We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Grinton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a pub”
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We visited The Bridge Inn while we were staying in Grinton for a week. Although we didnt have anything to eat in the pub the food looked very nice and looking at the menu it all sounded delicious with a few game dishes on there. We found the pub very friendly. Friendly staff and friendly locals. Good selection of real ales. We stayed for the music night which was local musicians playing traditional song which was great to hear. Dogs and muddy boots were all made welcome which made for a relaxing atmosphere. Lovely welcoming log fire.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    14
    11
    13
See reviews for
37
72
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

First the positives:- the location is fantastic for walking, mountain biking and visiting the Dales. The food was very good, restaurant quality traditional foods. The beer was very good, a good mix of well kept real ales and Peroni lager.

The negatives: The room was very 1980's in décor with varnished pine 3x2s and framing screwed to the ceiling to look like beams, wall paper hanging off the walls, lino peeling up round the edges, mildew in the bathroom, ugly furniture and tired looking carpet. On top of this it was not very clean and a general lack of attention to detail had been paid. You could argue that this is only a country pub, what do you expect? But actually it was quite expensive in the end and this is where the more disturbing part is.

On booking via telephone, I was quoted a price, which was very reasonable and you may have overlooked some of the shortcomings. Upon settling the bill this price had increased 30% and the bloke was completely intransigent, insisting it was impossible I had been quoted the original amount. We had a similar incident with this pub last year when they charged us for 13 mains although there were only 12 of us and when challenged retorted 'someone must have had it' well probably but not one of our group. A similar intransigent customer service resulted in us all chipping in £1 and no tip.

In summary, there is huge potential here for this to be a fantastic pub & inn if the owners matched the quality of the food with the accommodation and service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrk2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyswale, Owner at The Bridge Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our prices are clearly stated on our website, in brochures on the bar and in the booklets in the rooms. In addition all my staff that handle bookings understand our pricings,however there has obviously been some confusion somewhere but I feel we have done everything to make our room tarifs freely available. I do remember this incident and that you were very unhappy, perhaps a little angry with the outcome and I am sorry that you felt the need to air your views on trip advisor.
However, our rooms are often inspected and whilst cannot be considered luxurious, are honest, simple, clean and that particular room may be a bit 80's in style, but we are an unpretentious Country Inn serving good food in a relaxed friendly environment not a Malmaison.

Which is why we have had repeat business from guests which comeback and stay every year, some of whom have done for the last nine years that I have been here. I just wish more of them would write to this site!

However I still regret that we were unable to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Great location and well worth the 10 minute walk from Reeth given some of the reviews of pub accomodation there. Fantastic food - steak and Pork were excellent. Can eat in bar or resturant. Good beer to wash it down with
Dog friendly
Room nicely appointed - hairdryer didnt work but another already supplied- shower a bit tempremental!!
Only drawback is the church clock opposite chimes the hour (and half hour and seemed like quarter past and quarter to throughout the night!!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at this pub on the Herriot Way walk and found it to be a great, 'proper' pub, friendly and unassuming. The rooms are simple but got everything you need and the pub is agreat place to relax and get great food after a long day's walking - lovely

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genista082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Stayed at The Bridge Inn with my partner and two dogs. When we arrived Sunday lunches were being served which looked excellent. The bar was full of what seemed to be a mixture of locals and tourists eating and drinking giving a good atmosphere. Plenty of dogs in the bar who all seemed to be welcome. Our bedroom was quite basic but clean and fine for us. The food during our stay was very good with a range of food from bar meals to more restauranty options, which was well cooked with fresh vegetables. There was also a good selection of real ales including a couple of guest ales on top of the in house Jennings choices and also a decent wine list. The dogs were welcome throughout the bar and rooms but not the restaurant although the same menu was available in restaurant/bar. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of food. The Bridge Inn is in a great position for walking in Swaledale, just a mile or so from Reeth and surrounded by beautiful views.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JobellsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
630 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

The Bridge Inn is one of surprisingly few pubs with accommodation in and around Swaledale in the North Yorkshire dales, one of the most charming and unspoilt corners of England. In a fine old building at the eastern end of the valley, the Bridge Inn offers very comfortable rooms, an excellent breakfast and good pub food in the cosy bar area. Very nice staff and management.

Our room was on the side of the hotel beside the B-road that runs through Grinton, but on a Sunday night in December we didn't notice any traffic noise.

Beautiful walks and drives nearby, either through Swaledale west towards Thirsk or turning right at Reeth into the wilder Arkengarthdale towards County Durham.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We booked here because it accepted pets. The food was good, but then things went downhill. We were unable to get to sleep (including the dog) until 1am because of noise from the bar. When we brought this up the next morning the staff were unsympathetic. We were told that we shouldn't expect to get a decent night's sleep in a pub! We had been booked to stay for 3 nights, but went elsewhere after the first night, so they charged us £160 for one night's stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank User42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinton
12.7 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
243 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 10 in Reeth
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Low Row
284 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#41 of 204 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Inn

Property: The Bridge Inn
Address: Grinton | Swaledale, Grinton, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Grinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing