We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and food”

Le Restaurant de Philomene
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Restaurant de Philomene is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Chene-Bourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice place and food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went ther twice.
Once with a group of collegues, the second time with my wife.
Real great food and nice serving (which, by the way is a little slow)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointing ....”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It has everything going for it, location, nicely laid out, etc etc. And it seemed ok - smiling service. Wine was nice. We had lots of wine in fact before anything even remotely resembling food arrived at our table which was well over an hour after we had arrived. A peppery carroty amuse bouche was offered which was ok. The starters were reasonable, but the main courses when they finally arrived a couple of hours later were terrible. A few cold shrimps with a warmish peppery thousand island sauce for 33CHF? The steaks were over-peppered and over-tenderised too. I'm happy we didn't hang about for dessert, it was too late, and they didn't look very interesting either. The service wasn't so smiling when we refused dessert and coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was the first time that we went to the secret de philomene.
The Waiters are very nice and we really enjoy the food. It was so nice for American people to enjoy a very nice cheese cake and also the flavours of our dinner.
We really recommended this restaurant.

See you soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“WARNING!!! CHANGE OF OWNER AND HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What thieves! For there is no other name for the new owners. They sell air and want cash...No value for money what so ever. We were outraged and felt so cheated when the dishes arrived. We knew the place before the owner changed - big portions of tasty food and decided to go for lunch there again. What a terrible surprise when we saw the tiny, unseasoned food in front of us for the outrageous price of 33-36 CHF/dish for LUNCH today.

Although we live 5 min away we promise to never go there again and make sure every neighbour knows what thieves these people are.

They didn't bother to ask how the meal was. I guess it was clear from the full plates. It is not acceptable even by low Geneva standards to pay 100 CHF for two for lunch and walk out hungry.

It is certainly one of our worst experiences EVER and worldwide. I hope this place closes real soon and the owners get what they deserve - bankruptcy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissFamilyWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice bites”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It's nice and correct, especially for the Sunday brunch. It's only 18 CHF. For Geneva price, it's not too expensive. The croissant and pain au chocolat are excellent, not too big and not too sweet. The scramble egg is excellent. The service is also good. It's more for relaxing, not so much for those who want to go with full belly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Budi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Restaurant de Philomene also viewed

Chene-Bourg, Canton of Geneva
Chene-Bourg, Canton of Geneva
 
Chene-Bourg, Canton of Geneva
Gaillard, Annemasse
 

Been to Le Restaurant de Philomene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing