We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value food and great time for all”
Review of Country Skittles

Country Skittles
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Townshend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Country Skittles is a fun place to go whether a family group, an office outing or just the two of you! It has 4 traditional skittle alleys, a great restaurant, well-stocked bar, shooting gallery, mini crazy golf and lots of games including air hockey, pool, 2 player Guitar Hero, traditional board games, etc. Perfect for all ages! Please check our web site for details of menus and opening hours!
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Just been to country skittles great time had by all food is excellent and reasonably priced staff friendly and helpful nice atmosphere. will be back very soon

1  Thank Waynejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, Manager at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks a lot for your kind words. All the staff here really appreciate it! Glad you had s good time, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Country Skittles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visiting Country Skittles on Saturday as a party of 5 ( 4 adults and a 3 year old) we did eat and found the food to be ok, 3 reported the steak to be a little bit tough! The only gripe that I have with skittles is that you pay 1/2 hour £8.50 for 2 person and £12.50 for our party of 5 as there were 5 members in our group that meant an average playing time of 6 minutes per person £2.50 per person = 0.42p per minute. However if 2 of you play £8.50 for 30 minutes average playing time of 15 minutes = £4.25 per person = 0.28p per minute. Would it not be a fairer system to pay per lane? as it is not very cost effective for a larger party to play on one lane?
On a plus side we did enjoy ( even if half the pieces were missing) the selection of board games that you had. Which certainly entertained the youngest member of our group.

1  Thank sonia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Regarding the skittles prices, we DO charge per lane - £8.50 for 2 people and £12.50 for 3-8 people!
For groups over 2, then it is 42p per minute for everyone. The price for 2 people is offered at a lower price as we felt that £12.50 was too much for 2 people to pay.
It does make sense for larger groups to play on one lane, as the cost per person is lower. The more people on the lane, the cheaper it is.
I feel that prices from £1.60 per person represent good value for money, and our prices have not gone up for a number of years now.
Additionally, if you book a 2nd 30 minute session, it is only £9.50 per lane, making it even better value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a very good idea skittles,I went there for the first time sat night.There was not many people there which made no atmosphere ,it seemed unwelcoming and it was a chilly night for June one of our ladies is 85 soon she felt cold,she wanted a nice soup,no soup,I ordered kicking chicken it was horrible lump of meat in a dry bun handful of chips not a lettuce leaf or a slice of Tom or cucumber,no colour bland and dull.10 of us ladies sat to eat we had a speaker on the wall over our table it was rubbish music and o very loud we could not hear each other.After the awful meal we went on to play skittles of which we did enjoy,any enjoyment was down to us as skittles is of our outing agenda in the future.

4  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed the skittles! I feel that a 1-star - terrible - review is very harsh, as you said you had an 'OK time'. I think it was Wednesday your party was in as we were very busy on the Saturday night, and Wednesday was the only night that there was an initial lack of soup.
Everyone in your party ordered from our 'basic meals for £5' selection, and, although they are good value for money, they do not represent the quality of our main meals on the a la carte menu. All the meals from the £5 menu do, however, go out with side salad on the plates. The 'horrible lump of meat' is actually chicken breast in a chilli batter, and is the most popular item on our 'Light Bites' menu! Sorry that it wasn't to your taste.
Not much we can do about the music. Always difficult, but one thing is for sure, no matter what music is being played, we can't keep everyone happy! Again, It's all down to personal taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've had a great evening at Country Skittles ! Very friendly place with many activities for young and less young. Separate and spacious dining rooms make the restaurant confortable and non noisy. This is an excellent place to spend an evening with the whole family or friends !
Welcoming and polite staff, very good quality food at reasonable price. The raspberry crush is a must !!
We'll come back !
Greetings from France

5  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have used Country Skittles as family birthday venue over many years and always have a good time. Never have anything but the raspberry crush for dessert. The system of ordering before bowling is excellent as there is then very little wait for the food. The food is nice enough typical pub fare, and they do have vegetarian choices. The skittle alley remains as good as ever. My gripe though, is that over the years, there have been incasing problems with machines not working (this time the batak took our 50p and didn't work), an air hockey was out of action again causing queues for the remaining one. When we first used to go there were several free to play games eg chuck-a-puck, but these are gradually disappearing which is a pity because having pay only choices does make the cost of the evening mount up now. The crazy golf particularly was a rip-off. Unimaginative concrete blocks that the ball doesn't stay still on.
Well I'm sure we shall still go, but until these things are addressed, it will be less often.

7  Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Skittles also viewed

 

Been to Country Skittles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing