We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dogs bollocks”
Review of The Oak Tree Inn

The Oak Tree Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Seasonally-led food served in intimate surroundings. Bookings only.
swaledale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The dogs bollocks”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Thanks ali and Claire for another amazing meal,fantastic food and service .
Nothing compares for miles around.
Go now

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adeandgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This has to be one of the best restaurants I have ever dined in. I have been a few times as I have been working in County Durham for a few months and a real gem of a find. Everything about this place excels; the welcome, service, food, beer and wine. What they do with the local produce is fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I keep going back”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ive now been to The Oak Tree three times, despite it being a bit of a trek from where I live - every time Ive found the food, atmosphere and service exquisite, from the canapes, the bread, starters, mains and dessert. Ive visited a few michelin star restaurants and this honestly mixes it with the best. Honest, perfectly cooked, hearty food, rather than fussy dribbles and lumps on a plate, I couldnt recommend this place higher. The wine list is also well thought out and very reasonably priced. Bravo guys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate here last week and it was a superb meal. From the warm welcome from Claire, to the great cooking by Alistair we (party of four) enjoyed everything. Good selection of wines at reasonable prices (though you can push the boat out if you prefer!) Local produce used wherever possible, and menu changes to reflect what is in season. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorkshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The Oak Tree Inn is by far the best food I have tasted. This place really is a hidden gem.

No large menu and the service is excellent by Claire with fresh local produce cooked to perfection by Alister.

you have around 6 choices for starter, main and dessert and if you are vegetarian like my wife you can request further veggie choices when you make your booking. The food is that good that my veggie wife started eating meat at the Oak tree and now is trying meat again elsewhere. We have always enjoyed each meal we have had and the little treats whilst you are choosing what you want is a nice touch.

The fresh bread and houmous is superb.

we have not been for a while but writing this makes me hungry so I will be booking up soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Treboryesnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Tree Inn also viewed

East Layton, Richmond
Winston, County Durham
 
Darlington, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to The Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing