We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“water baby blue & fine white sand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Saona

Isla Saona
Isla Saona, Republica Dominicana, Parque Nacional del Este, Dominican Republic
18295770481
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
Special Offer
$94*
and up
Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“water baby blue & fine white sand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had a swim in this natural pool and drank room & coke, it is a little paradise and it is vety nicely preserved, the sand is so fine that feels like a cream on your skin!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    225
    83
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful excursión”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

If your ever in La Romana/Bayahibe take the excursión to isla de saona. The boats pick u up in bayahibe about 9am and take u to the island via catamaran or speed boat where u are served drink and music. About 3 miles off the island the boats dock for 45 min so u can enjoy the preste en clear waters ..don't worry I can't swim and was able to go out and walk around the water was that shallow. You get to see star fish and fishes then the boat take you to the island where they have awesome food prepared buffet style and performance and music. It was just breathe taking on saona island..The waves were a little rough but so worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoramsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too many tourists...too comercial..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Beach and water beautiful but the tour was a lot to be desired...nothing great...food was bad and not enough variety...drinks were under average. Way too many people. Maybe our tour wasnt the best...paid $90 per person and it was 4 of us...we would have been better tended to at our resort!

Helpful?
Thank peruvianlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The tour was great. The natural swimming pool with starfish was fun. While we were there they had a floating ring with soda and rum drinks they served us. The water is very shallow here. The island has about 300 people living on it. We got to see the turtle hatchery. On the island we got to try a coco loco which was coconut water and rum right out of the coconut. At a different beach on the island we had a piña colada out of a pineapple. It was the best drink ever. We also were able to snorkel at that beach. That wasn't the best place to snorkel but a lot of fun. Our guide Hanni was the best guide ever. She was always making sure we were having a good time. We were traveling with my parents and my dad uses a cane. The crew and Hanni were so helpful at helping him get on and off the boats and making sure he had a place to sit. The lunch was good, but not really as authentic as our other tour. The sunset catamaran trip back was very nice. I would recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We visited here in June 2014 and were a little disappointed. The boat is fun and filled with rum and laughter. The boat stops in a natural pool in the sea where you can hold 'star fish' for photographs. The sea is lovely but the star fish aren't real. Next it's on to Saona Island. The beach is lovely but be careful as the sea is very rocky underneath which we weren't expecting. A few people ended up with cuts and bruises. The food is ok, but that's about it. The fish that was promised never arrived but the chicken, pork, salads, pasta were fine. Afterwards it's either a speed boat or smaller catermaran back to the port. The day was enjoyable but not quite as good as we expected. Still worth a visit though

Helpful?
1 Thank xxxbubblyblondexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Saona also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
La Romana Province, Dominican Republic
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Isla Saona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing