We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway cabin suited us perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Big Bear Lake was a welcome change from the smog and congestion of the coast. We booked the Hideaway cabin online and it was just what we needed - 3 bedrooms so the kids could have a room each, a kitchen so we could cook, a fireplace for atmosphere, a TV and DVD player, some alpacas and rabbits for the kids to pat, and old-school charm and character. This place is not the Hilton but it's warm and cosy and a short walk to the shops in the centre of town. The lady who runs the place is friendly, as is her wonderful big dog! No doubt we'll be back one day and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Pine Knot Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

We come up to the lake 2 or 3 times a year and ALWAYS stay at the Pine Knot Guest ranch. The rooms are clean, the grounds are spacious, the management very helpful, a great place in the snow for kids, the pet llamas, everything. We love to hike and the inn is nicely located between several trailheads and the village.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW0257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

If you have a dog, you may not have many choices...... but next time I will try to figure out something else. I stayed at one of the cottages that they manage for someone else (Little Bear cottage, I think it was called.) The downstairs bedroom was FREEZING, as was the only bathroom. I was shocked that they didn't have thermal windows installed. The space heater was really dangerous to operate and twice began screeching a hazard warning (glad we were there to hear it.) There are many safe models of space heaters out there. The bed was uncomfortable and I slept on the couch between our own beach towels. The heat in the living room had to be blasted to get any kind of heat distribution in the rest of the cottage. The kids slept upstairs and were comfortable with the heat blasting downstairs. The polyester blanket on the unused bed upstairs was dirty (which is why I didn't sleep in it); it was soiled with dog hair embedded in it. (NOTE TO GUESTS: DO NOT LET YOUR DOG SLEEP IN THE BEDS. THAT IS GROSS. ACT LIKE A GUEST; IT IS NOT YOUR PRIVATE HOME.) The bedding is not the sort that would be easy to wash so you know it is not and for that reason dogs should not be in the beds. Easy clean bedding should be purchased. The sheets were rough and worn. The kitchen didn't have any basics like sugar for morning coffee so you have to bring your own groceries PLUS stock items - that's a pain. The place was vacuumed and tables dusted but the book, kitch items, and lampshades were dusty. The fireplace creates dust so that is hard to stay on top of that. We were comfortable, but we put up with much lesser accommodations just to have our dog with us. We left early and I didn't feel rested at all. Next time, I will board the dog and stay in a regular hotel with super clean bedding and a continental breakfast. Final note: the dog hated the cold and refused to get out of the car at all except to dash into the house. He held his bowels for 3 days. So bringing the dog may not be the happy experience that you imagine. The snow hurt his paws and he didn't have a winter coat because we come from San Diego. The location was excellent, though, for visiting the town. The roads were closed around Big Bear and it doubled out travel time. Next time, I'll board the dog and stay on the ski slope - or just go to Mammoth.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky0ne, Owner at Pine Knot Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

We are sorry this guest did not enjoy her stay in this Vacation Home (not part of Pine Knot Guest Ranch). We tested the heat dish space heater and found that it did work safely. The hazard noise only comes on if it is moved while operating. This heater does not get hot to the touch so is safe around little ones. We have replaced the velvet type comforter with a plain cotton one. But we do provide dog sheets to cover comforters in case dogs jump up on the bed. We don't provide sugar or condiments as they could become contaminated. Sad to hear about the dog's dislike of the cold/snow. Some small doggies without much fur don't like winter climate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had a terrible experience at this inn. Our cabin was very dirty (coffee filter with old coffee still in machine, blankets smelled) and broken (oven didn't heat accurately, shade broke when it was pulled). Shower got hot then cold and tub/sink drains were backed up. We left early. Left an item in the cabin. Called to ask for it to be mailed. Never any follow up. This was the worst hotel/inn we've stayed in in years and the owners seemed indifferent to our concerns.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jep09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky0ne, Owner at Pine Knot Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2011

We did follow up on the housekeeping issues, and found only 1 drain was slow, which was easily corrected. The guest was given a partial refund due to their dissatisfaction. We paid the shipping on the lost item which was returned within 3 days of their check out.

Unfortunately this guest arrived during a record rain storm which prevented them from snow skiing or any outdoor activity one would normally enjoy in Big Bear. So the weather was a big part of their dissatisfaction.

Also, the guest refers to this property as an inn/hotel. As a vacation home, this property offers a very different accommodation than a hotel, or even one of our Guest Ranch Jacuzzi Cabins. We do have many repeat guests who enjoy this particular vacation home several times a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We've been guests of Gloria's now for about 3 years. We have usually just stayed at the Hideaway, which is great. This time we stayed at cabin 18. We were very pleasantly surprised at the size and condition of the cabin. Extremely clean and fresh, everything worked properly, and our dog loved it! This was the first time we have taken our dog on a trip with us, and he had a great time. Next time we're gonna stay at the Honeymoon Cabin! Thanks Gloria for being such a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigBearLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We have come for 16 years as our kids grew up. In the snow, in the summer, in between. There is not a season this place is not perfect. We hike, we boat, we fish, we dance, we pet the bunny and feed the llamas, we shop, we bowl and we go to dinner (Jacalistos Diablo shrimp) all within a mile, in the village. We watch (free) movies and I always build fires, just for fun. When it was time to leave our dog ran back in the cabin and sulked on her couch. Apparently she loves the squirrels and the hikes.
Hints: splurge on a pontoon boat for two hours and go to all ends of the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoFinesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

On a whim I booked a cabin at the Pine Knot Guest Ranch after reading an article in the LA Times on best places to take your dog for vacation. The price was REALLY reasonable being summer and all, and AFTER the 4th of July.
This place is fabulous! We are in cabin #14 which is spacious, clean and quiet. We have a wonderful little kitchen a nicely sized jacuzzi tub, spotless bathroom and a terrific view off of the private deck. The hotel also has free wi-fi which comes in handy because this trip was so spur of the moment that i have to work on and off throughout. But HOW great to work while inhaling fresh pine air and listening to a bubbling stream and scores of birds.
The owners are very nice and went to great lengths to recommend good restaurants and activities. Also as others have written this place is very close to the Big Bear village so it's really convenient for browsing silly shops and touring the lake.
I would absolutely come here again. And my dog LOVES IT!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watsonsmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
657 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knot Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Guest Ranch

Address: 908 Pine Knot Avenue, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: $163 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cabins on two peaceful acres just a 5 minute walk to the Village and we manage 8 Vacation Homes that sleep from 2 - 12 Guests. We have Lakeview Homes. NO HIDDEN FEES. All walking distance to the Village and lake. All Resort Cabins have in-room whirlpool tub, fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen, and porch. Free Wi-Fi. Pet friendly. Visit our bunnies and take the llamas for a walk. Sledding when snow permits. Most cabins for 2 or 4, one for up to 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Pine Knot Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Hotel Big Bear Lake
Pine Knot Hotel
Hotel Pine Knot
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing