We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Negev Desert experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boker Valley Vineyards Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Sde Boker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Negev Desert experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The place is along the highway and not difficult to find as long as you get there before dark. To get through the gate, you’d have to dial and call the owners. The phone number is written at the gate. For this trip, we had an international phone with a costly international rate, unfortunately, but we had to use it or we would not be able to get in as the gate only opens electronically. The daughter of the owners showed us to the two cottages that we booked for my family, and also gave us a special # to dial to open the gate that is charge-free for international phones. The cottages are very clean; however, we noticed that there were some flies inside the cottages. We love the décor and the designs of the cottages – so cozy. We love that there’s a microwave and mini fridge, tea kettle, tea bags, glasses, dishes, and utensils in the kitchenette. We love the modern bathrooms, and we also liked the nice little olive hand soaps in the bathroom, which, unfortunately, melt easily after using them a few times.
Since we arrived in the afternoon, we had time to go to the nearest grocery after checking in. Coming back after dark, we had a little trouble locating the place because the sign on the highway is not lighted. Also, walking between two cottages at night was a little tricky , trying to avoid some dog poops and preventing falls from slippery rocks, which we noticed upon checking in. Unfortunately, we didn’t think to bring a flashlight on this trip, so it would be nice if flashlights would be provided in the cottages. It was nice that the cottages have heaters because it was cold that night. Unfortunately, our remote control for the heater needed new batteries. Wish we had asked the daughter earlier that day how to get to her parents’ house in case we needed to contact them after dark. It was right across from our cottage, but we didn’t know where the front door was to the reception area, and since it was dark, we decided to call the owners by phone, and avoid risking stepping on some sort of surprise. Would definitely help if there’s some kind of a lighted pathway (with something like the solar lights you’d use for your garden) to the owner’s reception area from the cottages. Perhaps a lighted pathway between cottages would not be a bad idea either, especially if you’re like us, renting two cottages. Anyway, the owner, Moshe, promptly came over to put new batteries. He is really a warm and friendly host. He even gave us free wine tasting at his cellar after breakfast, which, by the way, was good (Israeli-European style) – fresh croissants, bread, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, cheese, coffee, tea, milk, juice, and cooked-to-order egg. Definitely do not miss the tour of his cellar. He has quite a collection even if you are not a wine lover.
Before checking out, we tried to use our tablet since there’s free wifi at the reception area. The owners also kindly let us use their cell phone to make a call to our next destination, Jerusalem. And finally, before heading out, we noticed that the flies were all congregating at the window in the bathroom, so we decided to open the window to let them out, and that solved the fly issue. Wished we had done that the night before since even after turning out the lights, we could still hear the flies buzzing around while we were in bed.
One final comment, although not a big deal, is that the cottages do not have iron/board. We wanted to iron our super wrinkled clothes before heading to Jerusalem, but the owner could not lend us her iron because there was a problem with it. As I said, it’s not a big deal for us to travel in wrinkled clothes since Israel is a casual country, but perhaps they could have potential guests in the future and who would have a great need for the iron.
Overall, this is a decent place to stay and experience living in the Negev desert.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilda57, Manager at Boker Valley Vineyards Farm, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Lhouse,

Thank you very much for your comment about out accommodation. We are delighted to know that your overall stay with us was good and that you have enjoyed your time in the Negev!
Since you have been here we did install a few more solar lights between the cabins to help walking after dark, although our couple's cabin, that is located higher on our hill, is more difficult to install lights outside even solar ones because the ground is mostly rocks... regarding the flashlights- we have bought a few that will be available in each cabin for our guests to use.
We know that our automatic gate is not the best solution for our foreign guests who do not have an Israel phone, but over the years we did try a few more options and found this one the most easy to manage. Guests who do not want to use their phone usually leave their car near the gate and walk up to the reception to ask us to open the gate for them. As well- after check in every guest can get a remote control for the gate to use during their stay.
I apologize for the flies you had in your room, and the remote control batteries. We do live in the middle of the desert, and some times animal like this tend to visit our guests regardless to our monthly pests control...

My mother told me about the iron that you have asked from her, and indeed- in that week the iron just stopped working ! we usually give our guests the option to use our iron for free, but we will try to check for costs of iron & iron board in each room for future guests.

Hope to see you here on your next visit to Israel!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights - two families with kids (each in its own cabin).
Had a great time. Breakfast was one of the best I had - probably better then you'll get in a 5 star resort. That included gluten free food, vegan food and "normal" food.
Service was great. Jakuzi is a nice add-on. Wood for the fire place. Wine cellar.
And of course the desert.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taljal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you have a couple of days to explore the Negev, this is a very good base.The cabins are simple. The beds are ok but a little too hard to my taste, plenty of hot water in the shower, fridge,and a microwave. All cabins with AC / heater.
You will get breakfast served in / outside the cabin or in a dining hall. The rest is up to you.

Within 45 minutes drive you have geology (Mispe Ramon), archeology (Ovdat), history (Ben Gurion Memorial / Museum), and natural parks (Ein Ovdat). And if you depend on cities, Beersheba is within easy reach. (Boring city but it has an interesting Bedouin market and an airforce museum well worth a visit).
After a day in the desert, you can relax in the hot outdoor tub with a cold local white wine. Life don't get any better than that.

You bring your own food, if needed bought at a local kibbutz. All cabins have barbeques outside. Dinner at Naot Farm (open Fridays) is recommended. Excellent meat. The hostess will book a table for you.

Be aware that the temperature might vary a lot from day to day. Bring both a warm jacket and shorts / t-shirt.

Nice owners, acceptable prices - Negev is a nice place

Stein Torgersbraten Norway

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tove T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hi. I already knew the area but our stay at Boker Farms was amazing! A real highlight!! All my family joined from abroad and we unfortunately stayed only one night but everybody had such a good time! The hosts are so nice and helpful, we had an amazing BBQ and sitting outside sipping wine from the area (you can purchase on the spot in a very well selected wine shop at the farm). At nights Jacuzzi in the desert and mornings with an excellent breakfast. Definitely come back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located on the Negev wine route this place offers several small cabins that are wonderful for a relaxing desert night. Not far from Sde Boker and with a restaurant nearby, this place offers the solace one wants in the Negev. It has a wine cellar where one can taste (for free) the wines of the region. We picked up a nice desert wine and enjoyed it on the porch of our cabin, overlooking a place where a woman was walking a horse. The desert sky is wonderful at night with no light pollution. In the morning the staff brings an excellent breakfast with local cheese. The price is reasonable (for Israel), our cabin had two bedrooms and was decently appointed. There is a campsite down below with faux tippees, and some noise comes out from them. But it wasn't bothersome. This place is highly recommended, we would definitely go back. Compared to some "tzimirim" where the price is outlandish or the place isn't nice, Boker Valley is doing it right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A true gem in the desert - rustic but refined and with small touches everywhere that remind you this is a labour of love for the family that runs it. The owners were always available to answer questions, make recommendations and ensure our stay was a special one. Israeli wine will never be the world's best but the family has a terrific cellar nonetheless and patiently helped us pick a few bottles to accompany the evening. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. But the really reason to come is for the beautiful isolation this place affords, with gorgeous desert views and comfortable cabin retreats.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was such a discovery to come upon Boker Valley Vineyards Farm.
It is very simple and amazing place in the middle of the desert.

If you drive by there stop for the night...
Great breakfast and wine.

Amazing restaurant very near that was recommended by the host.
Hopefully I will go again ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank go2francois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sde Boker
20.6 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
301 reviews
20.6 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,085 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Desert Iris Hotel
The Desert Iris Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yeruham
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
349 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kibbutz Mashabei Sade - Mashabim
3.8 mi away
Naot Farm
Naot Farm
#1 of 8 in Sde Boker
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boker Valley Vineyards Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boker Valley Vineyards Farm

Property: Boker Valley Vineyards Farm
Address: Road 40 Tlallim-Sde Boker, Sde Boker 85515, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Sde Boker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sde Boker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boker Valley Vineyards Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boker Valley Farm is an isolated farm in Ramat Negev region which grows wine grapes and offers accommodation for tourists. The first vineyard was planted in 1999, and is situated in the Boker Valley, 550 meters above sea level. The wine is made from Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot grape varieties. The grapes are delivered to the various wineries where the wines are produced, and they are sold at the farm’s visitor center with a large selection of quality desert wines. Guided tours of the vineyard are available, including the story of the settlement of the isolated farms in the Negev, the grape growing process, and wine tastings from 6 kinds of local wines.Private family and group events can be held on site. The farm offers five cabin accommodation for couples, groups and families during the year and two groups accommodation in a authentic Bedouin tent or khan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Boker Valley Vineyards Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing