it.
Staff, friendly and helpful, even though not fluent in English, but plus body gesture would be enough.
Restaurant, only tried the western style on the basement floor, food is nice with variety and most important, not pricey but reasonable.
Dining option, highly suggest to take the shuttle bus to downtown, plenty of choice, tried a few over 4 nights.
Entertainment, of course Skiing/Snowboarding , please do ask the hotel staff at reception to give you a discount coupon, which issue daily, so you have to ask everyday, offered disount at about 40% off. Also, again, shuttle bus to another building ( about 20 min ride ) to the casino.

overall, I think this hotel and whole resort is mainly catering locals or package foreign tour not individual foreigner. Since the website is full of confusion and not clear instruction of how to get there and local information. Would give it another shot but will choose the other hotel building which locate at the other side of the mountain for the convenience.

Room Tip: able to read Korean and study their website would definitly be helpful
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We (my wife and I) stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a skiing package tour. The hotel is part of the very large High1 ski resort.

The staff in the lobby seemed nice and presentable but we did not have to deal with them as our tour guide handled the check-in process. There was a smell of smoke in the corridor but that's because you can still smoke indoors in South Korea. However, our room did not smell that bad but it was still being made up after we had checked in, which was slightly inconvenient as we needed to change into our skiing gear for our imminent lesson.

Our room had a double bed, television, dressing table, sitting chairs and built in wardrobe. There was a safe inside the wardrobe but it did not function properly. The television only picked up local channels and reception was not that great but that is probably because we were up in the mountains.

The bathroom was a decent size with bathtub, shower, toilet and sinks. Given the outside temperature, the rooms were nicely heated. There was a decent selection of towels and toiletries. However, there is no toothbrush or toothpaste provided.

Our tour package provided us with half board hotel so we were given breakfast and dinner. These meals were not served in the its standard restaurants but in a ballroom and were international buffets, to which the selection and standard was adequate.

There is a gondola that will take you to the slopes, but we never used it as we had transfers in the morning. There is not much to do if you are not skiing. There is a bath and sauna but that costs extra and a shuttle bus that takes you to other parts and hotels of the resort. The standard of English could also be better for a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerlau77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The location is far away from the town area (taxi~₩6000, but u hardly get a taxi from hotel) and the suttlebus service is not frequent (only 2 bus per hr), this is not convenience for traveller.

But the view from the room is spectacular! A mountain cover in snow. The moment you open ur eye in the morning, u will see a snowy mountain in front of you. and there is gondola service to the mountain top as well. Good for those have full set of ski equipment guy to start ski straight from the mountain top station.

The service is good as well. Overall good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria-travelcoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews