We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Added to our special list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak Tree Inn

The Oak Tree Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Seasonally-led food served in intimate surroundings. Bookings only.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Added to our special list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a really good meal last week, food great, service great, ambiance great. Wife has alrewady started talking about going back, which is always a good sign. I know if you look on the internet at the prices like me you will probably think it a little expensive, but i must say that it was worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to go when you need something a little special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service along side wonderful food and you have a special night out. Food that is way different from what you can cook a home. Excellent produce so the high prices are justified. Been before will be back again. Xxx

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our visit in October was again superb. We have eaten here before,and again were suitably impressed. From your entry Into the restaurant you are treat as special guests. Our pre-dinner drinks, in front of a roaring coal fire were accompanied by delicious canapés, all home made by the excellent chef. We chose our meal, small menu but still spoilt for choice,not knowing which option to go for. We, after a comfortable wait were shown to our table, and delivered our starters. Fine dining it is, beautiful presentation , and looking and smelling so good. We were then brought a selection of home ma bread, in truth, different flavours presented with butter, soooo delicious. Main course, lamb, delicious followed by dare I say a delicious dessert.We chose our own wine, and finished off our gourmet meal.with a coffee, which was presented by home made sweet meats, and the cutest ice cream ball on a stick, again if I can say , all home made. This is the most pleasant experience, full marks to staff for their attention quality of food, such a feel good factor.
our party of 4 would give the whole experience 10 out of 10. We will return.Well done

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamsterley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recommended to us, we were not disappointed. Although two roads were closed to get there it was well worth the detour! On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. We had our drinks, lovely nibbles and the menus brought to us whilst sat on leather sofas in front of a lovely real log fire. Wonderful fresh and various bread was brought to the table. I had mussels for starters, Sea Bass for main course and peanut butter parfait for desert, all delicious! Do expect to pay more than regular pub food (£21.50 main course) but again well worth it! We were a party of four and all said 'we'll be back'! Lovely hospitality.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you appriciate good food then this is the place for you, small but cosy with food to totally tickle your taste buds, the menu is not too big and the bread and home made homus appertiser is so morish ... super wine too !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donsque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Tree Inn also viewed

Winston, County Durham
East Layton, Richmond
 
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing