We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sardon de Duero
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It does not get much better than this !!
Great sevice, excellent food, and very nice wine.
A very relaxing and calm place, where you feel back in the 12th century with the monks.
I woould reccomend it as a nice place to rejuvenate.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 438JMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your recent visit Abadia LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

At LeDomaine it is a pleasure to strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and do our utmost to make our clients' stay as comfortable as possible.

Once again, thank you for having chosen us as your preferred hotel and for helping us to meet your expectations and delight your senses.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back and to make you rejuvenate at your corner of paradise here at Ribera del Duero.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
231
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is pure caring, wellness, relaxing, really slowing down and excellent food and wines.
The breakfast is fantistic: you sit at your table, waitresses and waiters take care that you have all you need, no queuing, no untiding buffets just excellent service and delicious food. And it doesn't matter, whether you sit inside the wonderful dinner room or outside in the cloister, the atmosphere just keeps you thinking of how it might have been 1000 years ago....
The wines altogether are made by a master of his trade, and a special example is the white wine, although not very traditional for this area this is a well-balanced and fruity wine.
Take a ride with the bicycles which are offered free of charge alongside the Duero in the early evening and you will experience, that the exercise and watching the peaceful scereny take away all the stress from you, you ever felt.
Marco Serra, the architect who lead the restoration and his team have done an amazing job. This hotel is a perfect example for retrieving the original historical view of a building. The combination of exquisite antique and tasteful new furniture leaves no wishes open. Serra was named a laureate of the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2013 for this work, and I think this is just right.
And the staff.... I never came back from running or bicycle riding and beeing greeted by the hotel staff with a cooled bottle of water and a refreshing towing. The full butler service guarantess, that you never miss anything without having the feeling that any does overdoing. My personal feeling is that the friendlyness is more than professionalism, it is just on top of the heart of this staff to provide for an unforgettable stay at this hotel.
... only thing missing: the swimming pool ... and then this hotel is like heaven on earth.
We wait patiently for the termination of the Spa contruction and come back.

Room Tip: Room 1-3 have a private little garden with full view over the wineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Sir / Madame,

Greetings from Ribera Del Duero!!

We tried to exceed our guest expectations day by day. It is a pleasure to strive on accommodations and services, thank you for your remarks.

We have no doubts on our Master Architect: Mr. Serra reputation and professionalism;
He knew how to do a renovation respecting the integrity of 1000 years of history. The original monastic uses of rooms were maintained, the Romanesque-Baroque architecture conserved, not altered” those are clear examples of a very well accomplished restoration plus being at the Europa Nostra Awards as you well mention.


We are glad that you did enjoy our full butler service, Our Butlers will inform you once we finished the Spa and the two pools to delight your sense here at LeDomaine again.


Thank you so much for your recent visit to Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our corner of Paradise here in Ribera del Duero again once we finish the Spa

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed more. The monastery was fantastic and so were the staff, very helpful and friendly. Our room was beautiful and done to a high specification, as was the whole place. The meals we had were first class and we hope to return again to sample some more!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Abrey,

It was a great pleasure to have you at LeDomaine; We wish too you could say longer, however it will be wonderful to have you back during next year with the new upcoming facilities and Spa.

On behalf of the entire team at LeDomaine.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Amazing staff, very attentive - exceeding expectations! Great location and starting point to do wine tasting in Ribera del Duero! If the weather allows it - use the bikes they provide at Le Domaine! It's a great way of getting around and getting to know the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Barbara,

It was a great pleasure to have you at LeDomaine; we had shared your valued comments with all of our Team.

Appreciate your kind words; we keep working in order to exceed our guest expectations.

Warm Regards from sunny Ribera Del Duero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spend the weekend (25 and 26/05) and the place is perfect for relaxing, drinking wine and being in the country side. The staff is well prepared. The hotel is perfect and exactly what we see on their website. The vineyard abadia retuerta is amazing and there many other vineyards around. The dinner room at the same place where the monks use to eat is amazing and we were pleased when we discover a small orchestra, composed of 3 violins and 1 violoncello, playing during the dinner. They are building a piscina and spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have you at LeDomaine; we are glad and happy that you did enjoy your last stay.

The Refectory orchestra during dinner was a great and we are planning new dining experiences for our guests.
The Spa construction is moving forward and actually two amazing pools are on the way: One Indoor and the other Outdoor facing the marvelous vineyards.

Thank you for being part of LeDomaine experience.

Greetings from Ribera Del Duero!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at le domaine in April this year. To celebrate our first wedding anniversary we spent two days at the former monastery. The impeccable service, beautiful rooms and perfectly renovated/preserved location made our stay extra special. As the area is quite remote a car is necessary to get there and have a look around the Duero valley, which is filled with vineyard after vineyard and loads of bodegas offering you degustations all week. Embeded in the vineyards is the hotel and restaurant which isassociated to the Abadia Retuerta winery. They produce red wines of the DOC Ribera del Duero. Typically Temperanillo is grown here to create their rich, fruity wines. The restaurant allocated in the former refectory of the monastery is offering two different menus using local ingredients and a really good wine choice. In the bistro a small menu with typical tapas or á la carte meals are a more casual alternative dinner option. Trips to the wine museum in Peñafiel or to the province capitol Valladolid or sight seeung in Segovia can be done with short drives. At the moment a new annex is build which will allocate a new spa complex and will be finished (fingers crossed) in 2014. We would go back there in no time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moccafaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear JRGNY,

It was a great pleasure to have you at LeDomaine; we are glad and happy that you did enjoy your last stay. We really appreciate your kind comments and remarks’.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Again thank you for your kindness and courtesy.

Greetings from Ribera Del Duero!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are thinking of going wine tasting, this is the place to stay in Ribera del Duero. This is an absolutely amazing hotel. We were totally amazed. The hotel is on an old Monastery, but is hard to see the old part. It is amazingly well preserved, the rooms are very modern, full of light, very comfortable with amazing views to the vineyards. They lend you bikes to go around them. The room has a unique bathroom, it goes all along the room but on the back. It is very well done and very luxurious. All the amenities are great, it has a separate tub and shower. The tub is a Philip Stark tub, quite wonderful I must say. The restaurant in the hotel is absolutely world class, if I had anything to do with Michelin stars I would give them all to it. We had the wine paring and the sommelier could not have ben more wonderful. I felt we got a master in wine tasting from it, but don't think it was invasive, we kept asking questions! The breakfast is included and it was quite good, but nothing can top the dinner. By the way the wine that is made at this wineries is absolutely wonderful, find a bottle and drink it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jrgny,

Greetings from Ribera del Duero!!

Thank you so much for your recent visit Abadia LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

We are glad that you had a relaxing, comfortable and memorable stay at Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our corner of Paradise here in Ribera del Duero.

Sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sardon de Duero
7.8 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
#2 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fuente Acena
Fuente Acena
#1 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
16.1 mi away
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
14.8 mi away
LaVida Vino Spa
LaVida Vino Spa
#1 of 3 in Penafiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine

Property: Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Address: | N-122 km 332.5, 47340 Sardon de Duero, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Sardon de Duero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sardon de Duero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine Wellness & Spa. The Estate Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine is set like a jewel among the string of exclusive wine estates found along the Duero river. If the heart of the estate is the winery, its soul is the ancient 12th-century abbey, a beloved and carefully restored Spanish cultural heritage site. The hotel that has now emerged from within the cloistered Romanesque-Baroque monastery walls is a refined 5-star setting where guests will enjoy privacy of the priviledged, the lap of luxury and the heart of the history. Moreover, you will have the opportunity of enjoy your dinner at Refectorio, our one Michelin Star restaurant. Everywhere the contrasts and pleasures of old and new provide our guests with the best of both. In Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine you can enjoy a singular culinary offer created by Marc Segarra, who has trained in some of the finest international restaurants, bases his gastronomic creations on the inclusion of a creative twist to tradition and the use of locally-grown ingredients. The Hotel has been awarded by Tripadvisor as the Best Hotel in Spain in 2.016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine Spain/Sardon De Duero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing