We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.99*
and up
St. Maarten Combo Tour: Butterfly Farm and Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the Butterfly Farm you will be escorted by your guide who will lead you through a specially created exhibition area of landscaped gardens. This is the butterflies own lush tropical garden playground! Here you will see hundreds of rare and exotic butterflies fluttering freely around you. The guide will identify different species, point out courtship and mating displays and tell butterfly facts and stories. You can also witness the various stages of the butterfly's life cycle, from butterflies laying their eggs to caterpillars hatching, growing and forming their chrysalis. Ask your guide how to handle the butterflies and caterpillars if you dare! The tour lasts around 15 minutes and you are welcome to stay as long as you like at leisure in the gardens. There is also an extensive selection of butterfly gifts and souvenirs in the shop, or drinks available in the shady cafe. Car parking and rest rooms on site free of charge.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Cool, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great experience! There are exhibits with dozens of chyrsalis from which butterflies are emerging. That's the only time you will see them still. It's easy to photograph many kinds at flowers and hanging from foliage. Got a couple of great shirts too. Highly recommend this for nature lovers. It opens at 9 a.m. Since butterflies are most active in the morning, get there as close to opening as possible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    266
    58
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small & cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was disappointed in the small size of the facility. since I was on an island, I expected to see many & varied species. Frankly, the butterfly farm in the Omaha zoo was better

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a great experience for the whole family. They have created a wonderful educational facility. The staff members are super friendly and know their stuff!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fitmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went on a cruise ship excursion to the butterfly farm while in St. Maarten and I am so glad we did. We were given a presentation describing the life cycle of the butterfly. We were able to actually see a butterfly lay an egg, see caterpillars, numerous chrysalis of many types of butterfly's' and of course see the butterflys. ( there are many species from all over the world.) besides being interesting it was so peaceful walking through looking at the beautiful butterflys not to mention the great photo ops. This is excellent event for all ages!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sparkledeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trotwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited the farm while on a Royal Carribean Eastern Caribbean Cruise January 2013. We had a very informative presentation before the tour which made the visit much more interesting. The butterflies would land on you for a long time. One stayed on my shoulder most of the time I was there and did not leave until a limb brushed it off. The flowers were also very beautiful. Well worth a visit and a great place to take your children.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons) also viewed

Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Maho, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing