We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value but rooms badly need a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
South Pasadena
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location and good value but rooms badly need a facelift”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Location and layout were great. Rooms really a facelift. functional but very outdated TV. Bathroom fixtures. Furnishings. Etc. Would be much better value with a little investment in property. Rented three rooms and a cabin

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    48
    21
    32
See reviews for
163
155
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Though the room was beautiful and the lake view I paid extra for very nice, the noise level was ridiculous. Between blowers (which ran for hours), sanders carts and even a motorized small vehicle, it was very difficult to enjoy the beauty of this once very peaceful community. As we stayed a full week, I really think we should have been able to have a much more peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps if you can afford the cabins right on the lake, you might get away from the carts and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, during our off season, we use this time to spruce up our resort and make any major renovations that are necessary. By doing so, we do have the occasional noise of power tools, etc. Our maintenance staff vigorously works to complete these tasks in a timely manner. You could have always brought this to my attention at any time during your stay and I would certainly made adjustments to our maintenance schedule.
However, I am happy that you found your cabin and lake view very nice. I invite you to come back and give my resort another visit; I am confident you will find the progress we are making very pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed the lakeside location, it was an easy walk to the Village shops and restaurants. Its also convenient for the marina and boat trips. We had the more "hotel" style room which still felt like a cabin with a small kitchen area and a fireplace. Bed was warm and comfortable but could do with an extra pillow. Only negative was the room safe which wouldn't work.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms closest to the lakeshore
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghaibrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to go to getaway from the city life. Cabin has all you need for cooking and a Vons down the road where you don't have to pack to much to have fun. Nice place to take your pet since they have great walking trails that are very quite.

Room Tip: There are different size cabins so make sure to find out before you book the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here two times and love it.The cabins/hotel rooms are very roomy. We always come with our black lab and she just loves it. The hotel is walking distance to the Big Bear Village and close to the lake (there is a deck near the lake where you can sit). We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a pet friendly place, well, this is it. With or without a pet you will enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIDESHOW346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed over Easter weekend. Last weekend of skiing in big bear. We rented a two bedroom chalet. It was a good size. There were 2 queens, a twin and 2 sofa beds. Only draw back. One restroom. The kitchen size was good. Full fridge and dining area We dined out all weekend The kitchen is very convenient for those who like to cook. There was a BBQ pit and ping pong outside. A hot tub and pool outdoor but heated. A list of DVDs and VHS, yes VHS available to borrow. There was also a pool table in the main lobby. Very cozy place. A liquor store was a cross the street for convenience. Their staff was always around and keeping their property clean and in working order. And it's very close to old town big bear

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padiboys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well the "extra room" is really a 3 bedroom suite/cabin! Awesome! Thanks for the hospitality, and for dealing with us professionally when the expedia people messed up! The only thing I didn't like was that I had a heater blowing on my face all night. Poor room set-up I guess, because it was too cold not to have the heater on at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFreak1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing