We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous week at Gite du Guit!”

Review of Gite du Guit

Maison de Maitre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison de Maitre
Entrance to Gite Open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Maison de Maitre
Entrance to Gite
Open-plan living area
Peggy Kluck oil painting
Super King size bed which converts into two singles if required
Ensuite and laundry
Ensuite
Bunk-bedded room with extra single bed if required
Family shower-room
Family shower-room
Open parkland garden view from gite
12m x 6m pool: with full width steps
1.6m depth throughout
Open Parkland garden view from gite
View of Maison de Maitre, Chambre d'hote and Gite from lane
Evening walk back to the house, gite and chambre d'hote through the surrounding vines
Tennis court in the village
One of the local vineyard owners' cepage
Tasting the local Armagnac
Annual ceremony to remember local resistance members who were killed around Viella in 1944
The bar in Viella
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Viella, Gers, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanda H
1 review
“Fabulous week at Gite du Guit!”
Reviewed July 13, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I've just returned from a fantastically lovely painting break away at Gite du Guit! It felt as if I was staying with my friends! .... Martin and Claire hosted the week and what fantastic hosts they were! So welcoming...Martin fed us breakfast each morning whilst Claire, a domestic goddess, prepared and presented the most scrumptious food every evening and even delivered picnic lunches to our various painting locations...Copious amounts of local wine was attentively poured by Martin to accompany the week which was certainly appreciated by all...Greg Mason expertly taught the weeks painting course which was both stimulating. challenging and extremely enjoyable. The whole experience was above and beyond what I could've expected. The accommodation was beautiful and my room and bed were very comfortable. The scenery was stunning and there was the opportunity to eat outside everyday as well as use the pool to cool off. I am definitely planning a return visit and would not hesitate to recommend the experience and location to others...fabulous!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K3742ORch...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable Maison De Maitre in idyllic Gascon countryside with delightful & genuine Hosts”
Reviewed July 11, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Martin & Claire's home in the beautiful Gascon countryside is a reminder of the tranquility & peace that is still out there in rural France. I spent a great week enjoying a painting holiday expertly tutored by Greg Mason who is a Professional Artist & all round thoroughly nice bloke! Martin & Claire are people with the ability to help you feel that you are staying with friends from the moment you arrive.Martin has a lovely sense of humour (as dry as the local Madiran red wine!) and the food was right up my street, quality ingredients cooked with love by Claire who is an instinctive cook. Our group really gelled & I feel we were all genuine friends by the end of the week.
I can't recommend Maison du Guit highly enough

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Thank you so much for this lovely review, Chris! It was such a pleasure having you to stay and we are delighted you enjoyed our gorgeous spot in the Gers. We look forward to seeing you again here soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xwloy
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I had a beautiful week at the Maison du Guit attending a painting course by Gregory Mason. The Maison itself is set in the idyllic heart of the vineyards of Ger, and a mere 15 minute drive away from notable Chateaux. Wandering through the restored 18th century farmhouse, exploring the fields around the home, swimming in the pool, wine-tasting at the nearby vineyards- this is the quintessential summer experience.

The proprietress Claire went out of her way to make us all feel at home - welcoming us, seeing that our needs were attended to, and preparing sumptuous three-course meals for us with local produce. Having delicious home-cooked food, prepared with love, while on holiday was a truly special experience.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a summer escape!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Thank you so much, Xuewei, for writing this lovely review for us! It was great having you to stay here in the Gers with us and hope that you will come back again soon, perhaps with your friends too! We will find some more recipes for you....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"Painting Course par excellence"”
Reviewed July 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the time I arrived at Maison De Guitar it felt like home from home. Claire and Martin were fantastic hosts providing delicious food even when on location painting "en plein air". The painting course was superbly led by professional artist Greg Mason. The spectacular scenery and friendly atmosphere were totally conducive to a painting holiday. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review, Mike! We really enjoyed having you to stay as part of our Painting Holiday at Maison de Guit (guitar?!!). We are very much looking forward to you coming back next year, with your Claire! We will test out some new recipes in preparation for your return...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaBu...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday!!! Would love to stay again!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful area, so peaceful amongst the vineyards! So much space and facilities for the kids, pool, table tennis, bikes, badminton and all sorts! We didn't go out for the first 5 days! Loved how quiet it was! Hosts were so helpful, if any problems they sorted them out straight away! Beds v comfy, Gite was so comfortable, bedding was top of the range, kitchen had all that was needed, had lovely soap, shower gel and washing powder all provided which was a lovely touch! Really can't fault it! Beautiful places locally to visit, not a lack of things to do! Thanks so much for a lovely holiday!!!☺️

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary w
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very agreeable, peaceful and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful relaxing time during Easter at this gite. On arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of local wine, tea, coffee and biscuits. We found the beds and furnishings very comfortable and it is very clean, all is brand new. Easter was early this year, although we had lovely weather during the day, the wood burning fire was cosy and welcomed in the evening. The gite is set within vineyard countryside and the local village is about a 20 min walk away where you have a good boulangerie. We were there out of season so we did not use the pool but it is a good size. You need a car to explore and we found the leaflets on various places to visit and the days to go very useful. The restaurants were friendly and welcoming and the food delicious and I enjoyed practicing my language skills. We ate with our hosts several times during our stay and enjoyed their company as well as the excellent food.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2016
Thank you very much, Mary and Ralph, for this lovely review. It was great to have you stay and 'test drive' the gite for the first time. We hope you will be able to enjoy the pool on your next visit!
Claire and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing