We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveler rating
140
198
139
71
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
198
139
71
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bearbalcony overlooking the poolwithin walking distancebit datedon site restaurantshops and restaurantsgas fireplacevillage arearustic feelcoffee makergrouponjacuzzilodgeslopessnowwintermicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 608 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Beautiful king room with a fire place and a view of the pool area.
lovely lodge setting in the mountains.
The room is immaculately cleaned and the staff are discreet but super efficient.
Several restaurants and quaint shops as well as walking opportunities around the gorgeous lake
A true gem of a property!

Room Tip: King room with a fire place and balcony
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindywilsonsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Check-in was very good. We requested a room on the first floor, and they were able to accommodate us. Our room #141 needed renovating. The carpet was dirty, the sink did not drain well & overall it needed updating.

The pool is small.

We had 12 of us in our group & we ate dinner at the Stillwell Restaurant within the hotel. The individuals who ordered the steak complained that it was not cooked as ordered (very raw). I ordered the Tortellini dish & it was adequate $17. The service was good, although we were the only ones in the restaurant.

The hotel gave us free breakfast tickets. You could either buffet it or order from menu. Breakfast was good.

The hotel is in a perfect location. Walking distance to shops, bars & restaurants.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Team1mpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear Team1mpoo,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us.

I am very happy that our breakfast, the location of our hotel and our service met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our valued guests on how we are doing. I also take note regarding your comment about the carpet and that the sink was not draining well, we will use your comments to coach our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize if this might have caused you inconvenience.

Once again thank for choosing to stay with us.

We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future .

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

We stayed in the family suite, which was perfect of the kids. There was a charging station for their iPads, they had loads of games in the room for the kids to play with. There was a fridge, and lots of closet space. The bathroom was small and the shower needed a new Knob, room 331... The strange opening behind the sink needs about 3 towel hangers. The open space was just strange. They could add a seat for luggage on the floor as well behind the sinks. Also when you enter the room some coat hangers on the wall would really help, especially in the snowy season. The room was clean, and the bed was nice. We ate breakfast at the hotel daily and it was mehh. Not anything to brag about. The hotel itself needs a lot of upkeep and updating. The doors and carpets all needed cleaning and fresh paint. the pool area needs a fire pit and sitting area between the pool and the side door inside. This would add some nice ambiance for people to gather and hang out. Tenaya lodge has some wonderful ideas for this hotel to look at as far as making it cabin like and nice. This hotel has major potential but it seems as though it is missing the time in the summer to update things for the snowy season. Overall it was cheap and decent for kids. We walked downtown daily for dinner and drinks. This location is ideal. Parking is free, the pool is small but nice for the kids. The lake is a quick drive away. the cookies in the entry are outstanding!!!!!!! The game room was a hit for our boys. The playstation was their thing. Highly suggest staying here, it is not the ritz but it also is not the hotel from the revenge of the nerds 2 either. Decent place and you will enjoy your stay. We felt safe here.

Room Tip: free parking, free wifi, 2 blocks to village, nice place.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KellyLLouisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We made a 3-night reservation at this "resort" to get out of the summer heat in Palm Springs. We chose this hotel because the Holiday Inn brand is known for a consistent experience. We requested a room that was handicapped accessible as my husband is an amputee and requires bars in the bathroom as well as an accessible shower (no tub). The assigned room had neither. After staying one night, we complained to management as the bathroom was not even useable to my husband. We were offered two other rooms, one of which was the furthest from the elevator and would have involved a 5-6 minute walk for my husband to navigate. It also had a portable air conditioner that was propped up on a chair in the bedroom and was vented to an outside window. Because the room was so very far from the elevator and posed a huge risk in the case of a fire (no outside access as the windows were very high on the wall and the stairway is not accessible/useable to my husband), we declined. By the time we were given another room option, we were over the whole experience and requested cancellation of our reservation which was accomplished by a very nice supervisor named Nicole. She was the only aspect of the experience that even came close to satisfying. Other significant deficiencies were: dirty hallways with pieces of wall board broken off that hadn't been cleaned up; dirty carpets in the assigned room; very poor upkeep of the planters adjacent to the pool/Jacuzzi in that the grass was dead/overgrown with weeds as well the presence of trash/cigarette butts; the handicap lifts that were installed next to the pool/Jacuzzi didn't work as there were no batteries in them; dirty linens were piled in the hallway when we checked in at 3 pm; piles of dirty laundry were still in the hallways when we returned from dinner at 8:30 pm. The property was located in a "barrio-like" neighborhood with an abandoned Quiznos building next door, trash and empty liquor bottles left on that property as well as dead and dying plants and trees in the parking lot of the "resort." This hotel should not be called a resort or carry the Holiday Inn name and certainly did not warrant the $100/plus a night room charge. This hotel makes a Motel 6 look luxurious. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryne637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Hello kathryne637,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, CA. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with the room assignment, customer service, hallway condition and carpet cleanliness. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Big Bear Lake, CA.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is it's location.
Breakfast: meats and potatoes were cold, the pastries were stale and sour!!! No communication among staff.
General manager thought if he shouted at me, I'd understand him better. Unfortunately, it was he who didn't understand or know anything. He tried to charge me for something I never ordered. When I asked him why I was being charged, he couldn't answer me.
Jacuzzi water was dirty. No spare toilet tissue in our room! Very depressing 'entertainment' room (if that's what you can call it). Never again. CERTAINLY not worth the money they charge. What a massive let down for Holiday Inn. I've stayed at Holiday Inn in many other international locations and I've always been happy!!! What a waste of space!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank leila201435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear leila201435,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate you positive feedback about location. However, it is regrettable that your stay was negatively affected by your breakfast experience, your encounter with the hotel manager, and the condition of the some of the hotel facility. We sincerely care about your experience, and what you described certainly aren’t what we want for any of our guests to experience. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention as this is our best resource to know how our hotels are being managed to a high standard and to evaluate what can be given additional attention. I have this information documented and it will be forwarded to the hotel management for review and for proper actions to be taken.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you with exceptional service and accommodation on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews