We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway without too much travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denaut Mansion Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Delta B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We had a lovely stay at the Denaut Mansion, Mariska and Theo are friendly and welcoming and don't "shadow' you which is such a turn-off in B&B's. Everything is spic and span clean. Our room was lovely looking over the gardens, and the bathroom is spacious and super clean.
We would definitely go back, if we had any complaints/suggestions they would be: All rooms should have a lock on the inside, it may not be necessary but it is an option guests should have.
Also if you are expecting a hearty canadian breakfast this is not the B&B for you. Focus is on healthy eating which is fine, but at upwards of 175$ per night a hot breakfast should be served every day, most especially on wekends, home made jams and granola is great, but we prefer a treat of a bit of grease when we are on vacation, bacon, eggs, fried potatoes etc. the option could still be there for those who want to eat fruit and cereal, but that is not really our thing.
Other than that, we would definitely recommend and for a quick weekend away would consider it again. One more thing, the pool is fabulous, heated and large with a change room, this is a special treat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadeseekerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Denaut Mansion Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2007

...Well not entirely, since we'd peeked at the website pictures...

However, I would give almost anything to be able to go back and find the Denaut without having a clue.

We visited in very late Fall. Grey, rainy, cold, windy, miserable (just like Britain, in fact) and driving through The Canadian Shield was just stunning.

After the pretty New England Fall stuff, this is almost the same, except with a more rugged edge to it.

(Incidentally, if you like the whole Fall Foliage thing, any random bit of South-ish East-ish Canada slaughters New England for spectacle In the without any effort (or publicity) at all.)

You pass by farms, and get a real impression that the soil goes down about two inches, then you hit solid granite. Harsh.

The towns and villages are functional, rather than prettified.

Then you arrive at The Denaut Mansion. For anywhere else, the name would be a bit of a try-on. However, it really does qualify. You'll have to read the original owner's name plate to find out why. There is no way I'm giving away that surprise.

A very English looking stone house with walls a mile thick, it is a literally incredible contrast to everything you'd seen on the way there.

The lobby / hall and staircase are quite jaw-dropping, and then it gets even better. I've seldom seen such a sympathetic and well-executed restoration. Understated good taste is difficult. Visit this place to see it done properly.

The calm of the rooms was something to behold, and the light could create a Dutch Oil Painting feel and a personal swerve off into the ditch of pretentiousness.

The hosts are very welcoming, even with a tough act like us to contend with. We were the only guests there, somewhat overawed and not, it has to be said, all that chatty (no matter how much I ramble on in print...)

Nevertheless, they are really lovely, and we were made most welcome, and a real chef came in to cook some real food for us. We've seldom felt so guilty. (All that trouble for us?)

Much to my shame, I did not get the chef's name, but he can really cook. Beautifully presented, imaginative stuff that also manages the rare trick of actually being delicious.

I really can't recommend this place to you highly enough.

For sightseeing, here are plenty of small towns nearby. Many have Scottish names, and it really is like being in the Borders.

If driving anywhere, make sure you take as many of the small side roads as possible. They are a barely paved, potholed, deeply rutted and entirely hilarious treat. I actually washed the hire car before giving it back, it was so coated in red mud. The Colin MacRae accent took longer to wear off.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeftHandDownABit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2006

We always use TripAdvisor when researching hotels, inns, and B&Bs. For fun I looked up our favorite inn -- the Denaut Mansion Country Inn. Because I did not find any listing, I thought I would share our experiences over the past five years. This is our favorite inn and we have stayed at many -- in Canada, US, Europe, and Latin America. Deborah and David are fabulous and they always make our stay great. The rooms are beautiful, the property is great, and the meals are always superb. Cannot say enough about this inn and owners. If you are in the 1000 Islands area of Ontario, it is worth a stay.

2  Thank jeffmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monavispourvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariska Theo K, Owner at Denaut Mansion Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank viatger2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariska Theo K, Owner at Denaut Mansion Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Werner F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denaut, Owner at Denaut Mansion Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten das Zimmer von der Halle ein Treppe hoch, dann rechts. Für uns 3 (unsere erwachsene Tocht...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denaut, Owner at Denaut Mansion Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delta
7.1 mi away
Hotel Kenney
Hotel Kenney
#1 of 1 in Elgin
61 reviews
21.2 mi away
Riveredge Resort
Riveredge Resort
#6 of 14 in Alexandria Bay
571 reviews
20.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
14.4 mi away
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Country Manor
Holiday Country Manor
#1 of 1 in Battersea
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denaut Mansion Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denaut Mansion Country Inn

Address: 5 Mathew Street, Delta, Rideau Lakes, Ontario K0E 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rideau Lakes > Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Delta
Price Range: $147 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small Inn situated in the village of Delta on Upper Beverly Lake. Nestled in the rustic & beautiful Rideau Lakes. A rural, peaceful village in Eastern Ontario. In the middle of a authentic rural area. Ideal for those that that want to unwind, enjoy the lakes, fresh air and slow paste. Not far from Brockville, Kingston, Westport and Gananoque. Come and see the beauty this area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Denaut Mansion Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ontario
Ontario Country Inn
Denaut Mansion Country Inn Delta, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing