We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic lunch spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Walls Vineyard

Old Walls Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Idyllic lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stopped here for tea and cake for the first time on a lovely sunny day in June.

We enjoyed an almond slice and a macaroon. I asked for an elderflower cordial made with sparkling water. Two jugs came out - a small one with the cordial and a much larger one with chilled sparkling water so I could mix it the way I wanted. Simple but effective. Stunning views from the deck across wooded fields down to Teignmouth. The bird song was amazing. Very English and very Mediterranean with the vines on the deck.

We plan to visit the actual vineyard soon and maybe sample the lunch menu

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    11
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a visit to this vineyard for my husband as a Xmas gift through 'buy a gift', which proved excellent value for money. we booked very late as the weather forecast was good and I would recommend this as although it was a sunny day the vineyard is very high up so quite windy. After a welcome beverage we had a talk for about an hour on how the owner set up the vineyard which was very interesting. we then walked around the different types of vines and then had a tour of the winery and a talk on how the wine is bottled. After a wine tasting session we had lunch, which was lovely. A choice of sandwiches or ploughmans followed by a cream tea and of course served with a glass of wine. On departure we were also given a bottle of wine of our choice , included in the package. Excellent value. We enjoyed our day so much , and the fact that we are reasonably local we decided to 'rent ' two vines for 12 months. They keep us up to date on how they are doing , we can visit whenever we like and then when the time comes we can go and pick our own grapes which get made into wine. Any wine that is produced which is expected to be 5-6 bottles we keep.. Would recommend this day to all wine lovers

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oatesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great for a nice lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the vineyard before but weather had always been bad. This time we visited on a warm sunny day which is unusual for May. Friendly staff and nice food made for a perfect lunchtime stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanandSerena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lunch on the deck, in the sunshine, with the beautiful view; it could ave been the Mediterranean. Good food and good service made it the perfect end to a weekend with friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lymington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited as given a gift for Christmas . An interesting visit with coffee on arrival than an explanation of how and why the vineyard was set up , with a tour and tastings . Lunch followed which was a ploughmans of your choice. Thoroughly enjoyable light hearted with plenty of laughs .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie34Lymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Walls Vineyard also viewed

Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Been to Old Walls Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing