We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food good wine great service!”

Black Diamond Tavern
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Diamond Tavern offers contemporary, American cuisine in a mountain approachable setting. With a bar, lounge and community table for casual dining and a fireplace framed dining room set with booths, Black Diamond can provide a range of experiences from intimate dining to a more interactive, social environment. Black Diamond provides weekend live entertainment along with 7 day a week happy hour from 3-6.30pm.
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food good wine great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner house made chips are great. Step above bar atmosphere. Food is good. Decent wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for an early dinner on a Friday. Our server was really nice. We enjoyed some of the happy hour specials (really cheap beer - price not quality) and liked our food. The food was just alright though, not great. I got the fish and chips and he got the French dip sandwich. The ambiance is very casual but nice enough. Because it was happy hour, we got quite a lot of food for not much money. Our only complaint was one server (I think another reviewer even mentions her too) who literally would not stop bothering us. She was not OUR server, she just seemed to roam the restaurant bothering the customers. Weird. If they would get rid of her (or just make her stop), then I would have given it a higher rating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatalieAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faunskin, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good for late night and live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our group of six enjoyed the meal and the live entertainment. The drinks were generous and the prices were very fair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, funny servers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Okay, first part. A cute little server comes by and asks how we are doing. We are near the end of the meal and my teenage daughter is a slow eater. The server asks if she is done and my daughter tells her no. No joke, not even 30 seconds go by and the same server comes by and asks my daughter, "Are you done with that?" My daughter was so polite, but looked at my wife and I like she just got sucked into the Twilight Zone.

The food is average. It hit the spot after a long day of ziplining and lake viewing. The pizza crust seemed a little store bought, pre frozen, not handmade. The salads were average, nothing to shout from the mountain tops. The fish and chips were the saving grace. Fried fish was flakey, decent portion, and the malt vinegar aioli was spot on.

Instead of bread, they bring out fresh potato chips. Look out cholesterol here I come. But, I lost the will power, and asked for a second serving.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice romantic spot! Great food! Nice staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stopped in for dinner. The restaurant was dark and they had candles lit in the fireplace, my wife thought it was romantic. I ordered a pizza called the Hangover, it was different and very delicious (chorizo, jalepenos and pineapple). My wife had the Calamari appetizer and some of my pizza. Staff was friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Tavern also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Black Diamond Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing