We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible meal”

Yvette's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible meal”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were recommended to go to Yvette's, a quiet house in the inland section of the French side of St Maarten from our hotel concierge. With this description, we did not really know what to expect, but her glowing reviews convinced us to try it. Simply put: we were blown away. The food was amazing - the whole snapper in Creole sauce is one of the best meals I've ever eaten. We even went back a second time during our trip because it was so good. Additionally, the ribs and stewed conch were top notch. But the dish that stands out above all the rest were the johnny cakes. Oh, the johnny cakes...Try eating them with the homemade hot sauce (if you're brave) and thank me later. The prices are very reasonable and the service and atmostphere are fantastic. I can't find anything negative to say about Yvette's - it is a place every St Maarten visitor should go to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    37
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It was a great experience at Yvettes. At first we were not sure it was the right place. When you pull up it is a family home with bright colors. The front door was wide open and we were curious. We were welcomed in to the restaurant by a warm face and were seated immediately. The family run restaurant was homey and friendly. There was more then enough food to eat with plenty of choices. The johnny cakes were delicious and the conch Yvette was super. The ox tail, shrimp cocktail and the conch Yvette was outstanding. Yvettes son sat and chatted with us and when we bought the cookbook, the whole family signed the book. We went again for dinner a second night because it was that good. Quaint restaurant with excellent food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ljma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you can look past the humble atmosphere you will have a wonderful experience. We were given this recommendation by the hotel staff and he did not disappoint! The Johnny Cakes were nice and fluffy, the coconut tart was very good especially since we don't care for coconut! And the Conch Yvette is a must. I had conch at another restaurant the day before and it such a lingering after taste that it almost made me sick. I didn't want to get this appetizer because of my previous experience, but my husband ordered it anyway and wow - just wow - excellent! I could make a meal out of it! Great local food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEGDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quaint Creole Style Lo-Lo with the "Best Johnny Cakes" on the Island.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Can't be beat for Island lo-lo. St. Martin chicken is our favorite. The red snapper looked wonderful, going back to try it. Wonderful family owned and operated. The book of Yvette's recipes that I bought three years ago is so interesting and cooking instructions simplistic and doable. The most reasonable food value on the island. Look for a small hand made sign between the cemetery and gas station on the inland side of the road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinahusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Yvette's is far from fancy, but what it is is delicious. It was described to us as a place that felt like "eating at grandma's" by an island native and, if that's true Grandmothers on this island know their way around a kitchen. We don't eat much fried food in general, but decided to break our rules for the day to see what authentic island food was like. I'm so glad we did! The salt fish cakes came highly recommended. We weren't sure about the idea, but decided to give it a try. Unbelievably tasty. Highly recommend the pan fried snapper fillet as well. The service was extremely attentive. Great place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoverBased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yvette's Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
 
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Yvette's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing