We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little bit of Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Martville, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My granddaughter got married 3 weeks ago on Big Bear Mountain. So much of our family was there. We stayed at Big Bear Frontier Hotel. It
was great. The staff was very pleasant. The rooms clean. We really weren't sure what to expect but there was a little village there where
you could buy just about anything. We weren't sure what to expect
after going up that mountain for an hour but I have to admit it was well
worth the trip. Wished we could have stayed longer than 2 days.

Room Tip: Personally, I feel all the rooms are good. We were on the second floor which was nice because a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    117
    35
    17
    25
See reviews for
139
135
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wow what a great place to stay. Great location, close to the lake and walking distance to the village. Clean room and good size rooms. Great ambience!! I have stayed here b4 and will continue in the near feature.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTCLOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Took my wife here for her birthday. We love the outdoors and spending time on the lake. They put is in a cabin the faced the lake. There are a bunch of cabins next to the lake but only two that actually face it. The cabins are just the right size, living area with large bedroom and fireplace. It was so peaceful to wake up and go sit on the porch and see the lake right in front of you. I wish I remember what cabin number to post.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Vegasguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho cucamonga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Walking distance from the village, clean rooms and overall a great experience . I would definitely stay there again !

The cabins are a perfect size for a couple getaway. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night and there was a tree that went literally through the front room. It was pretty funny.

We walked about 3 minutes to the village and didn't have to worry about drinking and driving or looking for a taxi. The price is reasonable considering the prime location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lety923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

First time we have stayed here and the experience was great! Our family of four adults and three kids (ranging in age from 5 to 93) really enjoyed the spacious rooms near the lake (we were here mid-week, a great value) and the pool and hot tub. The premises are very clean, with colorful flowers planted and cute cabins under mature pines. Free coffee and wifi as well. We loved the rustic decor and the comfy beds as well as the giant deck overlooking the lake, perfect for meeting people and enjoying outdoor meals. This is our new favorite place when we want to escape the heat of the desert!

Room Tip: Cabins are located throughout the property with more expensive ones near the lakefront. The 20-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SpiritInTheSky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I choose this place because of the small cabins shown on their website which appeared to be on the lake. I booked a room (believing it was a cabin) through booking.com. Upon our arrival we were put into a room in a Motel 6 type row with a view of the main road. We complained but were told that since we did not book with them directly we could only have a room not a cabin as we expected. I complained about the room so they switched us to a room supposedlywith a view of the lake. Again we were sent to a Motel 6 row, downstairs room, underneath the main stairwell with all the building's trash cans outside our door. No view, uncomfortable bed but made the best of our trip. It is not for couple's expecting a quiet weekend away. Will NOT stay here again and I am not too picky but this was just not what I paid for!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting an actual "cabin" not just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank TERRI T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for the experience you encountered between the third party booking site, Booking.com, and our property. Many times, booking sites such as this give very general information about the property or the room you're actually booking. I can assure you that we have many other options that would suit your needs. I invite you to give us another shot, possibly in one of our cabins, and I'm sure you'll be impressed.

Best,

Ryan Vasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Service was good, pool and spa were just right. Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning in our room. We only had a ceiling fan and another stand alone fan. Very tough to sleep until it got a little cooler in the wee hours of the night. Furniture was a little too rustic for my taste. The tv was set in a armoire, but the door wouldn't stay open completely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rphillips48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 20 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 20 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 20 in Big Bear Region
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to Barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing