We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gawler Ranges Motel & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
35
28
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
28
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkstayed herebudget rooman enjoyable stayexplore the regionablution blockeyre highwayking george whitinggreat stopoverwine listdefinitely stay here againlong driveelectric blanketsfilet mignonamenities blockgood sizethe managers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 72 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sandy is the powerhouse of the motel - whatever you need - she will make it happen. The motel is clean and comfortable. The hospitality, remarkable.

The food in the motel dining room is good, wholesome home cooked fare. Nothing to complain about - a pleasant visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank investigator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent two nights here recently and were very warmly welcomed by the proprietor Sandy. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. We ate in their restaurant both nights and the food and the service was excellent. This is an ideal place to stay if you are touring the Gawler Ranges National Park.

Room Tip: Plenty of choices for accommodation - budget, standard & deluxe rooms, self-contained cabins, powered and unpowered sites. 24-hour check-in available if you are travelling late at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here with colleagues recently on a work trip. I must be honest and say I was a little dismayed when we arrived at this little motel, but the minute we walked into reception, I couldn't have been more warmly welcomed! Sandy knew our names, let us know the others had arrived and informed us that a table had been booked for dinner...it was like being welcomed home! The rooms are simple, maybe a little dated, but clean and with everything you could need, including extra blankets and pillows.
The dining room is bright and cheery, and the waiter was interesting! He did dash off in the middle of taking our orders to bring food out to other diners...at least you know you get hot food! He also struggled when asked to describe a dish on the menu. However the food was just delicious!
In the morning when we went in for breakfast Sandy remembered our names and again the food was wonderful!
What a difference such a lovely person makes to your experience. I thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeeh040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

we spent a night in the campground and found the amenities clean and in excellent condition. The managers were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We ate in the dining room and the food was very good, a reasonable price and the service was fabulous. It is a great choice for a stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once in 2011 and 2013 on my drives from East to West. This time I took a budget room. It was a good sized room, clean with comfortable double bed with its own ensuite and large shower. Full facilities TV, kettle etc. This motel has a its own restaurant, and the serving portions are large. They also do room service and relaxing in your room with a seafood platter and nut sundae ice cream after a full days drive is a bonus. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: If you are solo or a couple, consider a budget room and what you save you can buy yourself a meal.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews