We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Glitch, but Overall Good Experience”

Big Bear Marina Charter Service
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“A Small Glitch, but Overall Good Experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I have rented from the Big Bear Marina several times over the last year. This review is for our Pontoon Boat rental that we had for two hours on 7/27/13.

I called to reserve the Pontoon about three weeks in advance, which was a good move as people showing up at the Marina trying to rent on the same day or weekend, were being turned away. Book as far in advance as possible!

The process was easy as far as checking in with the girls in the office and signing the paperwork. The staff was friendly and professional.

There was a bit of confusion with the guys working at the marina, the ones responsible for getting us situated with our boat. One guy told us that our boat wasn't back yet and to wait until eleven-fifteen, our designated time. When it came time, another guy helped us out and it turned out our boat was there all along. They kept us waiting nearly thirty minutes. Technically, we got in just shy of our two hours, but I would have rather they adjusted our time earlier and not had us waiting around.

The boat itself was fine and we really enjoyed our time out on the lake. We would rent here again!

Please visit my blog for pictures of the boat and a more extensive Big Bear trip report.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pontoon”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We rented a pontoon for our family of 4 and had a blast. A pretty big storm came through so we lost a half hour, but it was fun racing back in the pouring rain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't book overpriced poor mannered staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wanted to hire a boat for two hours called staff ignored us stood talking with single person at counter.

Called back later asked for suggestions staff handed price list that was it.

Price for two hours was over two hundred dollars

Went to marina at Paigne. Hired boat for two hours saved fifty or so dollars staff brilliant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndymcAm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rent Here”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've used Big Bear Marina twice now. My first time was last summer when a group of us rented a pontoon boat for four hours. The process of renting from them was very easy, they were very helpful, and they were very instructive on getting us going with the boat. We had a wonderful time on the boat. The only thing with renting boats is that they do not give you ladders to get in and out of the boat (apparently this is with all rental places). Be prepared if you want to jump in. Just last weekend I rented a tandem kayak from them again for $20 for an hour. Once again their customer service and friendliness was very welcoming!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Lake”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Loved our pontoon boat rental and had a great time cruising around the lake. Very friendly, helpful people and an overall fun experience at a fair price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Marina Charter Service also viewed

Big Bear City, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Marina Charter Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing