We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get shivers up your spine paying respect to the father of modern Israel”
Review of Ben Gurion Tomb

Ben Gurion Tomb
Book In Advance
More Info
$750.00*
and up
Private Negev Tour from Beersheba Sde Boker or Mitspe Ramon
More Info
$975.00*
and up
Negev Desert Private Day Tour from Tel Aviv : Beersheba Sde Boker and Mitzpe...
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Sde Boker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A cultivated desert garden where the graves of the former Israeli Prime Minister David Ben-Gurion and his wife Paula sit at the edge of a steep cliff overlooking the magnificent landscape of the Zin Canyon and the Avdat highlands. The paths leading to the graves pass through a cultivated garden with indigenous plant life that thrives in the arid climate and saline conditions of the desert. Ben Gurion’s hut on Kibbutz Sde Boker has been preserved as it was on the day that he died, and it is open to visitors who wish to learn more about him. The national park has a picnic area, gift shop, hiking and camping equipment, an information center and cafeteria. The park is accessible to people with disabilities and is open throughout the day.
Huntington Beach
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Get shivers up your spine paying respect to the father of modern Israel”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sde Boker is a beautiful, easy 150 minute drive south of Tel Aviv. You can either bypass Be'er Sheva or drive through it (my preference - you will see the amazing growth of this desert city and it's spectacular architecture).
Do a quick in-and-out of the Sde Boker kibbutz, and then 1 kilometer away is Ben Gurion's desert home - he first lived at Sde Boker in 1953. This is a "must visit" and don't miss out on the short video presentation.
3 kilometers further on, is Ben Gurion's grave and memorial. I don't think I have ever seen a more spectacular setting for a gravesite, and of course, BG deserves this view!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ben-Gurion's desert home and grave”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

David Ben-Gurion's wish was to make the desert bloom, so it's fitting that the park-like setting just past his grave is a beautiful oasis of greenery and flowers, artfully landscaped and lovely to walk through. The graves of Ben-Gurion and his wife, (who was NOT a big fan of the Negev) are just graves. However, the desert view from just behind them is fantastic.
Another big attraction for me was the Ben-Gurion home. Done in institutional green, it is a simple Kibbutz home. The house is stuffed with books, and most interesting to me, there is a picture of Abraham Lincoln on the wall. It is easy to see a man like Ben-Gurion living here, studying here, and creating history here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi_Stories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Visit the grave and the Ben-Gurion's Desert Home”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just 5 minutes from the grave pay a visit to the Ben-Gurion's Desert Home (which is not yet published on the TripAdvisor sight as an attraction...) located 5 minutes drive from the grave..
It's a must visit to anyone visiting the Sde Boker area.
It's interesting to see how simple were the life of the first Israeli PM and the legacy he left.
It costs 18 NIS (about 5$) for an adult and 12 NIS for a child. Worth every cent!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view of the gorge from Ben-Gurion's Grave.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Nice walk along the gorge to the grave site. We went back in the late afternoon when the light was just right to photograph the gorge.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindajackson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
2,851 reviews
2,415 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,233 helpful votes
“The resting place of Israel's first prime minister.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

David Ben Gurion, the person who declared the establishment of the state of Israel and Israel's first prime minister, is buried here next to his wife, Pola, in a tranquil place in southern Israel, near Sde Boker, with a stunning view of the Negev desert from the site.
not far from the grave is the mythological house, where ben Gurion spent his final years. The house symbolizes the entire Ben Gurion persona - humble, hard working and very modest.
There's a little museum in the house and a multimedia show, as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Gurion Tomb also viewed

Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
Sde Boker, Southern District
 
Mitspe Ramon, Southern District
Sde Boker, Southern District
 

Been to Ben Gurion Tomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing