We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orveas Bay Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Shirley
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
91
5
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain's quartershot tubpiece of heavenhearts and soulspine treesbbq mealport renfrewlittle touchesspent wonderful daysthought of everythingthe cottagesbooks and magazinesgardens surroundingpeaceful locationbeautiful resortjuan de fuca straitboard games
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 97 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I had a group gathering this past weekend, and we were all was so thrilled not only by June and Ron's hospitality, but by the amazing accommodations and breathtaking location (we rented the entire Beach House, well worth it). Everything was perfect, just like staying in someone's perfectly equipped and very comfortable and roomy home.
You will love the artistry of these handcrafted and artsy home structures and gardens.. not to mention the great hot tub overlooking the straight. Take the walk to the beach, but bring the walking stick, it's kinda steep! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Orveas Bay many times over the last several years and went again last week..This place is an absolute gem. When we first went..we had no idea what to expect as it is down a country road..but the discovery was worth it. There are many "home" touches in the rooms and the grounds are lovely. The Wiliams are very hospitable and we look forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTracita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This past weekend was my third visit to Orveas Bay. I have stayed with friends in each of the two cottages. I now want to make this a quraterly escape!

The drive from Victoria is peaceful and arriving to the natural , private setting is instantly calming to me.

We always prepare a simple meal and eat overlooking the ocean. The touches in the cottages are so subtle yet ensure you feel at home.

The sound of crickets and the ocean are soothing and make it difficult to leave.

I recommend this getaway to everyone for an escape for one or a family reunion.

Room Tip: Each accomodation ensures the same privacy and beauty
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

What a great find! Looked long and hard for available accommodation for a one night stay on a Saturday night in August. A seemingly dauntless task. Called Sooke Tourism and they had a list of available rooms. We called enroute and booked their last cabin. The website looked good. Seemed the right place for us to relax on a short getaway from Nanaimo and a day at Botanical Beach.

Well for $150 a night plus HST we think we scored! The cabin was very nicely done up. It is filled (perhaps a bit too much for our tastes) with lots of DVD's books, games, knick knacks from Mexico and Central America, food and a plethora of interesting little bits and bobs. The outside area had lots of spots to sit at, a hammock and a BBQ.

The bed was super comfortable. The sofa bed was comfortable.

We used the kitchen area to prepare a nice BBQ meal, watch the cruise ships go by and the fisherman trying to catch some salmon. Had a hot tub and then curled up to watch the Da Vinci Code. It was a very lovely evening for our family.

The next morning we made pancakes with the mix provided and then drove an hour to Port Renfrew to catch the low tide at Botanical Beach.

We will honestly be back to stay at Orveas Bay again but for a longer period of time. Really a great spot to kick back, relax and enjoy the area. Lots of great stuff to do in the Juan de Fuca area and this is a great base!

Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Great place to stop while driving the Pacific Marine Circle Route!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

When we arrived with three young children after travelling for three days. We were amazed. The cabin was gorgeous they had games and movies and beds for all the kids! There was a great yard for them to run in and view the wildlife. The cabin was larger then we imagined and there was nothing we could have needed. We all agreed that we would come back as often as possible ! Ron and June were so very kind and helpful ! They thought of everything. Sooke is an amzing place to go and people are all so friendly. If you go stop in to Tale of the Whale and tell him we said hi Great guy and awesome stories !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_7488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews