We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mathry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Preseli Venture Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went as part of a large work group so we had the entire place to ourselves.

We did stayed two nights and did coasteering, sea kayaking and a coastal walk, and I just had the most amazing time! We started gently with the coastal walk, you have the choice of 5 or 7 miles. We chose 5 as I suffer with a bad knees, and this was more than manageable – it’s a simple route following the coastal path, not too taxing, and the views are amazing.

Jon was our instructor for both coasteering and kayaking, and he really is a top bloke - really enthusiastic, professional and funny. I felt safe enough with him to take on all of the challenges, he somehow convinced me to jump off the highest point in coasteering. Even when our kayak capsized and I was being tossed around in a ‘washing machine’, I wasn’t too concerned as I knew help was at hand.

In both activities, you had the option to challenge yourself, or if you didn’t feel confident, there was an alternative. Although you are encouraged to take the challenge, there is no pressure. Let’s face it though, the whole point of the experience is to push yourself - even with my numerous sporting injuries and being one of the older members of the group, I was happy to have a go at everything presented! We were lucky enough to see an inquisitive seal close by, which just topped the day off.

The food was really good, warm and filling, balanced well to fuel and re-fuel you for the activities. You can help yourself to fruit, tea and coffee and squash whenever you want so there is plenty to keep you going. The bar is well-stocked and includes some lovely local brews, there is a pool table and plenty of board games to entertain you in the evening (although most people were exhausted and in bed before 10pm, preparing for the following day!). Beds are bunks, the showers and toilets are on the ground floor.

You are provided with all of the kit you need (check the website for what you should bring), take plenty of warm clothing regardless of the weather - even though the sun was shining and it was warm, I was still shivering well after kayaking, and a couple of towels – note for the shy, you take your wetsuits off and change in a lane / carpark so be prepared!

All of the staff are really friendly and helpful, it’s a very slick operation. The location is amazing and I just can’t fault the experience – I can’t wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeSayItAsItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thankyou for writing this lovely review....it explains how we roll here and what a great time was had by all :) We look forward to having you back again next year! Be good, stay adventuring!lots of love libby and the PV team Xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

For a weekend away that isn’t JUST about beer and great eating (but still has both in copious quantities) this is the trip. Try something new or re-try something you’ve done before in a beautiful location with excellent people.

The lodge is basic but homely with everything you need (endless free tea and coffee and biscuits hugely important). The food is exactly what you want after a couple of hours in a kayak in the chilly Atlantic with the seals or after throwing yourself off a rock into the water when you go coasteering. It’s hearty, homely and sits very nicely with a few beers. You can even help your digestion after dinner with a 20 minute walk to the local beach where there are plenty of stones to skim across the waves and one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen.

The people who run Preseli Ventures are the ones who make it really great though. Libby for one has endless enthusiasm and never seems stops smiling! In fact all the instructors obviously love what they do and make you love it too. They are patient and never leave anyone behind. Each activity has enough for the novice and those with a bit more experience. Don’t worry if you are not a gym freak or the fittest person in the class, in fact even if swimming isn’t your favourite thing, you’ll be fine!

Your heart will definitely beat faster – even if just when you clap eyes on the size of the chocolate brownies!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Wow what a lovely review...we spotted this one when it came through but must have forgotten to comment!! reading it puts a smile on our faces here at PV HQ..so thankyou for such wonderful words about your stay and do come back and see us again one day soon! Much love and brownie hugs Libby and the Preseli Venture team Xxxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A group of friends and I came down from Ireland for the study abroad weekend at Preseli Venture and we had an absolutely incredible trip. We did kayaking and coasteering which was excellent fun. Jon and Paul, our instructors, were hilarious and happy to help us, especially in coasteering. The accommodation was warm and clean, the common area was really inviting and the log burner kept us toasty warm all weekend. The bedrooms were warm and comfortable, and the facilities such as the drying room and bathrooms were great. We were totally spoiled by the menu for the weekend - the chef is spectacular and the delicious food was even more appreciated after a day of water sports.
On Sunday, we were unable to go home to Ireland due to the bad weather, and the staff were extraordinary - checking the ferry, helping us to decide on a course of action and calling us a ferry. We ended up leaving for the ferry in the middle of the night, and the extra night's charge was very kindly waived. One of the staff even drove us to the local pub so we could get some dinner! The staff left us fruit, cold drinks and a basket of logs as we waited to go to the ferry.
We had a spectacular weekend, and the kindness of the staff was really appreciated. I absolutely would recommend Preseli Venture to everyone looking for a weekend with a difference. The price, quality and experience offered by Preseli Venture is second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Wow....this is such a great review I can't help but have a massive smile on my face! Thankyou so much for coming to see us and writing some beautiful words in your review. Glad that you made it back to Ireland in the end, the weather was crazy! If you ever fancy popping back to see us we would love to see you here again! Lots of love from Libby and the rest of the Preseli team xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A group of us were at Preseli from the 21st - 23rd March 2012. WOW - we did the adrenelin cocktail - Kayaking, Coasteering and Hiking, it was absolutley amazing. I had never done coasteering before, it was scary to start with, but the more you did it the more you wanted to do it, a real buzz, John our instructor was great, encouraged us to do things, that we throught we could not do, such a great sense of achievement afterwards, and never been so tired in my life. The whole experience was brilliant, food was wholesome and good, compliments to the chef who was helping out working from 6 in the morning to 6 at night, then off to do another job in the evening - fair play. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing to much trouble. Accomodation was good, shower rooms excellent, drying room was a must. Again amazing experience, and can't wait to go back again. Loved every minute.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thankyou for coming along and thanks for a great review :) Always nice to see such great words! Glad that you enjoyed your coasteering after a few encouraging words! We look forward to seeing you back here one day soon! Libby and the Preseli Venture team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have just had my stag weekend at Preseli Venture and it was full of great laughs and memories that will stay with me forever. If you want a (stag)weekend with a difference and not of the norm this place is perfect.. From the minute we arrived(22 of us) we were looked after(especially by Libby who was great! Oh and the barman... Oh and the cook) the food was amazing and the rooms clean and comfy. The activities will stay with me forever, Coasteering is an experience everyone who can should try, absolutley loved it and it's a great hangover cure!
I can't give this place enough praise, all of the staff/instructors made us feel welcome and did a great job! Whatever the occasion this place is well worth a visit, I'm planning my next visit after the wedding with my wife.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Well thankyou very much, what lovely things to say :) It was a fantastic weekend with lots of memories made for sure...we all wish you luck with the wedding and look forward to you bringing back the wife and friends for more adventures! Big hugs Libby and the Preseli Venture team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were staying with family & friends over the long Easter weekend, in a rented cottage just a few miles away and I decided that it would be nice to add a little excitement to our trip by booking a coasteering experience with Preselli Venture. What a chance booking that turned out to be! Despite a few reservations about the weather (chucking it down), temperature (single figures centigrade) and general fear of heights (we had stumbled upon other 'coasteerers' launching themselves off of sea cliffs the day before!) - we had an amazing time to a man! What a thrill! Emma & Mark, our expert instructors not only managed to coax us whimps into the sea (which after the initial shock wasn't too bad after all!) but had us 'white water' riding huge waves over rocks, climbing up & jumping off all manor of rocks, precarious looking ledges etc, swimming into caves and even through a tunnel under an island!! Now we realise it's a lodge too with loads of other activities (and a bar!) we can't wait to return with loads of like minded friends again in the summer....

Stayed: April 2012
Thank MacTuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Oooo thanks for coming along, glad you found us and decided to add some excitement to your hols!We look forward to you bringing lots of friends back this summer to try all our activities and accomodation too! Lets hope for some sunshine too perhpas!Best wishes Libby and the Preseli Venture team xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We did the adrenaline cocktail activities, and had a great time.

Knowledgeable and fun staff, good accomodation, great food and equipment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_eno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, General Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thanks for popping by and having fun with us :) It was great to have you along...come visit us again soon Libby and the Preseli venture team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mathry
4.9 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
126 reviews
24.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
9.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
2.8 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old School Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preseli Venture Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preseli Venture Eco Lodge

Address: Parcynole Fach, Mathry, Fishguard SA62 5HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Mathry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mathry
Hotel Class:5 star — Preseli Venture Eco Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preseli Venture is Wales' only VisitWales graded 5 star eco lodge activity centre, built with sustainability in mind. We offer comfy accommodation, great home cooked food, friendly staff, and bonfires under the stars. We offer a great base from which to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, and you're also welcome indulge your adventurous side and join us for some coasteering, sea kayaking or surfing! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing