We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem not to be missed”
Review of Le Clos Bel Ami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Bel Ami
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here recently, sadly for only night though, on our way home from the Dordogne. As has been said on here already Sylvie & Patrick are wonderful hosts. We had the evening meal, which was amazing, served with more than generous amounts of wine and offers of malt whiskey. The breakfast was just as generous & delicious and all local fresh produce. The rooms were enormous, as was the walk in shower, and spotlessly clean. I would highly recommend this wonderful B&B and we hope to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterWarriors_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hosts Patrick and Sylvia are what make this place special. They could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We were there for two nights with food offered only the first night. The food was absolutely delicious and served in convivial surroundings. No holding back on the wine either! Breakfast too was outstanding. However I don't believe this deserves an excellent rating for the following reasons. Firstly I thought it was overpriced for the accommodation itself. Sylvia does all the cleaning herself and as a result we were instructed not to arrive before 6 pm. She also does not clean the room while you are there. Beds remained unmade which was a bit of a shocker to return home to at the end of an active day. The bedroom while clean and modern lacked proper lighting with no light above the bathroom mirror making it almost impossible to apply makeup in the morning. A sheet separated the bedroom from the bathroom. Sorry but for 130 euros a night a expect a little better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a recent two week family visit to France (from New York City) we decided to rent a car and dedicate 4 days / 3 nights to exploring Normandy instead of solely staying in Paris. We used the internet to find a Normandy B&B and chanced upon Le Clos Bel Ami. We could not have been happier with our selection!

Le Clos Bel Ami is an ideal hideaway retreat in the heart of upper Normandy - an enchanting property nestled on a quaint, quiet country road with beautiful, spacious, modern rooms and a heated pool for relaxing after an exhausting day of exploration. My wife absolutely loved the huge, tiled shower room and our eight year old daughter adored the friendly pet cat Gaspar who followed her about mornings in the lovely garden. We successfully used Le Clos Bel Ami as a base for exploring the natural beauty and historical essence of Normandy (i.e. Honfleur, Falaises d'etretat, American Cemetery / Memorial at Omaha Beach, Pays d'Auge, etc.).

What particularly made our stay at Le Clos Bel Ami most memorable, however, was the charming hospitality, gracious generosity and enjoyable company of our wonderful hosts Sylvie and Patrick. They are family people who made us feel like family and were very welcoming of our young daughter.

Quite knowledgeable of surrounding Normandy they advised on sightseeing options, where to get the best local produce and (for my wife) what cookbooks to get. They appropriately set the mood each night in their tastefully decorated home with candles, fresh cut flowers and just the right music for warm occasions of wonderful conversation, terrific aperitifs and magnificent dinners.

Patrick is a marvelous cook using tasty, local ingredients, inventive recipes and smartly chosen wines to create beautifully presented, delicious meals. There is no doubt we chose without hesitation to eat at Le Clos Bel Ami each night!

Breakfasts are also sumptuous affairs served either indoors or outside in the sunny garden with fresh bread / crepes / pastries, heavenly jams, regional cheeses and fruits, assorted teas and, for our daughter, an ample supply of Nutella!

Sylvie and Patrick were always there for us - but never intrusive. When leaving we felt we had known them for years.

Our great regret is that we did not spend more time relaxing at Le Clos Bel Ami. We would definitely come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during a January 2013 trip to Normandie. Although it was certainly not the ideal time to travel, we had a wonderful experience, thanks in large part to the comfort and coziness of Le Clos Bel Ami. The rooms are spacious and thoroughly modern (as is the house), but very cozy and welcoming. We highly recommend the table d'hote - the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. If you are interested in speaking French, this place is also for you - the hosts are well versed in all topics and more than happy to speak at length with you about local travels, French politics, the list goes on! The location is also quite nice - close enough to be able to visit important landmarks on the region, but also in the country enough to feel like you are getting away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Duroy, which is a bit far to access the wifi if you will be needing that, but I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We - a dutch family of two adults and two kuds - stayed here in 2011 and we had a great time. The hosts are really very friendly and helpfull, and at night we had a delicious french dinner with all the local and regional specialties. The room was nice and spotless. In the direct neighbourhood there is no much to do so you have to drive to the coast or a city. That doesn't mean that it isn't situated well, in fact, it is beautiful for walking and cycling. Maybe one day we go back for a few days. We had a great time, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisgaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Clos Bel Ami for a week with our 2 young children in June. We did lots of research before booking and chose it due to the lovely photos and the outstanding reviews. Despite the weather being unseasonably bad for the time of year, Sylvie and Patrick's made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home that we couldn't help but enjoy ourselves. The heated pool was so warm that the children managed to used it even though the weather was terrible and the garden and house have been beautifully restored with tasteful decorated bedrooms and a huge open plan living area with a stunning fireplace and a large family dining table.

We were greeted each morning by a delicious breakfast of homemade apple tart and pancakes with freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee or a variety of high quality teas. There was always more than we could eat, even though we ate plenty! Patrick was always available to give us advice on where to visit, being very knowledgeable his advice was very welcome and helped us with ideas to fill even the rainiest of days with fun places to take the kids or place of interest.

After settling the kids to bed, Patrick and Sylvie settled us in front of the cosy fireplace with an aperitif and nibbles with the other charming guests before presenting us with a delicious dinner. The table d'hote dinners were always delicious, with freshly prepared local produce, homemade deserts (the chocolate mousse and tarte tatin were heavenly!). There was always a delicious cheese course and even a Normandy palate cleanser of Calvados and apple sorbet. Meals were always accompanied by delicious wines (so delicious in fact we came home with a couple of cases, again thanks to Patrick's advice on where to buy) and meals were finished off by the fire, with tea of coffee and a 'digestive' of choice. Patrick is an experienced fishmonger so one night we were treated to an incredible platter of fruit de mer which would rival anything in a top restaurant in France but without the hefty price tag. A rare and wonderful treat indeed. There was always a festive atmosphere and our hosts could not have been kinder, more generous or more charming.

Sharing a room with 2 young kids can be tricky but all the beds were extremely high quality and exceedingly comfortable (ours was huge) and the shower/ensuite wet room was enormous with a very strong rain shower, big enough for the whole family!

We loved our stay in Le Clos Bel Ami and are looking forward to going back one day. It is so pretty, the hosts are so charming and kind, the food so delicious and the atmosphere so warm and inviting, we didn't want to leave. A perfect Maison d'hote.

Room Tip: All the rooms have extremely good quality beds and excellent bathrooms fittings. We had our 2 kids s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happykampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EmmanuelledeWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bec-de-Mortagn
5.7 mi away
Hotel le Grand Pavois
Hotel le Grand Pavois
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
669 reviews
10.8 mi away
Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bec Au Cauchois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Fecamp
Ibis Budget Fecamp
#2 of 10 in Fecamp
483 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
1,305 reviews
9.2 mi away
Le domaine des platanes
Le domaine des platanes
#1 of 4 in Bordeaux Saint Clair
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Bel Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Bel Ami

Address: 75 route de la Vallee, 76110 Bec-de-Mortagn, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Bec-de-Mortagn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bec-de-Mortagn
Price Range: $134 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Bel Ami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing