We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should have tried this earlier”

The Fox & Goose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wigley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With an intriguing history, amazing panoramic views and romantic setting. The Fox and Goose provides a wedding venue, fine dining restaurant and pub in the heart of the peak district.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Should have tried this earlier”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

At the end of a walk with friends and family in the Peak District, we were at a loss to know which was the closest pub/restaurant to visit for lunch, until I remembered the Fox and Goose, which I had passed numerous times. I had, indeed been there many years ago during a photo shoot I was involved with but this was in the evening and I did not dine at the place.
We were not disappointed; the pub occupies a superb position overlooking Chesterfield, and the restaurant has large picture windows which look out on this and the hills to the north. The menu is quite extensive (almost all the items have two prices, lower for a smaller portion and higher for a larger portion) and by the time we had all made a choice, the dining room had filled up, indicating the popularity of the location. The staff were very attentive and although the food took some time to arrive, this was no problem since it is cooked to order and a short wait is to be expected. The Fox and Goose is a favoured place for wedding receptions and similar functions.
We would almost certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    63
    33
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
636 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Scenic views across Chesterfield”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Slightly out of the way in the hamlet of Wigley and high on the hillside which affords it stunning views. The bar serves several draft and bottled beers. The restaurant is set back behind the bar on a slightly higher level adjacent to the kitchens. The extensive menu offers a good choice of food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited with a group of friends for Sunday Lunch and were very pleased with both the food and service provided. The dining area has lovely views and the atmosphere is relaxed. For a smaller portion have a "childs" version which was plenty for 2 of us in the group (saving enough room for a pudding!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Burger to fit the bun?”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Came with a group of friends, as we'd heard reasonable reviews. My friend had the gammon and would liken it to shoe leather, another friend had the chicken risotto and enjoyed it, I had the burger and was surprised to find a tiny yet massively thick burger hidden in a large floured bun, which strangely didn't seem toasted.

It didn't seem terribly expensive but we would have expected better for the reviews on here.

I have a feeling, due to the noise levels, there was a big party on but I would have hoped this wouldn't have impacted our meal.

No complaint was made admittedly we just left feeling disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe_r81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigLChestefield, Owner at The Fox & Goose Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Chloe
Thank you for visiting us recently and I sincerely apologise that your visit did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I'm afraid we have had a transitional period with Chefs this month in preparation for the Wedding Season and this may have impacted our performance. I am however delighted to say we have appointed Marcus Jefford, formerly of Casa Hotel, as our new Head Chef and he would be delighted if you were to revisit us over the Summer to view our new outdoor dining areas and try his stunning cuisine. Please contact Lynne or General Manager to book on 566335 and mention I have written to you and she will look after you accordingly.
Best Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekday Lunch”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

First class lunch for four. Very pretty pub with a smart well arranged resturant. Pub classics menu was v good and v tasty. Great value for money. 10/10 we will be back....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strangeweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Goose Inn also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Barlow, Chesterfield
 

Been to The Fox & Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing