We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and accommodation”
Review of Stoneleigh Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoneleigh Barn
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hosts and accommodation”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this bed & breakfast for two nights at Easter. Lovely accommodation, welcoming hosts, big breakfast that filled us up for the day! Our room was a family room that slept the three of us with our own ensuite bathroom. It was modern, clean, cosy and very welcoming. We could not fault our stay at this beautiful barn and would definately stay again whenever we return to Dorset.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this as a family as we were guests at a wedding nearby. Brilliant choice! Torunn couldn't have been more helpful before and during our stay; organising taxis, accommodating our brother in law and family in a separate booking for the same night, organising a beautiful vegetarian breakfast and being friendly and welcoming without being over bearing and intrusive. Loved the house, the location and the stay! My only very minor (if I was being picky, being put on the spot and had to come up with something) niggle, would be our bed was a little bit squeaky and woke me up when I rolled over! We would without doubt stay again! Thanks :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely accommodation - clean, all facilities, beautiful décor. Homemade cake on arrival, freshly baked bread and fresh fruit salad for breakfast (as well as all the usual choices). Very welcoming and helpful host. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at Stoneleigh Barn for 3 nights in April, and we absolutely loved it. We had our own private family suite with two rooms and a bathroom, all of which were impeccably clean and beautifully decorated, complete with TVs and homemade cookies. There was a small fridge in our room, in which we stored our left-over dinner from the neighboring pub (yum!). Torunn, who runs the B&B, was so friendly and really made us feel welcome. I didn't want to leave to come home! In the morning, she cooked us the MOST delicious breakfasts. My father got the Full English breakfast every morning, and I couldn't get enough of the local sausages. I'm having withdrawals from those breakfasts already. The proximity to Sherborne was perfect; we had the benefit of being five minutes from town, while having a quiet place to sleep at night. If we find ourselves back in Sherborne, we will without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed ay Stoneleigh Barn in late March 2013 for a couple of nights. Torunn, our hostess, was a very warm, welcoming lady who instantly made us feel at home. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the decor was fresh and new, and it had a good sized en-suite. Torunn went to a great deal of trouble to provide us with food for breakfast that met with our dietary requirements. My husband is a vegetarian, so he had a very generous plate of scrambled eggs (from their own chickens), with mushrooms and tomato. I don't eat wheat, so Torunn obtained a wheat free loaf so that I could have toast with my breakfast. I had the eggs with Norwegian smoked salmon, which was delicious.

I personally found the main road a little disturbing as the traffic noise started quite early, however, it didn't bother my husband.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at stoneleigh barns in April. We found the accommodation was of excellent standard blending a traditional barn with contemporary decor and feel. The breakfasts were lovely and set us up perfectly for a day of activities. Torunn is a warm and friendly host and was always there to help in making our stay an absolute pleasure. Overall we couldn't recommend it highly enough and is perfect if you have child (there's a lovely garden for them to explore Special mention to Nellie the little dog who our daughter adored. We will definately return and will be recommending this superb bed and breakfast to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at Stoneleigh Barn with my husband, our 7-month-old daughter, and my parents over a weekend. We were very impressed with the decor and space in our room and my parents were very comfortable in their room as well. We loved the amenities provided, especially the small refrigerator that we were able to store our baby's food in. The baby cot and high chair provided were of great quality. Torunn and David were simply wonderful hosts and made us all feel very welcome like old friends of the family. We had a wonderful time visiting Sherborne and would definitely stay at Stoneleigh Barn again if our travels take us back that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyskuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
680 reviews
8.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneleigh Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneleigh Barn

Property: Stoneleigh Barn
Address: Stoneleigh Barn A3030, North Wootton, Sherborne DT9 5JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > North Wootton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wootton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty welcome awaits you to this Bed and Breakfast which has been recently refurbished to the highest standard. Stoneleigh Barn is approx. 200 years old and is situated about 2 miles from the historic town of Sherborne. Ideally situated for visitors to the area, be they tourists, business people or wedding guests/couples. The popular wedding venues the area has to offer including Stockbridge Farm Barn, Sherborne Castle, Sherborne Abbey, are all within a short distance from us.Our accommodation comprises four rooms - all with en-suite and private shower and bathrooms. Our facilities include Freeview, LCD TVs, free WiFi internet, hairdryers, mini fridge and tea/coffee making facilities,Stoneleigh Barn is set in delightful and relaxing garden where the weary traveler, romantic couple or tourists to the area can enjoy the facilities we have to offer. Drinks on the terrace will be provided at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stoneleigh Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing