We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Experience”

Black Diamond Tavern
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Diamond Tavern offers contemporary, American cuisine in a mountain approachable setting. With a bar, lounge and community table for casual dining and a fireplace framed dining room set with booths, Black Diamond can provide a range of experiences from intimate dining to a more interactive, social environment. Black Diamond provides weekend live entertainment along with 7 day a week happy hour from 3-6.30pm.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stopeed in here with some friends our last day on the mountain for some drinks. Bartender was extremely friendly and made us some excellent margaritas! The four of us split the hangover pizza and the salmon burger for lunch, both of which were very tasty. They have a cool little menu here with a lot of different choices, surprised we haven't been before. Definitely a fun spot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyMl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RICHMOND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real let down after reading other TripAdvisor reviews”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I visited Black Diamond Tavern with our 2-year old on Saturday 5 July. It was early and less than half full so we were able to find a table easily on a busy weekend. The staff were great and the service was fine. However, we were both very disappointed with the food. We shared the Louisiana sausage to, and it was fine. I had the prime rib which I found bland and tasteless just like the accompanying garlic mash and vegetables it was served with. My wife had the chili and corn bread which was very mild and the corn bread was tiny. Our son had the kid's cheeseburger which we found very pink in the middle. Our server refunded us the cost of the burger (and the sausage, by way of apology). There are lots of other places to try in Big Bear, and we won't be back to Black Diamond Tavern.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilBenson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
“Great place to host a wedding!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was lucky to be part of a wedding that took place here the other week and the location was very serene. It was a perfect location to get away from the usual city life and the staff was very kind and courteous. I definitely recommend the Black Diamond Tavern for anyone looking to make their wedding a full weekend event!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Black Diamond Tavern on June 21, 2014. It was the first reception they had done there, which made us a little nervous at booking. However the manager, Dan, and the chef, Victor, were both so accomodating and available throughout the entire process leading up to our big day. They recently completed a remodel of the outside portion of the restaurant which is where our reception happened, and it was as perfect as we envisioned it as the sun set that night. The lighting, spacing of tables and professionalism of every single employee we dealt with couldn't have been better. They easily accomodated our 80 guests. Victor is an amazing chef, and I would encourage everyone to try some of his creations as he customized al of the dishes and drinks for our day. As for Dan, he not only cared a lot about our event, but even initiated contact with us when he had an idea that he thought would be a great touch. We went back the next day to pick up some things that had been left behind, and even then were greeted with the best attitudes from everyone around. It seemed they enjoyed themselves as much as we did. We are so glad we chose the BDT for our event. Thanks again to the entire crew!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Big Bear needs more places like this! Awesome atmosphere, cool staff, good drinks and great food. Tried this place for our first time while we were up at the lake and had a great time. They have an awesome little bar area and a stage for live music, our service the entire time was excellent and it made for a great evening before heading home. Will be back next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Tavern also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Black Diamond Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing