We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Adventure Puketi tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Adventure Puketi
from $55.20
More Info
from $119.30
More Info
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
108
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night walk flora and fauna snails kauri trees new zealand hour hike grew up short notice great guide unique experience spa pool creepy crawlies ian barbara spiders birds kiwi
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018

This was truly the best nature tour. We walked thru the rain forest with Ian and a local botanist, both obviously loved what they were doing. The highlight was finding the smallest orchid in the world. And did I mention that the owner Barbara, brought delicious homemade muffins for snack after the tour?

1  Thank TaranOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review . Puketi Forest is untouched and unknown, a hidden gem for nature lovers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

A very enjoyable 1/2 day guided walk with guide Ian. Ian was a local beef farmer and one of the co-founders of the conservation society looking after the forest. He was extremely knowledgeable and knew just how much information to give without becoming boring.

We were in a small group of 6 and we were taken to a different part of the forest away from the big tour busses which made it very authentic. The walk was about 3km long initially across Ian's land then straight into the forest. Good footwear is required as ground is uneven and wet. Paths are covered in bark and clear of vegetation.

Half way through the walk we had homemade muffins and offered tea/coffee, homemade muffins or chocolate cake on our return to base before Barbara drove us back to the ship.

Thank heg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you for the review, a great tour for the cruise ship passengers to get into the nature away from the crowds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our five hour hike with Ian to see the forest of northern New Zealand, and especially to visit the 4th oldest tree in NZ, an enormous Kauri tree estimated to be 3,000 years old! We learned a great deal about the flora and fauna of New Zealand, along with a great deal of other information about the country. The walk was primarily along a forestry road so quite manageable but we enjoyed the portion of the hike to see the large Kauri trees which took us down into some more rugged territory without being too taxing. We’d recommend this hike to anyone visiting the area.

Thank kskCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Thanks for the review & photoes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

Really enjoyed this guided and highly informative rainforest walk.
Our guide Ian is a passionate environmentalist and that is clear from his enthusiasm on
discussing all aspects of the rainforest and its inhabitants.
We did this walk in pouring rain but it probably enhanced the whole rainforest experience...ponchos provided! Loved the home made cookies too!
Keep up the excellent work Ian!!

Thank Ewan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you for the review, the forest needs the rain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about our experience in the Puketi Forest. Ian’s passion for the trees, fauna and flora of his forest is contagious. The whole family enjoyed the walk, the deep knowledge imparted and the beauty of the majestic trees. The Kauri trees are simply impressive!

Ian’s efforts to not only preserve the forest but to help it regain the vigour and natural variety of its origins is inspiring. It made me want to know more about this unique environment and to spend more time in nature.

We walked at a leisurely pace, with the visit punctuated by many stops to notice berries, insects, birds, trees of course, and traces left by animals. Ian made every stop worthwhile. Although I must admit I already forgot the name of many of the plants, I know much more now about this forest and about the impact of imported predators on the balance of its ecosystem.

The booking was fast and seamless, the track felt safe and easy for the children. So if you are interested in nature, don’t mind to walk just a little, this is a perfect choice. I really can’t find anything to suggest to help improve the experience.

Thank Yasser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Thank you so much for the fabulous review, most of all, we are glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017

We spent two nights at the Puketi Heights B&B. Barbara was the perfect host and the B&B very comfortable, guests even have their own living area and access to a spa pool. Barbara is very friendly and even made us a delicious antipasti platter on short notice. Ian took us on a night walk through the forest which was fantastic. Learnt so much. Highly recommend both the B&B and the night walk.

Thank KG_Chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Thank you very much for your review, we loved having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Ian of Adventure Walks was waiting for us when we arrived by tender from the cruise ship. As we were the only guests, he modified the program to accommodate my husband’s sore back. He also took into account my love of birds during the whole trip by going out of his way to look for and point out different species. The walk in the forest is beautiful and the Kauri trees incredible. This would be called a hike in North America and good footwear is essential. Ian also found a dead branch for us to use as walking sticks. Ian was brought up in the area and thus has a store of knowledge of the animals, plants and history. At the end of the walk we enjoyed Barb’s justly famous muffins before our drive back to town and the ship. But, the tour was not over! There was a craft market in town and Ian took us to a woodcrafter’s stall and showed us various items made from fallen or swamp retrieved forest woods. We were especially interested in the items made from swamp kauri. I could go on about this very special excursion, but my advice is to meet Ian and see for yourself! Many thanks for a great day, Ian.

Thank pth2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review.
Private Tours are special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Went on the afternoon half day walk, just the two of us. Didn't really know what to expect, but it certainly surpassed any expectations we may have had. It was fascinating to learn more about the forest and the flora and fauna in it, and to learn also of the history and some of the potential future.
Ian is a great guide, and gives you just the right amount of information, answering any question, however stupid. As he grew up in the area, he knows it like the back of his hand, and it was a privilege to be able to learn from his experience. He was very patient with my husband and his frequent photo taking! Very tasty muffins, baked by his wife Barbara- a lovely touch. Time flew by, and we were sad to finish.
Recommended for anyone who wants to know more about nature from the expert.

Thank AJWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Director of Sales at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you very much, a pleasure having you in Puketi Kauri rain forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

Since it's still off season, I reached out to Barbara to ask about availability. She was kind enough to host us at their B&B despite not being open yet for the season! So nice! The accommodation is lovely - clean, spacious, cozy. Bathroom is really nice. Jacuzzi outside was amazing to soak in after our night walk. Breakfast the next morning was filling and delicious, stocked with homemade or locally sourced goodies.

Speaking of the night walk... WOW. What an experience. Definitely worth doing (and no need to stay at the B&B to sign up as the walking tours can be done separately.)

Ian, our guide, and the other owner of the place, grew up playing in this forest as a kid so he knew everything about it and was really passionate about maintaining it and protecting it. The walk is what you make of it... the more interest you have, the more you will see. It was amazing seeing the nightlife come out as it got darker. We saw lots of weta, walking sticks, snails, spiders, plus some Kauri trees, of course!

Overall a really unique experience and definitely worth checking out!

Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review.
We loved having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous experience! We did the night walk with Ian and what a knowledgeable and nice person. We learnt all about the forest, the birds (didnt see any but it was pitch black), the bees and everything inbetween. We also saw lots of creepy crawlies. Not once did i feel unsafe during the walk. We were even lucky enough to hear a male Kiwi calling. I would recommend this to anyone in the bay of islands. P.s wear good walking shoes.

Thank Julialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Thank you for the Review.
The Night walk is our Signature walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews