We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Big Bear Frontier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed March 25, 2014

An old fashion hotel with a real cabin decoration. Great place to stay and rest after a long day at any of the two skying parks. Just a few blocks from the main street and a nice steak restaurant in front of the hotel.

Don't expect any additional amenities other than pool and a hot tube within the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEX-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 427 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotels cleanliness and the rooms. Both beds had sink holes and made for a horrible nights sleep. You would think that for the price, the rooms would be a little more updated. On a positive note, The location of the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Honestly Its the perfect place to go to unwind, relax and be surrounded by a stunning lake and nature!

LOVE the front desk guys. RYAN is a dream to work with and was great with updating us with weather info when we called the days leading up to our arrival. he ensured my sister and I had cabins right next to each other and we did! Just a totally cool guy ~ made the checking in experience less of a head ache. Filled us in on restaurants that would work for me (Being that IM vegan and i love wine! )

LOVE the cabins
*Quaint
*warm
*clean
*whimsical
*affordable
*great location!
*kitchen/fridge
*cute patio you can sit and drink in/have a cigarette w/out bugging other customers.
*right next to the lake!
*near fabulous restaurants and antique shops

I really dont have anything to complain about! loved it!

Will def come again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank melineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we've stayed here. Every time we were greeted professionally, courteously and in warm spirits eagerly awaiting to make our experience an unforgettable one. This time was completely different and so much so that we will not be staying here again. The G.M., Ryan Vasquez accommodated us as much
as he Professionally and rightfully should have because as any and every business owner knows, every customer is important. And every dollar counts. Especially in this Economy. The poor quality of the room (Cabin #5) was shocking. While spacious and in a good location it smelt of Pet urine & Feces. I understand this place is " Pet Friendly" but even people with pets do there best to make sure there house does not smell of urine and feces when Guests go over. As such the management and staff need to do more to ensure the Rooms/Cabins are cleaner and comfortable for all guests. So many awesome places to stay in Big Bear Lake we will not miss this one.

Stayed: March 2014
8  Thank StuGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just awesome, what a well-kept secret. There is no reason to have your own cabin in Big Bear when you have access to this...It was clean, well-situated, quaint and AWESOME.

The service was great, Ryan the general manager greeted us personally and kept tabs with us during our 4-day stay

Room Tip: get a cabin, not the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Grabbed this place at the last minute for a trip to Big Bear (wanted to get up there before the snow hit). Stayed on the motel side (not the mini-cabins).

Pros: Room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave. Didn't hear any neighbors (although I'm not sure I had any- parking lot was fairly empty). Late check in procedure was quick (call number on sign by front door, operator asks which hotel you're at, asks your name, then gives you a four digit code to access a panel with your room assignment and key).

Cons: Bed was a little lumpy, pillows were flat, shower had weak water pressure. Wall heater was very noisy and only had two settings: off and full blast. There was a portable heater in the closet that I pulled out and set on low. It made less noise and kept the room from getting too cold. TV had very few channels- not even ESPN.

In sum, I'd go back if I needed a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuntingtonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a one night stay in a lakefront cabin #29. It was very romantic...whirlpool, fireplace, and king size bed all in the bedroom. It's in a great location to everything and has a beautiful view. The staff is great and they even hung up a birthday sign for my boyfriend to surprise him. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Emmers7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: $140 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Big Bear Frontier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing