We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SAONA Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isla Saona

Isla Saona
Book In Advance
More Info
$289.00*
and up
The Exotic Excursion to Saona Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SAONA Island”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Best excursion ever! Place is paradise, catamaran ride is awesome. I don't drink so I could give a rats tail about rum n coke.. Food was delicious( especially the pork chops).. And yes it takes a while to get there.. But guess what You aren't the only person going! There's many people.. The excursion doesn't cater to you alone.. They do the best they can to accommodate everyone! I loved it! And I highly recommend it to everyone!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,944
    4,264
    1,895
    601
    334
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rum Run to The Island”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The boat trips to and from were beautiful and fun. The island was beautiful albeit a bit crowded with people from other resorts. I did not like the amount of time the trip took; we were gone for 11 1/2 hours! Could have shortened it by taking the speedboat both ways instead of the slower catamarand one way. But it was a fun day and worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SAONA ISLAND, Awesome Day Excursion!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was worth every penny!! For three of us it cost $282US. We started out from the resort and drove for an hour to a local marina. Then about 40 people jumped on power boats for a 30 minute ride to the "natural pool". TIP #1- riding the power boats - SIT IN THE BACK!!! These boats go fast and hit the waves extremely hard and there are no cushions absorbing the shock to your lower back and buttocks. A few people sitting near the back said they didn't find it as bad as the people complaining up front. We really felt it the next day, sore bums and lower back. Nothing a few drinks could take care of, heehee.

Once you arrive at the natural pool, the boats anchor and you have the option to get off and jump in the gorgeous turquoise water and interact with live starfish and take amazing pictures :) While we were there, another boat tour arrived and everyone got to mingle and enjoy the drinks and music, literally in the middle of nowhere :) No words to describe how beautiful and peacful.

After about 30 mins, we get back on the power boat and ride for another 20 minutes or so to Saona Island. We arrived just after 10 am and was greeted by a local slicing coconuts for those that wanted to try the natural juice, and bottles of rum, to add flavour ;) There were locals running some gift shops and some women giving dance lessons which seemed to be popular. Lunch wasn't till 1pm so you had lots of time to wonder around and explore or just lounge on the beach.

Lunch was out of this world!! Tables lined with fresh and local fruits and veggies. On the bbq there was, beef, chicken, pork and a white fish and was to die for. SO DELICIOUS!!!

Around 2:15 pm, we board the boats and ride out to the beautiful Catamaran's waiting just off shore. This was a highlight for us, who had never been on a catamaran before. These boats are amazing. Too bad ours didn't have the netting up front, above the water. There is a bar on board with washrooms below. There is shelter, thank god and lots of music and dancing. We happened to have a wedding party on board and they made it a lot of fun. The sail back was probably about 2 hours and breathtaking.

After arriving back to the local marina, you find your way back to where the buses are parked. Once on board, our sunwing tour guide handed out what appeared to be bottles of RUM! You had the opportunity to purchase for $15, we did, and on the bottle of rum is your picture. When you first arrive in the morning and before jumping on the power boats, you get your picture taken, and it ends up on the bottle rum. A GREAT keepsake :)

TIP #2, order room service before leaving the resort that morning! We never ordered anything, thinking we'd get something along the way, we never, till lunch at 1:00 pm!

We had such an amazing excursion and HIGHLY recommend you do this tour. You will not be disappointed :) We got to see places you would only dream of or see in pictures!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good trip, although not much sea life!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We did this trip with Thompson and was glad we did. All English speakers and plenty of room on the boats. Saw some other boats with people squashed in with no room to move. Early start for this one with approx hour travelling time but Nathan our rep did explain this. First part was some snorkelling. Then on to the sand bar in the middle of the ocean where you can find starfish. Snacks provided on this leg. The staff ' found' 2 but we managed to find 2 smaller ones as well. Drinks flowing all the time. Then on to the island where we spent 3 hours and attended a BBQ. Plenty of food including lobster and open bar. Then back to port on a catermaran, open bar again, with some music and dancing. All in all a good trip and we certainly had fun but I was disappointed at the lack I'd sealife at the island when you were snorkelling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fun”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

the trip is long but fun. In the boat before getting to the island is very fun with lots of music and drinks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amarillys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Saona also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Isla Saona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing