We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40thBirthday celebration”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mathry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Preseli Venture Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

15th September 2012

Six of us oldies got together and just had a fab weekend and laughed the whole time which is a tonic in itself. We did a 7 mile walk first morning which was just beautiful had a wonderful lunch then off to try coasteering. We were all nervous but did not need to be. Our teacher Emma, was the absolute best and we just had the most fabulous afternoon all achieving something we had never done before. Went back to yet another fabulous meal, washed down by a few drinks at the bar. Everyone is super friendly and we met some lovely people from other groups. Sunday morning we went sea kayaking which again none of us had done and we all mastered it well. It was beautiful seeing seals and pups on the way. Our guide was informative of all the sea life and coast line which was very interesting.
I could not recommend a better weekend that is so different from anything else you do and you come home revived with lovely memories. I will definately be back bringing the family next time for them to experience. Only one complaint which I am sure can be rectified drying room did not dry!!! So take more towels and shoes.

Regards Carolines birthday party (sara)x

Room Tip: We slept on bunk beds so not sure you would ever get excellent sleep quality on them if you are used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saradobred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thankyou for coming along and having a giggle :) And then writing us a review too! We look forward to you coming back with or without the family for more adventures! Sorry about the drying room, that room is a battle we have been trying to win for a while now, we're on it though! Thanks again :) lots of love from Libby and the Preseli Venture team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

What more can I add to the reviews already on here? They pretty much say it all.
I love watersports, but it was the first time I’d taken this sort of break on my own, so I was maybe a bit apprehensive about it. I needn’t have worried - within minutes of arriving I felt at home, with my room sorted out, some hot food in front of me, chatting happily to some fabulous people (guests and staff). I had booked 4 days of sea kayaking and, it being September, we had some changeable weather conditions. The wind/swell could have curtailed our fun, but these guys know exactly what they’re doing and know the coastline and the tides like the backs of their hands – whatever the weather throws at them they can find a piece of coast which is sufficiently protected for you to be able to test your skills (and balance!) without overstretching yourself. The Pembrokeshire coastline is breathtakingly beautiful and you get such a different view of it, and the wildlife, from the water.
Jon was our instructor (with Emma also on the first day and Nick joining us on the last day) and we were very well looked after all the time (hot chocolate packed for lunchtime to warm us up and plenty of extra warm fleeces on hand in case we’d ended up in the water… accidentally or on purpose). They have boundless enthusiasm and endless patience!
We were having so much fun, by the third day our arms were giving out, but the flexibility was there to change our itinerary and try something new instead (surfing and coasteering, neither of which I’d tried). I don’t think I would have been brave enough to book coasteering – I have a healthy aversion to jumping off rocks – but I had complete trust in Jon’s judgement that it was all perfectly safe and found myself enjoying it immensely (more just after the jumps than just before, obviously :o).
The extra dimension is that they really care about all aspects of their environment – from using ground source heat pumps, rainwater harvesting and biodegradable toiletries at the lodge to picking up marine litter when they’re out on the water and keeping a respectful distance from the seals while they have their pups to look after.
I was shattered every evening and had best time I’ve had in ages. Thank you to all the lovely people there for making me feel so welcome. It’s clear that they love what they do, which is great to see, and I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mewsitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Coool, wow, amaaazing and we love you! Thanks for such kind and wonderful words :) It was a great week with a bit of flexibility for you to try out other things...well done for giving it a go! You are more than welcome to come back and so it all again! faboulous week with faboulous people! Lots of love and hugs from Libby, Jon and the rest of the Preseli team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went on a three day break aimed at solo travellers and its the ideal place to get away from everything and just enjoy yourself. Everything is all there already so no need to hire anything like kayaks or wetsuits just bring yourself. The Lodge is set in an ideal setting down a narrow country lane and overlooking the nearby beach in the distance. Accommodation is clean tidy and inviting. The Staff are great and helpful as well as being very informative. The food is all freshly home cooked and tastes superb. The activities were well organised and all the Guides were well trained in safety and instruction. A complete Novice at any of these activities would get as much enjoyment as a more experienced person would because they was never any pressure on them to hurry up it is all done at their pace .
n.b.
There is no mobile phone signal around there and no TV or paper shop close, but there is WiFi if you need to keep in contact with the outside world, but really why bother just enjoy the experience and forget about the rest of the world it'll still be there when you leave....!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topboymw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Cheers :) Thankyou for taking the time to pop a review up for us! Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet...getting away from it all is what is needed sometimes. Come back and see us again one day for more fun times away from the fast paced world ;) Lots of love from Libby and the Preseli Team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Staff - Very warm, friendly, enthusiastic, encouraging and helpful.
Accommodation - Very clean, cosy and inviting (especially the massive log burner). Massive box of games to be played with in the evening and a well priced bar.
Food - Soooo good, especially when it's ready for serving as soon as you get back from the activities.
Activities - Mind blowing, catered for all needs and abilities, very well organised and run.

I think everyone should do it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Wow, wonderful..thankyou for coming to see us and writing this lovely review...now you know where we are come back to see us again :) That log burner's not going anywhere! Lots of love from Libby and the team Xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went as part of a large work group so we had the entire place to ourselves.

We did stayed two nights and did coasteering, sea kayaking and a coastal walk, and I just had the most amazing time! We started gently with the coastal walk, you have the choice of 5 or 7 miles. We chose 5 as I suffer with a bad knees, and this was more than manageable – it’s a simple route following the coastal path, not too taxing, and the views are amazing.

Jon was our instructor for both coasteering and kayaking, and he really is a top bloke - really enthusiastic, professional and funny. I felt safe enough with him to take on all of the challenges, he somehow convinced me to jump off the highest point in coasteering. Even when our kayak capsized and I was being tossed around in a ‘washing machine’, I wasn’t too concerned as I knew help was at hand.

In both activities, you had the option to challenge yourself, or if you didn’t feel confident, there was an alternative. Although you are encouraged to take the challenge, there is no pressure. Let’s face it though, the whole point of the experience is to push yourself - even with my numerous sporting injuries and being one of the older members of the group, I was happy to have a go at everything presented! We were lucky enough to see an inquisitive seal close by, which just topped the day off.

The food was really good, warm and filling, balanced well to fuel and re-fuel you for the activities. You can help yourself to fruit, tea and coffee and squash whenever you want so there is plenty to keep you going. The bar is well-stocked and includes some lovely local brews, there is a pool table and plenty of board games to entertain you in the evening (although most people were exhausted and in bed before 10pm, preparing for the following day!). Beds are bunks, the showers and toilets are on the ground floor.

You are provided with all of the kit you need (check the website for what you should bring), take plenty of warm clothing regardless of the weather - even though the sun was shining and it was warm, I was still shivering well after kayaking, and a couple of towels – note for the shy, you take your wetsuits off and change in a lane / carpark so be prepared!

All of the staff are really friendly and helpful, it’s a very slick operation. The location is amazing and I just can’t fault the experience – I can’t wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeSayItAsItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thankyou for writing this lovely review....it explains how we roll here and what a great time was had by all :) We look forward to having you back again next year! Be good, stay adventuring!lots of love libby and the PV team Xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

For a weekend away that isn’t JUST about beer and great eating (but still has both in copious quantities) this is the trip. Try something new or re-try something you’ve done before in a beautiful location with excellent people.

The lodge is basic but homely with everything you need (endless free tea and coffee and biscuits hugely important). The food is exactly what you want after a couple of hours in a kayak in the chilly Atlantic with the seals or after throwing yourself off a rock into the water when you go coasteering. It’s hearty, homely and sits very nicely with a few beers. You can even help your digestion after dinner with a 20 minute walk to the local beach where there are plenty of stones to skim across the waves and one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen.

The people who run Preseli Ventures are the ones who make it really great though. Libby for one has endless enthusiasm and never seems stops smiling! In fact all the instructors obviously love what they do and make you love it too. They are patient and never leave anyone behind. Each activity has enough for the novice and those with a bit more experience. Don’t worry if you are not a gym freak or the fittest person in the class, in fact even if swimming isn’t your favourite thing, you’ll be fine!

Your heart will definitely beat faster – even if just when you clap eyes on the size of the chocolate brownies!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Wow what a lovely review...we spotted this one when it came through but must have forgotten to comment!! reading it puts a smile on our faces here at PV HQ..so thankyou for such wonderful words about your stay and do come back and see us again one day soon! Much love and brownie hugs Libby and the Preseli Venture team Xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A group of friends and I came down from Ireland for the study abroad weekend at Preseli Venture and we had an absolutely incredible trip. We did kayaking and coasteering which was excellent fun. Jon and Paul, our instructors, were hilarious and happy to help us, especially in coasteering. The accommodation was warm and clean, the common area was really inviting and the log burner kept us toasty warm all weekend. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable, and the facilities such as the drying room and bathrooms were great. We were totally spoiled by the menu for the weekend - the chef is spectacular and the delicious food was even more appreciated after a day of water sports.
On Sunday, we were unable to go home to Ireland due to the bad weather, and the staff were extraordinary - checking the ferry, helping us to decide on a course of action and calling us a ferry. We ended up leaving for the ferry in the middle of the night, and the extra night's charge was very kindly waived. One of the staff even drove us to the local pub so we could get some dinner! The staff left us fruit, cold drinks and a basket of logs as we waited to go to the ferry.
We had a spectacular weekend, and the kindness of the staff was really appreciated. I absolutely would recommend Preseli Venture to everyone looking for a weekend with a difference. The price, quality and experience offered by Preseli Venture is second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Wow....this is such a great review I can't help but have a massive smile on my face! Thankyou so much for coming to see us and writing some beautiful words in your review. Glad that you made it back to Ireland in the end, the weather was crazy! If you ever fancy popping back to see us we would love to see you here again! Lots of love from Libby and the rest of the Preseli team xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Preseli Venture Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preseli Venture Eco Lodge

Address: Parcynole Fach, Mathry, Fishguard SA62 5HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Mathry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mathry
Hotel Class:5 star — Preseli Venture Eco Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preseli Venture is Wales' only VisitWales graded 5 star eco lodge activity centre, built with sustainability in mind. We offer comfy accommodation, great home cooked food, friendly staff, and bonfires under the stars. We offer a great base from which to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, and you're also welcome indulge your adventurous side and join us for some coasteering, sea kayaking or surfing! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing