We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Farna Herrgard & Spa(Skinnskatteberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagga Skola(Skinnskatteberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
48
12
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmake your ownthe perfect place to staydrinking waterchopped woodsleeping bagsmall hutclosest thingmoosefiresforestwildlifefireplacehutsandreasnaturelakesauna
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 63 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Worked at Kolarbyn as a volunteer for 3 weeks and a half in june 2012. It was a wonderfull experience and Andreas, Anders and Marcus was very nice. Everything is so the different into the forest, lights, smells... one of the best time in my life thank you

Room Tip: its hard to give a quotation about prices, rooms... because it's an eco lodge and you won't have any luxurious stuff, everything is rustic. But romantic adventure into the wood cabin looked very nice for traveling lovers.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remi1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in the huts for 3 nights end of June and loved the place. No running water & no electricity, you have to chop a log of wood & light a fire each time you want to eat, get the water from the source and have a swim in the lake to get clean. Andreas, the owner is extremely kind and helpful. I strongly recommend this place to all nature lovers. It is quite refreshing to be away from the civilisation for a few days and take the time to enjoy the simple things of life.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChandeBle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Right in the middle of the "troll forest" (as said by the "receptionnist", an experience city people like us will never forget ! Chop your own wood, start a fire, and you're all set for cooking dinner and lighting you little hut's fireplace.

Don't expect cosiness (ie: bring sleeping bags and accept the fact that the piece of wood supposed to be the door doesn't lock nor goes up to the ceiling) but adventure ! Our receptionist , who leaves the camp at night, explained wolves sometimes get around the huts but that they were harmless...

Breakfast is fantastic with its own dedicated hut.

Going to the ecological toilet is yet another memorable experience...

They say it's Sweden's most primitive hotel , it's really cool but no need to overextend your stay , 1 or 2 nights is enough.

Another tip: our youngest son was 20 months and... that was a bit tricky because he couldn't really run around without hurting himself because of roots and stones. 3 or 4 years old would have been better. This said, both our kids really enjoyed the experience (the eldest is 5)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sevellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My partner and I just returned from our stay at Kolarbyn. Couln't recommend it higher. Nice to get away from it all and expreience nature...without all the fuss of tents, campsite, etc. We stayed in the log cabin; which was amazing. Marcus was very helpful and informative on any questions we had. We added the Moose tour one night. Although a bit expensive, the experience was well worth it. Saw 10-12 moose that night. If you are looking to get away from the normal hotel weekend abroad, then this is for you. As long as you don't mind no electricity, running water, toilets, and making your own fires...then it should fit right in. Some recommendations: bring bug spray and baby wipes/hand wipes. Swim/bath in the lake is worth a try...very cold...but worth it. We also took a hike around the lake...total 1 hr+. Hope you have a great stay like we did in Kolarbyn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacTravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

A wonderful experience in charcoal-burners' huts in the forest; you stay in a cosy little hut with two wooden 'beds', a fireplace, candles and a lamp. Facilities are a little wooden outhouse, and showers are replaced by a dip in the lake (although there communal showers at the hostel ~3km away). Obviously it's not to everyone's taste, but if you enjoy being outdoors, experiencing wildlife and getting back to basics, you should definitely consider staying here!

We were with a group and only booked in for two nights - apparently this is common, as sleeping on wooden boards (albeit lined with sheepskin rugs) is obviously not as comfortable as a mattress. Be aware that in the newspaper article in the links, the journalist stayed in the “honeymoon cabin” with treats delivered to you and mattresses on the bed. All of the other huts are more basic (but no less appealing in our opinion!).

Marcus, the owner and guide, is fantastic; with his help we saw a great range of wildlife including moose, roe deer, beavers and hares. There are a number of wildlife tours to choose from, and you can also go hiking and blueberry-picking.

Kolarbyn's own website is extremely comprehensive and engaging, well worth a visit before you make up your mind! We loved our stay and were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank starmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews