We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Big Bear Frontier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just awesome, what a well-kept secret. There is no reason to have your own cabin in Big Bear when you have access to this...It was clean, well-situated, quaint and AWESOME.

The service was great, Ryan the general manager greeted us personally and kept tabs with us during our 4-day stay

Room Tip: get a cabin, not the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 427 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

Grabbed this place at the last minute for a trip to Big Bear (wanted to get up there before the snow hit). Stayed on the motel side (not the mini-cabins).

Pros: Room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave. Didn't hear any neighbors (although I'm not sure I had any- parking lot was fairly empty). Late check in procedure was quick (call number on sign by front door, operator asks which hotel you're at, asks your name, then gives you a four digit code to access a panel with your room assignment and key).

Cons: Bed was a little lumpy, pillows were flat, shower had weak water pressure. Wall heater was very noisy and only had two settings: off and full blast. There was a portable heater in the closet that I pulled out and set on low. It made less noise and kept the room from getting too cold. TV had very few channels- not even ESPN.

In sum, I'd go back if I needed a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuntingtonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a one night stay in a lakefront cabin #29. It was very romantic...whirlpool, fireplace, and king size bed all in the bedroom. It's in a great location to everything and has a beautiful view. The staff is great and they even hung up a birthday sign for my boyfriend to surprise him. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Emmers7251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don`t expect any luxury otherwise you will surely be disappointed.
This is a simple mountain hotel. It is clean, they clean the rooms daily but do not do the dishes.
Shower was just ok. Bathroom had no tub. Room small but ok.
This was nice to have a kitchen as we were with our kids so we could fix our dinner some days.
There is no front desk if you arrive late (you have to call a number to get instructions for your keys).
Nice fireplace in our chalet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The cabin had an electric fireplace (a heater with glowing bulbs to look like a fire). This did not even work consistently. The heat broke down completely on Christmas Eve. They interrupted up evening 3-4 times and finally brought in 3 space heaters. So instead of a cabin with a real fireplace (told repeatedly by desk clerk - we DID have a fireplace), we awoke to people climbing around trying to fix the heat. I went to the lobby in hopes of sitting in front of a fire and was very rudely told she was way too busy to start the fire. When asked about the message I sent through Booking. com, she said nobody ever reads those. When I mentioned about no heat in our room, she said, "yeah, that's why I spent over $600 to try and get it fix on Christmas day." I had sent the message before our arrival because I read other reviews that indicated a virtual 'toss up' for comfort and staff. Unfortunately, despite trying head off problems - they ignored the message or any hopes for a joyful Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carolama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Found them through http://tripadvisor.com, booked a 2 queen beds room for January 10-January 12th. The hotel is small, separate from cabins and our room was downstairs.

The Frontier is close to everything we needed, took us 3 min drive to the Village area. The lake is just a little walk down and they have a nice patio with outdoor seating with a lake view. My kids were feeding ducks on the shore, so they had lots of fun. :)

Restaurants, Walgreens, coffee shops and ski rental places were super close and also the snow sleds and snow play were right down the street.

We had a lot of parking; the rooms were clean, simple, spacious. Nothing fancy but it got the job done. Shower, toilet worked great, had no problems with neither hot water nor heater. Had Visio TV in our room, worked fine.

Staff seemed to be nice, didn't talk much to them, so can't say anything specific.

The only problem was the Wi-Fi. My dad had to put the internet password every other 20-30 minutes and he was pretty annoyed and pissed after that. So I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5.

So far, a great experience for the first trip to the Big Bear. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at our property. My staff and I work very hard to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. I'm sorry about the problem you encountered with the Wi-fi; it is unfortunately a security feature added by our IT Department. The feature allows users to access full speeds of the internet while others are logged off or not using the service at any given time.

Best,

Ryan Vasquez
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a "lake front" hotel room. If you are lucky to get a room in the end of the corridor, you can see the lake outside of your room. We were not so lucky, so we saw a corner of the lake before we enter the room and after we get out of it. Once inside the room you have to close the curtains, then you see nothing but the fire place (you have to walk long way to the front office to get the wood). The room was old and the flour was sinking. The bed was uncomfortable. Our next door neighbor (with kids) were extremely noisy. And therefore we made the reservation for 5 nights but checked out after one night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nianchen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: $139 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Bear Frontier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing