We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome to be so close to the animals!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge

Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Big Bear Alpine Zoo is a rehabilitation facility offering injured, orphaned and imprinted wild animals a safe haven; temporarily while they heal or permanently as they are unable to survive on their own.We are extremely proud that 90% of all the animals brought to us for rehabilitation are successfully released back into their native environment.Those that remain with us on exhibit are either too injured or have been imprinted by humans and can not be released back into the wild to care for themselves.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome to be so close to the animals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is awesome! We have been here a few times and always make it a point to come to the zoo here. You are up close and personal with the animals. They even have a feeding tour which you can experience feeding the animals. Many of the animals are rescued or are in rehabilitation.
Love this place!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kittylindstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    125
    33
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Things Come in Small Packages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is more of an animal sanctuary but it is a delightful place to visit. The wolves alone were worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthegovalleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I hate zoos. They depress and upset me. This animal park contains animals who have been rescued and could not be returned to their natural habitat. A great place for everyone to visit. Children can really get a lesson in how we have to share this planet with all its inhabitants. They are trying to raise funds to build a new facility a bit further down the hill. Go see them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jplouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature up close.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed all the animals including the American Bald Eagle and Grizzle Bears. Seeing the wolves up close was quite awesome.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A MUST for families and anyone who enjoys wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved this little zoo. It's very affordable, they count on additional donations and purchased in their gift store to raise more money for their conservation/rescue efforts. We got really close to Grizzlies, black bears, Timber wolves, bald eagles, mountain lions, and several other wild rescued/rehabilitating animals.
It's not ideal to bring a stroller, but grab the kiddie backpack and enjoy!! It can be slowly strolled through in about an hour. We went in the afternoon and many animals were just being fed - fun to watch! Go and support this great little zoo!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 

Been to Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing