We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveler rating
141
198
139
71
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
198
139
71
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig bearbalcony overlooking the poolwithin walking distancebit datedon site restaurantshops and restaurantsgas fireplacevillage arearustic feelcoffee makergrouponjacuzzilodgeslopessnowwintermicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 609 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2015

We stayed at Northwoods Resort for a ski trip. We didn't have a reservation and were able to walk in and get a room. The staff was professional and courteous. The rooms were cozy and gave a Disneyworld Frontier Land vibe, which made it all the better after a long, cold day on the slopes. The rooms were clean, free WiFi, the parking lot plowed after a snow and the proximity to Main Street and all of the shops was perfect! The tip of the iceberg was the fireplace in the room! Nothing like snuggling up with that special someone next to a fire, albeit natural gas instead of real wood.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superfly885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

This is our second stay at Northwoods. The first time was a pleasant summer stay, but the second time it was off season and the hotel was undergoing renovation at their lobby and spa area. That was fine, until we realized that they're sawing and drilling in the spa, right in front of our room, throughout the day! Why they would give us a room so close to where the noise is is beyond me, but with 4 suitcases in tow we just didn't have the will to ask for another room.

I may still come back to this hotel, hoping that the not-so-pleasant experience was a one off. This hotel is walking distance to the Village ... where many of the shops and restaurants area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onedollar403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear onedollar403,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I was concerned to see that you had some issues with the noise from the ongoing renovation. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concern.

Again, thank you for the review and I hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future once our renovations are complete.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Great place to stay, swimming pool, the room was large and the inside was decorated like being in the woods, i was told by a staff member that the hotel was being sold to a big hotel chain and they were in the process of remodeling the rooms.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank CHARLES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

This is a larger hotel which is currently being modernised. The staff were very friendly and offered dining suggestions. The rooms are comfortable and have the required mod cons. The decor relies heavily on the wooden cabin theme. There is no laundry facility but a lovely pool, spa and gym.. Its a 10 minute or less walk to the restaurants.. Didn't want to leave

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank TawnyYNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

Booked a room for one day. arrived to a dark dingy lobby area under construction . check in seemed fine. got to the room no wi fi connection went to the pool which itself was nice enough but no towels. The lounge chairs looked like they where taken out of the garbage . the cheap fold up type with all the webbing broken. the pool are and surrounding where not well maintained. The inner halls and public area s where all dark and dingy. then as the night went on attempted to make a bottle for my son no hot water in the sink area. at check out they seem to know about theses problems. didn't seem to really care Don't stay many better choices at this price point

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear j d,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary stay due to the overall hotel condition, cleanliness, amenities and WIFI access. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. I take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews