We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabin/s dissappointment”
Review of Big Bear Frontier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Highland, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabin/s dissappointment”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

While the grounds are very well cared for; the two cabins we stayed in were less than satisfactory for our needs. The interior amentities were in dire need of repair, or replacement! Several attempts by maintenance to fulfill our requests for necessary repairs with-in the interiors failed to the point we had to terminate our stay earlier than we had antisipated. Unfortunately "three times a charm" would not have materialized with our experiences with two different cabins during our short stay at the Frontier. The office staff, and the maintenance employees were very pleasant, and accomodating to our requests, but the final outcome to make things right for our concerns did'nt happen to our satisfaction. A suggestion to the Frontier Management would be to check each cabin prior to visitors checking in; to make absolutely sure all the amenities are in working order, and properly cleaned. In all due respect to the Frontier Management; they did provide a refund for our unfortunate stay.

Room Tip: Flip a coin, and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancychesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for the time to write a review on Big Bear Frontier. We clearly apologize that you had some problems during your stay. It is not often that we get this type of complaint. We will be going through the cabins to make sure refrigerators are in good working order, etc. Thank you for the nice things that you said about our staff. Our entire staff tries very hard to make sure our guest is comfortable. Things do go wrong in both new and old structures and we were glad that we were able to respond to your concerns, and again apologize that they were not fixed to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning that we did refund your money. Hopefully, you will give us another chance.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    139
    49
    22
    32
See reviews for
165
157
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VENICE, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have been guests here many many many times. We love it here! The place is clean,the front desk people are fabulous and it is/has been great for our Akitas (Our first Akita (gone sadly) had a blast here and now we have our second who has been here three times and also has a blast)!! We have recommended it to many of our friends and I even had my 50th birthday surprise party there 7 years ago, we rented about 5 cabins and everyone had a blast. It is great for launching our pontoon boat and kayak and so close to town, restaurants, etc., all in walking distance. We are staying there again this weekend with friends who are meeting us there from Vegas and we can't wait. I have been meaning for years to write a review and was looking a few things up in Big Bear and decided to take the time to do it now.

Room Tip: All of the cabins are different some with more light than others, ask when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RENEE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. You elaborated very nicely about the property surroundings and things to do while one stays at the lodge. We do value your business and try hard to be that place where people want to bring their families and pets. Do come back soon, we appreciate your business.
Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I paid $60/night for a double queen bed room in the "hotel" portion in the back by the lake. It was wonderful. The room was large, clean, and nicely appointed. It came with a fridge, microwave, and fireplace. They also have little cabins you can rent in the middle and front area of the property (front relative to the main road). They also have a house you can rent right on the lake which looked amazing.

The hotel has a heated pool, hot tub, grill area, huge deck right on the lake, and a dock you can walk out on to fish or hang out. The location is great for easy walking to dining and retail.

It wasn't fancy. Know that. But it was easily nice enough for my tastes, had a great family feel, and was an unbeatable value. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All of the hotel rooms were good as they are next to the deck by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will2TravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This resort might have potential to be a lovely resort, due to it's location, however, the cottages are old and VERY DIRTY. We left because the kids had bites on them, everyone was itchy either from FLEAS and/or BED BUGS, we also encountered ANTS. The girls that work there during the day at the front desk are very nice, but the male staff at night are not very nice at all. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flaneur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
It is with great concern and dissappointment that we get your review. Because of our altitude, fleas or bed bugs do not inhabit Big Bear, however, we can have ants. Every hotel, motel, cabin, and home can have ants at during different times in Big Bear. Usually when they are looking for food and there is snow on the ground, they come inside. We spray and have a pest control come on a regular basis, but sometimes we can't stay ahead of them, When food is left on the cupboards, or a drop of soda, or even a candy wrapper, is left on the cupboards or furniture, the ants seem to find it. Our staff does try to be accomodating to all of our guests, our housekeeping takes pride in the many comments of the cleanliness of the cabins, because we truly value our guests and their business. We are sorry that you had expectations beyond what we were able to fulfill.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My family of four had our first (& very last minute) trip to Big Bear last weekend and although we don't have anything to compare (with many options available) I don't think we'll need to as; we would definitely return! With only a short two night stay that landed perfectly with about a 12" snow storm (in-between our driving days although we were delayed a bit in the AM of check-out); we had an excellent mini getaway to the local mountains.
Greatly exceeded our expectations,

Room; 1 Bed Cabin w/ Fireplace (& Queen Sofa) - #3

Highlights:
Freindly service, from booking thru check-out.
Awesome Grounds; Grills decent play area
Pet Friendly!
Convenient Access to Everything! (lake, town, alpine slide!)
Creditable Amenities; Heated Pool, Spa, Movie Rental, Pool Table, Comp. Coffee/Cocoa,
Room decor/charm
Clean; Spacious, Cozy
Single building cabins; no shared walls

Lowlights:
Really Dark Shower
Limited Kitchen Supplies (although they were probably just a call and walk to the office away)
Pretty Close qtrs to neighbors/parking (gotta maximize their space and it isn't unreasonable)
Snow Removal (no plow until day after storm stopped)
Dated appliances/amenities
Ants (not resorts fault understandable)

All-in-All a really Great Value and as long as you aren't expecting brand new 'resort' accommodations you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Call & review cabins online...Many different layouts and sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacations_Four_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We are thrilled that you found us and chose us. We hope you will make Big Bear Frontier your home away from home when you travel to Big Bear Lake. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to seeing and serving you again.
Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great rustic cabins, wood burning fire places ( make sure you buy wood ) easy walk into the village, great bars and restaurants near by.

Ski fields are a mile or so away.

Cabins had everything you need, to have a fire going while it's snowing outside, magical.

Great value and already looking into go back next year for six nights.

Great place to stay in Big bear, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosscoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
I am pleased that you found our cabins so convenient, being close to the village and the slopes, and enjoyed our fireplaces and the lake front cabins. It is our pleasure to serve you and help that you have a memorable stay in Big Bear. I am so glad that you will come back next year and spend more time with us. We want you to make our place, your place, away from home. Let the front desk agent know that you wrote a review on Trip Advisor. The staff always loves tthe compliments and want to thank you when they see you on your next trip. Again, thanks for choosing us!

Roger Abbott
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have been going up to Big Bear for a few years for winter fun. Finally I found a place affordable and a place I can stay if I don't feel like hitting the slopes. I chose a onebedroom cabin for 20 dollars more a night than the motel style room. The room was clean and had a kitchen and a fire place. I cooked 2 dinners and have no complaints with the kitchen equipment. I stayed back one of the days and enjoyed hanging out in the cabin, sitting next to lake, hanging at the large comfortable lobby. My only complaint is the wi-fi is sooooo but there is a computer in the lobby. I even had to fax something and asked where I could find a fax to the front desk and they were kind enough to fax for me!!!! I even walked to town (10 min slow paced)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the time you took to write a review for us. We appreciate it and the fact that you point out so many things about staying at Big Bear Frontier. It is fun to be able to do a variety of things, hit the slopes, enjoy the lake, take that little stroll into the village, all in a rest and relaxing pace.! We apologize about the WIfi, we are in the process of revamping it. We recently made some changes to our overall telephone service and therefore, don't have the Wifi fine tuned. We are working on it. Yes, we will fax for you, and you can get faxes, as well, if you need them. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you have found your home away from home and will return to see us often. Always let the front desk if there is something that you need or if there is any infraction's that we can fix to make your stay more comfortable. It is our pleasure to to know we have happy guests. Thanks again for chosing us!

Roger
GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier

Property: Big Bear Frontier
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Big Bear Frontier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing