We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Beach for Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Galion Beach

Le Galion Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Mangrove Kayak Ecotour from Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A horseshoe shaped beach known for its kid friendly atmosphere.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Beach for Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ported at 0730 on the Allure and took a water cab to Phillipsburg but we should have just taken the taxi straight to Le Galion. After a little store browsing, we got a cab from the town. It cost $32 for cab to Le Galion, and the driver was very nice. Overall, it was a very nice beach that was awesome for the kids since it has shallow water and is protected from large waves. The restaurant on the beach was very nice and the food was lovely. The restaurant also rented nice beach chairs with umbrellas. Bring a towel because none are available for renting. The restaurant has ice cream, drinks, food, etc. and they let you run a tab. They have a restroom to use as well and free wifi. We also took out their little paddle board for a bit. Overall, it was really great! Asked the taxi driver to come back at 2pm and he was there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    145
    32
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and I arrived to St. Martin on a cruise ship. After seeing the crowded beaches of St. Thomas, I did some research with the local in St. Martin to try to find a beach with some solitude. Several locals recommended Le Galion. We took the taxi from the main port in Phillipsburg. The ride was a reasonable $42 for six people, each way (always barter for a lower fare) and took about 20 minutes. You can stop at a convenience store on the way for drinks/snacks. The beach was amazing, even for someone like myself who has been to the best in Florida and the Caribbean. The beach bar had very reasonable prices and the food was surprisingly very good and more than hot dogs and burgers. I had a mahi mahi sandwich that was better than any I've had. Very quiet, low key beach scene and an incredible view all around. Few topless folks if that concerns you. Overall, if you want a great day at the beach, go here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bocephus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, family friendly beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This beach was a favorite. The water is calm and warm and the bay is shallow, allowing you to walk out quite a distance. The shore is also extensive, and easy to walk. There are trees offering shade, volleyball nets, and water sport areas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beach for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took a large family group to this beach. The water was much calmer than most beaches. It was shallow enough for the kids to play without me being right at their side, though I always had an eye on them. They had a bar/restaurant which sold snacks and drinks. It also had a bathroom you could use if needed. The sand was great and for having several cruise ships at port that day, it was not very crowded. Would go back again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good family beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Galion Beach is fairly crowded but a good place for families. The water is shallow & very safe. Chairs cost €5 & umbrellas €5 for the day. Food is available at the beach bar but you have to eat there (no take-away). A 'beach boy' sets up chairs & umbrellas & will bring drinks to you. Great margheritas! Big plus: you can set up a tab & pay at the end of the day. Credit cards are accepted (except American Express).

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galion Beach also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Le Galion Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing