We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zweiflingen
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent one night in July 2013 at the Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe for a business meeting. I wish I could have spent more time. Room, service, food, breakfast, conference room, everything is excellent. The property is superb. Gardens are perfectly maintained. I stayed at the "Hunting Lodge" building which is probably the oldest building of the property. My room was spacious and well appointed in a classic style. Maybe a little bit too classic and a touch of design or originality would have been appreciated but there is really nothing to complain about. The bathroom is spacious and well equipped. There might have been enough space to build a separate shower cabin which is always practical but here again this is more a question of opinion. Very good Internet connection. I had two meals, lunch and dinner, on the terrace and both were excellent, served by a very professional team although at night service was way too slow. I took the opportunity to discover German wines which I had never tasted before and it was really a pleasant experience. The lunch menu was more simple but well prepared with fresh products. Overall, although not a cheap hotel the Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe offers a very good cost-benefit relation and I would welcome the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketing Assistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear „asia_traveller_2009“,

We thank you kindly for your wonderful comments about your time in Friedrichsruhe. It is delighting to read through your experience and we cannot wait to have you back in our resort – hopefully for more than just one night.

We are looking forward to it “asia_traveller_2009”!

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    31
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
80
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
241 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July. Our room was the larger 2 bedroom presidential suite. It was in the new area completed in 2005 or 2007. Nice room with a full sauna and steam. All the floors and furnishings were first class and the suite has a huge outdoor patio. Service was excellent and I assume most of the new rooms are very nice. The restaurant is a 4 star very special meal. All fresh ingredients and very nice favors but not to much food. If you're near the hotel make the effort to dine there one night. The spa was booked so I am not able to comment, but the facilities are very nice. Good gym and indoor outdoor pool. Staff is very attentive and always says hello. It is a large property so if a group is in you might feel like an outsider so ask before you book.

Room Tip: Stay in the remodeled area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketing Assistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear „Ask2416“,

Thank you sincerely for your excellent review of our resort. We make sure to share this with our staff, as they are the foundation of our success.

Furthermore, we would like to apologize for not being able to offer a Spa appointment. For your next visit we encourage you to book in advance to make the most out of your experience here. We can highly recommend the treatments with our own skin care line SanVino.

Dear “Ask2416”, we hope to welcome you back soon and wish you a wonderful summertime.

Sincerely,

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

you can hardly find better hotels in Germany. excellent place for holidays, though it is not cheap.
you can hardly find better hotels in Germany. excellent place for holidays, though it is not cheap.
you can hardly find better hotels in Germany. excellent place for holidays, though it is not cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamvelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketing Assistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear SamvelM,

We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comment. Thank you for taking the time for this review.

We hope to welcome you again soon – maybe this time for pleasure.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stated here twice, and each visit has been exceptional. The staff, location, quality of furniture and decoration are all outstanding.

I've also eaten in the hotel's restaurant twice. The first meal was, without doubt, the finest meal I have ever eaten, a view shared by most of the 30 cynical journalists who were with me. The second meal was merely outstanding...

It's not cheap, but it is worth every penny with the rooms in the old hunting lodge being especially beautiful - and large!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeufronHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketingassistentin at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear CarltonBoyce,

Your wonderful comments about your visits to Friedrichsruhe are truly inspiring. Of course, we will share that with our staff – especially with our chefs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was there to celebrate a special ocasion with my fiancee and the experience was outstanding. The staff was super-friendly and professional and helped me a lot in making this day special for me and my future wife. Appart from that, I found what I was looking for, peace and relax in a fantastic Hotel with superb spa installations. Very nice local food and very rich breakfast. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketingassistenz at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Carlos R,

Again thank you for your comments about the hotel and spa that honour us. We will make sure to share them with the rest of our staff and can’t wait for your next relaxing visit in Friedrichsruhe!

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everything was perfect: the personal "hello", they brought our luggage to the castle-room we have booked, they explained and showed the room. The room itself is old-fashioned, but nicely renovated and absolutely clean. Castle-like! The restaurant is amazing and worth every cent you spend. The Hotel itself is beatifully located in a big park. We didnt try the spa (no time...), but it looked really nice. I cant say anything about the other rooms, but the ones in the castle are close to perfect. The over-night shoe shine service was the best I ever tried. So, this is really 5 stars. World class! Just the breakfast could be more special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximilian_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldSchloss, Marketingassistentin at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Maximilian_Max,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay.

We highly focus on the needs of our customers and set ourselves very high service standards. With your compliments we feel that these efforts are appreciated. Nevertheless, we will continue working on our service delivery to continuously achieve our goals to your satisfaction.

Dear Maximilian_Max, we sincerely hope you will visit us again, and maybe enjoy our fabulous spa.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a special Wellness Package and received a rude awakening.
This "SLH" is set in wonderful gardens and boasts a surrounding 27-hole golf-course and new Wellness centre.
The first setback was finding a suitable date for the advertised package. The responses of the reservations staff were arrogant and inflexible, to the point that we had to hand over the "negotiations" to a neutral third party. On arrival everything seemed fine, and the dinner on the first evening was very pleasant. Notably, the Junior Staff are eager, accommodating, friendly and professional. Senior/Management Staff came across aloof and self-opinionated.
The "Wellness" experience was mixed: Location and facilities are excellent, but the staff is relatively inexperienced, and the treatments overpriced for what you get.
The extended breakfasts were the highlight of our stay.
The second evening was a disaster. We were shipped out to the indoor Spa "Bistro" on the hottest day of the year, whilst all the other guests at the hotel sat outside at the gourmet restaurant. It was so disappointing, that we were willing to forego the "included" 3-course dinner and pay extra to get a table at the gourmet restaurant. There we were rudely told that no tables were available (although we saw at least 2 that had not been set ...) and treated like 2nd class guests by the Restaurant Manager. It was totally humiliating.
On departure we were again confronted with the situation, and the closing impression is one of total arrogance and self-righteousness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Stellvertretender Direktor at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Fire Zulu,

We define ourselves as an exceptional hotel with a high emphasis on relaxation, culinary delights, Golf & Spa, as well as a focus on courtesy, attention and flexibility towards our customers. In order to deliver that service and to meet those standards on a daily basis, our major aim is to get into an active exchange with our guests.

Whilst we feel honored about your compliments regarding the general facilities, the junior staff, the breakfast and the dinner on the first evening, we highly regret that we were not able to convince you of the overall quality of the hotel.

The major criticism about your stay was regarding the dinner on the second evening and the reaction of our staff. Whilst all tables on the terrace were really reserved for the evening and allocating a table in the Spa bistro was technically correct with regards to the package included in your gift voucher, a reaction such as the one you described is simply not acceptable and we sincerely apologize for it. Be assured that we will discuss this matter extensively.

Upon departure the Front Office Management did not intend to confront you but tried to clarify the situation with your husband and explained how delighted we would have been to offer a more suitable package than a Spa package with a light wellness menu for the special occasion you have mentioned throughout your stay. A package such as our “Simply Forever” or the “Culinary Treats” package, especially designed for such special occasions and for gourmet enthusiasts, would probably have been the better option.

Dear Fire Zulu, we would truly like to convince you of the overall quality of the hotel and we would love to demonstrate what we are capable of with all necessary information on hand and in direct contact with you. We therefore offer to get in touch with the Resident Manager, Mr. Joerg Wedegaertner, in order to discuss the different options.
For the time being, we can only apologize for the unsatisfactory stay and hope for another chance to convince you.

Best regards,
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zweiflingen
15.2 mi away
Mawell Resort
Mawell Resort
#1 of 2 in Langenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Gotzenburg
Schlosshotel Gotzenburg
#1 of 1 in Jagsthausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
11.7 mi away
Raitelberg Resort
Raitelberg Resort
#1 of 1 in Wustenrot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Rose
Hotel-Restaurant Rose
#1 of 2 in Bitzfeld
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 2 in Sindringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Nothwang
Hotel Nothwang
#2 of 2 in Sindringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe

Property: Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Address: Kaercherstr. 11, 74639 Zweiflingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Zweiflingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zweiflingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe is a 5-star Superior resort in Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany. It is located in the Hohenlohe region just an hour Northeast of Stuttgart. Set in an 4,4 Hectare big park, guests induldge with all senses: 66 individual rooms in four different buildings, a spacious Spa with the hotel's own skin care line, four different restaurants with one star-awarded gourmet-restaurant as well as a 27-hole golf course with golf-academy. Conference guests enjoy six modern rooms in a separate, half-timbered building. And for private functions the hotel provides a beautiful castle hall set in the historic hunting lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe Germany/Zweiflingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing