We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best start for Australia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safari Day Tour

Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safari Day Tour
München
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best start for Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Whenever you go "down under": start with Jeff and the Gawler Ranges Tour - there is no better possibility to be in the "outback" in a very comfortable way, pampered by Jeff (he's just fantastic - as a guide, a cook and just as a personality; don't miss him and Lisa, who drove us around!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DerHund57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I had the incredible good fortune to have this safari experience from January 28th-31st, 2013. There were only two other people in our group which made it even more special. We started out as strangers and ended up as friends.

It's impossible to give a thorough review as your days are jam packed from the moment your guide meets you at the airport in Port Lincoln. We were met by Lisa, the newest employee and someone who will no doubt have a long and successful career in this sort of environment. Lisa kept us informed and entertained as we made our way to Camp Kangaluna. Our first stop was at a Koala preserve and unfortunately I cannot remember the name of this magical place. You get to see koalas in the wild and that's hard to beat.

Your senses will suffer from overload as your days with Geoff, Rosie and Lisa will be jam-packed with information. Lake Gairdner is something that has to been seen to be believed as it is quite surreal.

Every evening you'll be treated to a visual buffet of animals coming to water at the trough placed within easy eyesight of the dining tent. It's a delight to see kangaroos and emus quenching their thirst as you sip wine and enjoy the "nibbles" (appetizers to Americans). The food is comparable to what you might find at some fine dining establishments. If you left the table hungry, it was your own fault! Each day we were treated to mid-morning tea and biscuits. This is a habit unfamiliar to Americans but one worth adopting! The biscuits are actually cookies and that little shot of sugar was enough to tame our hunger until the picnic lunch.

Our highlight was swimming with the dolphins and sea lions at Baird Bay. It's remarkable how these wild creatures respond to the sight of this familiar boat and its' occupants.

We really appreciated how Geoff treats his surroundings. It is obvious that he has a deep love and passion for this land and its' inhabitants. His camp blends into the surroundings and looks as if it has always been a part of the landscape. He designed it in such a way that it has minimal impact on the environment. The tents were quite comfortable and combined with our busy days, sleep came easy in this peaceful setting.

If we could change anything about this it would be the following. I don't want these comments to be viewed as criticisms, but rather suggestions as to how to make an already worthwhile experience even better!

1. A little bit less time in the truck would be a good thing. I know that there is so much to see and do but it did get a bit old being in the truck for an extended period each day.

2. We would loved to have had a bit more free time in the camp. Sometimes you want the opportunity to just sit and relax.

3. Geoff mentioned that he plans to construct a sort of lounge area within the camp. We think this would be a great addition.

We would highly recommend this to anyone that wants to do something a bit out of the ordinary. Very, very worthwhile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesundenver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gawler safari magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This fantastic safari was the highlight of our Australian holiday!! The friendly and personal nature of this experience sets it apart from all others. Being in a small group allows you to get to know your hosts and fellow travellers, allows flexibility in your schedule and made us feel involved in the day not just passive spectators.
We were absolutely amazed by the sights and developed such a sense of appreciation for the scale, granduer and beauty of the outback. Geoff's knowledge of flora, fauna, history and geology put real meaning into what we were seeing and experiencing.
The camp was luxurious but naturally rustic and in keeping with the surroundings, wine and food amazing!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The highlight of our six week holiday in Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safaris is owner-run by Geoff and Irene Scholz and their passion for their business is evident in their attention to the smallest details, Geoff's expert guiding, outstanding knowledge of the Outback and Irene's superb food.

We flew from Adelaide to Port Lincoln where we were met by Geoff who drove us north through the beautiful Eyre Peninsula to Wudinna. From there we headed into the Outback, stopping at Corrobinnie Hill to explore the amazing rock formations. On arrival at Kangaluna Camp we were shown to one of three lovely tents which comprised deck, bedroom and shower room. All are attractively furnished, supplying everything needed, but never losing touch with the wilderness in which they are situated. Many of the details have been designed by Rosie, one of the team and a talented artist. The tents are set well apart to ensure absolute privacy and animals, such as kangaroos, wander freely between them. To ensure mimimum impact, nothing in the area of the campsite was moved during its construction and the tents feel totally embraced by their environment.

Drinks, candle-lit dinner and breakfast are served in an open sided lodge where we were able to watch many different species of wild life attracted to a small supply of nearby water.

The following day Geoff drove us through stunning and ever changing scenery to visit the extraordinary Lake Gairdner (where we had a delicious picnic lunch), a fossilised river and finally a climb up Nukey Bluff where there are many signs of past Aboriginal life. All day we saw a wonderful range of bird and animal life and Geoff's huge knowledge of the flora, fauna and general 'bush-craft' made for constant interest.

Our final day was spent driving south down the Eyre Peninsula to Baird Bay and the 'Baird Bay Ocean Eco Experience'. This was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to swim first with dolphins and then with sea lions. It was managed in the most sensitive and eco-friendly manner by Alan and his team and provided some of the most memorable moments of our holiday. Geoff then drove us to Port Lincoln with stops to admire the Peninsula's wild coastline - every bit as dramatic as the Great Ocean Road - in order to catch our flight back to Adelaide.

We cannot recommend Gawler Ranges Safari more highly. We spent 2 nights at Kangaluna and wished we had stayed 3, as there are many lovely walks around the camp which we didn't have time to explore. Geoff and Irene are wonderful hosts and you feel you are being welcomed to their home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wild and wonderful - an extraordinary experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The last few days spent with Geoff and Irene at their wilderness camp just outside the Gawler Ranges National Park in South Australia comes as close as it gets to my best-ever travel experience. Astounding wildlife, spectacular scenery, a superbly knowledgeable yet laid-back host who provided fascinating insights into the history, geology, flora and fauna of this ancient land (thank you Geoff!) and wonderful food and drink that, after a long day on the road, perfectly hit the spot (thank you Irene!). Many hours spent travelling through the national park were well and truly made up for by the highly comfortable 4 wheel drive, the great meals on and off the road, and the knowledge that our very comfortable and highly private tent was waiting for us at the end of each day. While the salt encrusted Lake Gairdner was the highlight for us, I am sure that the opportunity to experience and photograph the prolific wildlife must have topped the list for the four international guests who made up the remainder of our small, diverse group. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely. As highly travelled Australians, I had no idea that Australian tourism could be this good. We feel incredibly privileged to have had this highly tailored, very special experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan1_and_George2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safari Day Tour also viewed

Wudinna, South Australia
Wudinna, South Australia
 
Wudinna, South Australia

Been to Gawler Ranges Wilderness Safari Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing