We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great adventure”
Review of Baleal Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baleal Surf Camp
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Baleal
Certificate of Excellence
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great adventure”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am writing in English for everyone to understand that this is one of the most beautiful place in the world. My 10 year daughter Oceane was delighted with the the lessons and with the care of the instructors Adelaide, Manel and Steven. O Bar do Bruno is a place where you feel alive, in peace. This is one of the places where anyone should go, at least once. Good waves for all of you. We will miss you a lot.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oceana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
22
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The people are awesome, the place is awesome, the instructors are awesome. Just go there and you will have one of the best times of your life. You will meet lots of young and great people from around the world. Simply unforgettable.

Room Tip: You can chose individual rooms or bunkbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciscoSalgueiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks to all at the Baleal Surf Camp, we had a GREAT time. The whole family loved it. Our boys were given individual attention, the food was yummie, the location gorgeous, even I joined in and was hooked by the end of the week. Can't wait til next year to go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatwifelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I consider myself a very lucky girl 'cause I won a one week stay in the best surf camp ever: Baleal Surf Camp.

This was my first surf experience and it's been made simply unforgettable by the amazing people I got the chance to meet in Baleal and by the great waves that I surfed there.

Baleal is such a lovely place, the beach is beautiful and the sunsets are breath-taking.The hostel accomodation provided by Baleal Surf Camp is really nice: the 2 surf houses are 5/8 mins from the beach by walk, and they are very clean and comfortable. In addition to this, the staff is awesome, especially the surf instructors, and the same goes for the bartenders who work at Bar Do Bruno (the food is delicious here!). Speaking of the surf instructors, like I said they're all super friendly and very skilled (they're so passionate about surfing and teaching to other people, you'll notice that!), they'll teach you the best way possible and they'll treat you as if you're part of a big, lovely international family composed by surfers and people who love exchanging good vibes.
Also, you're gonna get addicted to surfing since you'll never have enough of the waves and you'll instantly get used to have the ocean all day every day, and so close to your accomodation.

Because of the beach, the waves and the people, you're gonna love Baleal Surf Camp so much and you'll wish you could stay there forever. I guarantee it's gonna be a life-changing experience, 'cause that's exactly what it was for me. I've been there in June 2013 and I'm already thinking about booking for 2 more weeks as soon as possible. I'm warning you: you'll get addicted to Baleal Surf Camp - just like me - 'cause it's such a special place!

Last but not least: big shout-out to the sweetest and most amazing surf instructors ever, Audrey and Monica. You girls are great surfers great teachers and now great friends! You both rock!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMermaidAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first surf camp experience and I stayed for a month it was that amazing! The staff both at the surf camp and the accommodation we always very helpful and friendly. The surf classes were always well structured with the aim of improving your surfing ability. All of the surf instructors were very knowledgeable and encouraging. Felippe the head coach was a great help to me over the month, taking the class skateboarding (to improve turns), out for dinner and even got me a Fatum test board for a few weeks.
The location of the camp ensures there is almost always a place to surf within walking distance and if not the classes move to a nearby location on a surf trip which enables you to surf different conditions and types of waves.
Baleal Surf Camp is a must do, a life changing experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

really amazing place to stay, everyone is so friendly, the accommodation is great the instructors are brilliant! couldn't recommend more. accomodation is really close to the beach and surf school, as well as the supermarket bars and restaurants. the instructors are really helpful and attentive, and our classes were small. the food in the bar is delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I wanted to thank so much everybody for this amazing 2 weeks in Baleal, it was truly a life changing experience (as somebody already said and a lot more will say). Everything of that place is more than perfect, the people, friends, locals, the nature,bars, the hostels... But more than anything SURFING! Which place has so many spots in a 15km radius? Which place has maybe the most prepared, welcoming, patient and funny teachers of Europe?In which place you feel at home right from the first hour of your stay?I would like to thank again all the teachers, the staff and all the awesome friends I made here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
1.6 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
5.7 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bsurf House
Bsurf House
#1 of 21 in Baleal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximum Surfcamp
Maximum Surfcamp
#3 of 21 in Baleal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleal Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleal Surf Camp

Property: Baleal Surf Camp
Address: Rua Amigos do Baleal 2 | Peniche, Baleal, Peniche 2520-052, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Baleal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleal Surf Camp is a family run local business in Peniche Portugal, based on prime location in Europe’s most consistent and flexible surf spot. It was the first surf camp established in Portugal in 1993. By focusing on quality service and the environment it has grown to become one of the best known and loved surf schools on Europe's Atlantic coast. Teaching people how to surf here in Peniche and making sure they have the best possible surfing holidays is our main goal and what we thrive on. The surfcamp has a laid-back vibe and accommodation for all tastes and budgets. We welcome everyone from singles to families, experts to novices, a great surfing vacation is waiting for you here in Baleal beach, Peniche-Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baleal Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleal Surf Camp Hotel Baleal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing