We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical Old West Cabin #24”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabins4less

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins4less
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historical Old West Cabin #24”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This cabin was built sometime before the late 1850's when a part of the Iris Ranch had burnt down and was left for almost 80 years. After a few owners, Cabins4less remodeled it back in 1990 which was over 20 years ago now. This cabin does not look as newely remodeled as the pictures show. There is a lot of work needed to this cabin to bring it up to a model looking cabin. So, don't rent this cabin if that is what you are looking for. I will just state a few things, like we left out a cup of coffee over night and woke up to ants all over the sink because of it. We moved the table so we could put our suite cases out of the walk way and we felt like we were going to fall through the floor. There are no closets or dressers in this cabin. Start filling the spa at least 1/2 to 1 hour before you want to use it but other than that it works good. The bath room is so small a large person will have trouble using the potty. Also, if you need good lighting to put on your make-up or shave then bring it. If in doubt about anything you might need, call ahead of time because there is no extra space to storing anything. Don't get me wrong, both my husband and I had truly a great time but this cabin is in need of some repair. I understand to keep the cost down that the repairs have been passed by. And that is ok with us as we will be back. Check with the office about the extras the cabin comes with too. Oh, let me say the people tending to the cabin and in the office treated us great, better than family!!

Room Tip: This cabin is in the cornor between two cabins. You don't really have a view but you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    95
    28
    11
    27
See reviews for
135
118
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
van nuys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in cabin 5 for a spring break getaway. Cute clean cabin with bbq outside. Went biking and fishing . Then enjoyed a free guided hike. All compliments of Cabins4less. Staff and owners were exceptionally nice and helpful. Looking forward to going back in the summer for kayaking with Cabins4less.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I took my mom and daughter with me to Big Bear this time so we decided to get a cabin. This place was great! The cabin was cozy, clean and nice. The staff were friendly. They let us use fishing poles, bikes and sports equipment for free. We had so much fun! My daughter loved it and my mom actually left the cabin and enjoyed the fresh air ;) We were right down the street from a park where we could fish, play and feed the ducks. Again, great location, great people and great cabin!! Would do it again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleB654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in condo 55 by the lakefront.

Pros: Great view, had a bbq grill on the patio, full kitchen except no oven. Place is great to get away and have a peaceful time. It is not far from village. Good customer service. If your new to Big Bear they help you out with what activities and places to check out.

Cons: The toilet wasn't clean enough. The bathroom and kitchen mats looked like they needed a wash. We just remove them while we stay there and put them back before we left. The kitchen sink was clogged, we called the office and someone showed up to look at it. It was fix to an extent, because hours before check out it was getting clogged again.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. We would stay there again... Only thing I suggest to the cabins 4 less people... Try to make sure everything is clean and up to par and working...

Thanks for the experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soundgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My BF and I came to big bear spare of the moment, and decided to just stay one night. That didn't happen we liked it so much we ended up staying 3 nights :) the staff is really friendly, it's a family owned business. They rent out bikes to us no charged guiding us to where we should ride. The rooms are clean with very affordable prices.

We want to give out a shout out to Ron!
Thank you for the wonderful experience and hospitality. We will be back in January.

Chanda and Lionel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chandapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great time staying with CABINS4LESS. The owners were very helpful and accomodating moving my reservations to a cabin with a kitchenette. We had a place in the Village which was very nice and close to all the action. The cabin was warm when we arrived and the jacuzzi worked great. So many extras, can borrow DVD's, fishing gear, bikes, etc! Everything you would need in one spot. We will tell our friends about the place. It was a great experience! Thank you Ron and Pat!

Room Tip: Cabins near the Village offer an added bonus of being close to activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's what you pay for I guess, the Owners are very nice and helpful, almost like relatives. The Cabin we stayed in was not bad. With a nice Fire going it was really cozy. Don't forget to bring your own sheets, as they do not provide them! The Cabin was not very clean at all and we decided not to take our shoes off after our initial try left our Socks dirty, same with the bathroom - not clean, could really use a good cleaning. After seeing the "Cleaning Crew" on Sunday, we weren't too surprised any more, quite a bunch, especially when they all get togther to smoke...not a pretty sight!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
404 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins4less? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins4less

Property: Cabins4less
Address: 39252 Big Bear Blvd, Boulder Bay, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the fun Cabins, we offer more than just a place to stay. We Guarantee Best Location clean friendly,our cancellation is strict which creates some reviews ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins4less Hotel Big Bear Lake
Cabins4less Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing