We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Day -StayAway”
Review of Cabins4less

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins4less
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Upon entering the lakefront condo we smelled a pungent odor that resonated throughout the entire room. The kitchen was dirty and the carpet was stained. I called and respectively asked for other accommodations and was refused. This place is far from clean. Dirt dust & crumbs. Had to light the pilot on the f/p. Grates and covers unattached from the walls. The sofa leg was broken & trash was in the cushions & underneath. The view of the lakefront is blocked by big bushy trees. The outdoor furniture is rickety & dirty with worn cushions. Bee's nests in the eves. We should have left but I wasn't in the mood to spend the rest of the afternoon looking for someplace else more suitable to stay. I confronted Ron the owner at checkout. He admitted to me that the lakefront condo's were indeed dirty & needed repair. I told him that the only reason I called his establishment was that he was close to town, he was pet friendly and that the pictures on his website looked like a clean place. I would have gladly paid more if it were cleaned. I took pictures of everything I mentioned and more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjmjwsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fundude123, Owner at Cabins4less, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

We are always available for inspection 365 days a year, that would not be offered if we were not confident, Lakefront are new and modern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Loved our room....great location with a view & nice park area on the water . There is no other place where you can take your dog,on the water,with a kitchen.Plus rent kayaks cheap from wonderful people! Can't wait to go back in a week ! Many other great cabins available for other tastes ....Love the old cabins in the forest too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My name is Steve Boyce. I'm an Actor/Model/Stuntman & Bodyguard...Last year we stayed (4) days @ this property. Ron and his beautiful wife run a top notch operation in Big Bear, Ca. The cabin was just it appeared on their website, the location is unbelievable, your basically on the lake, with boats/kayaks/bikes/fishing & swimming less than 2 minutes away...Everything worked just fine in our cabin, they were very clean & cozy, and the staff was very helpful...In fact we just booked our Big Bear vacation again with Cabins4Less. We'll be there this Thursday....Come join us...!!!

Room Tip: With all the free activities available, you'll be sooo tired, it won't matter...!!!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

2 Night stay. Did not pre-communicate to us that linens and towels were needed at booking, but did accommodate. Arrived at room with open front door - did not have code to relock. Accommodated with text of code. Fridge in first cabin did not work - accommodated with replacement fridge. Bought groceries but found out when stocking that 2nd fridge also did not work properly. Kept groceries in freezer overnight blowing cool to luke warm air (just enough to keep from spoiling). Curtains in room - too see through at night (romantics - watch out). Bathroom tub had no stopper for a bath, water only came out the shower head (we booked a room with a tub to use it as such). Cozy cabin but dusty couch/curtains. Talked to Ron next morning about our previous day's adventures and asked about a new solution. He recommended an upgrade to the Edgewater condos by marina - was agreeable. No linens, no towels, no stopper in tub - but cleaners were in lower condo and immediately accommodated. Later in evening when getting comfortable - turned on heater and did not work. Someone stopped in and needed to shut the gas on and light the pilot. I have to admit that this is FAR more interaction that one desires when staying somewhere romantically for a few nights. I appreciated the second night upgrade- but given we paid 200.00 for two nights and these types of rooms cost about the same that time of year anyway - not sure we really got that great a deal in return for the many issues we had. Will look for somewhere else to spend time next time we go. I cannot recommend cabsin4less. Also - if you search for this business by vacation rental you get one positive review. If you search by hotels- you get numerous poor reviews. This seems a bit dishonest in terms of how the business is advertised - although it may not be intentional.

Room Tip: Skip this business and find another if you are a couple wanting romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dadatwork777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here December 2012 around Christmas time with my Fiance. We had a wonderful stay! The price was inexpensive, considering the time of year. The man at the front desk was nice and showed us places to see around the area. The cabin was small but cozy. It had a mini fridge, dvd player, wifi, fireplace, warm shower ;) It was our first christmas together, and hopefully we'll spend our 2nd here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanbunneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Cabins 4 Less has properties in various places along Big Bear Lake, and the one I stayed in was at a marina and had a kitchen and a roomy sitting area. They also offer kayaks for visitors to use, saying the trouble of renting of bringing one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Think Sanford & Son's junkyard, and you're at Cabins4Less, which is a misnomer because the cabins are more like outhouses, but with mold and screenless windows that don't stay open and moving toilets and dirty dishes (upon arrival) and rationed toilet paper (so bring your own). Also bring your own bedding (they don't supply it). And while you're at it, bring your own futon so you have somewhere comfortable to relax. It felt like a homeless shelter, but without the free soup. The "free" rental bikes were rusted and rickety and if you have kids, don't count on any decent bike trails nearby (only Big Bear Blvd. which is more like a highway). And watch where you step because there is dog [--] everywhere, and some of those dogs howl at night, but maybe you want the "wolf pack at your doorstep" feel. And watch where you park because the tiny reserved spots are wedged together and your SUV could get scratched like ours. Other than that, Big Bear Lake and the pines are nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fundude123, Owner at Cabins4less, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

you tried to cancel last minute and we offered you another stay and so that was not good enough, trip ad visor is a good platform and should not be abused

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Big Bear Lake hotels
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embers Lodge and Cabins
Embers Lodge and Cabins
#4 of 14 in Big Bear Lake
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1 mi away
Oak Knoll Lodge
Oak Knoll Lodge
#10 of 14 in Big Bear Lake
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins4less? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins4less

Address: 39252 Big Bear Blvd, Boulder Bay, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: $89 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the fun Cabins, we offer more than just a place to stay. We Guarantee Best Location clean friendly,our cancellation is strict which creates some reviews ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins4less Hotel Big Bear Lake
Cabins4less Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing