We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much ado about nothing ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zweiflingen
Certificate of Excellence
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Much ado about nothing ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a special Wellness Package and received a rude awakening.
This "SLH" is set in wonderful gardens and boasts a surrounding 27-hole golf-course and new Wellness centre.
The first setback was finding a suitable date for the advertised package. The responses of the reservations staff were arrogant and inflexible, to the point that we had to hand over the "negotiations" to a neutral third party. On arrival everything seemed fine, and the dinner on the first evening was very pleasant. Notably, the Junior Staff are eager, accommodating, friendly and professional. Senior/Management Staff came across aloof and self-opinionated.
The "Wellness" experience was mixed: Location and facilities are excellent, but the staff is relatively inexperienced, and the treatments overpriced for what you get.
The extended breakfasts were the highlight of our stay.
The second evening was a disaster. We were shipped out to the indoor Spa "Bistro" on the hottest day of the year, whilst all the other guests at the hotel sat outside at the gourmet restaurant. It was so disappointing, that we were willing to forego the "included" 3-course dinner and pay extra to get a table at the gourmet restaurant. There we were rudely told that no tables were available (although we saw at least 2 that had not been set ...) and treated like 2nd class guests by the Restaurant Manager. It was totally humiliating.
On departure we were again confronted with the situation, and the closing impression is one of total arrogance and self-righteousness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Stellvertretender Direktor at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Fire Zulu,

We define ourselves as an exceptional hotel with a high emphasis on relaxation, culinary delights, Golf & Spa, as well as a focus on courtesy, attention and flexibility towards our customers. In order to deliver that service and to meet those standards on a daily basis, our major aim is to get into an active exchange with our guests.

Whilst we feel honored about your compliments regarding the general facilities, the junior staff, the breakfast and the dinner on the first evening, we highly regret that we were not able to convince you of the overall quality of the hotel.

The major criticism about your stay was regarding the dinner on the second evening and the reaction of our staff. Whilst all tables on the terrace were really reserved for the evening and allocating a table in the Spa bistro was technically correct with regards to the package included in your gift voucher, a reaction such as the one you described is simply not acceptable and we sincerely apologize for it. Be assured that we will discuss this matter extensively.

Upon departure the Front Office Management did not intend to confront you but tried to clarify the situation with your husband and explained how delighted we would have been to offer a more suitable package than a Spa package with a light wellness menu for the special occasion you have mentioned throughout your stay. A package such as our “Simply Forever” or the “Culinary Treats” package, especially designed for such special occasions and for gourmet enthusiasts, would probably have been the better option.

Dear Fire Zulu, we would truly like to convince you of the overall quality of the hotel and we would love to demonstrate what we are capable of with all necessary information on hand and in direct contact with you. We therefore offer to get in touch with the Resident Manager, Mr. Joerg Wedegaertner, in order to discuss the different options.
For the time being, we can only apologize for the unsatisfactory stay and hope for another chance to convince you.

Best regards,
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    29
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
77
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in a superior room in the spa house. We absolutely loved our stay. However we have traveled extensively, we haven´t really had such a unique experience anywhere. Our stay started off perfectly with a tour through the hotel by a lady who had worked there for 36 years. The hotel site is flawlessly taken care of, with a beautiful park and garden. The swimming pools and spa we found to be nicer than the hotel pictures on the website show. The superior rooms are fantastic, newly built with warm wooden materials.
I would recommend to go and see some other types of rooms (more classical ones) while they are all quite unique from one another and your taste may differ from mine of course.

We had dinner in the Jagerstuebe all 4 nights, and food was perfect. The maitre des restaurants knows his metier very well. You can also try the gourmet restaurant, but we thought the jaegerstube to be a bit more convivial. We ended our dinners every night with a sit in the cigarroom, which is unique in it´s kind, according to my husband who is a cigar afficionado.

I saw some comments on the breakfast in other reviews, which I honestly do not really understand. Perhaps you can find breakfast buffets in the world, which are larger, but everything I wished for was present or there to order and everything I found to be of unrivaled quality.

The people working in the hotel from reservations to the spa attendants made the stay to be so unique. All of them seem to be sincerly dedicated to their job and try to make you feel as comfortable as possible.

Oh, and last but not least important, our baby boy really enjoyed the stay in the hotel too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear charly3,

Thank you so much for your wonderful travel report and this great evaluation!

We very much appreciate your comments. Of course, we will share them with our staff especially with Ms. Lindner, who gave you the tour of our resort.

We are wishing you and your family a nice and relaxing summer and are looking forward to seeing you again.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel may seem to be in the middle of nowhere, but in reality, it is only a ten minute drive to a decent sized town and an entrance to the autobahn. From this location, if you are touring, it is easy to find lots of good attractions in each direction, and still have time at the end of the day to return and enjoy all the hotel has to offer, which is a lot.

We stayed in a superior room in the modern spa addition building. Upon entering the room, a long corridor passes a powder room and lots of closet and storage space. The bedroom was good sized with a desk area, couch, chair and coffee table. At the foot of the bed was a cabinet with drawer space below, and a large TV on it that could swing around so that it could be viewed from different areas of the room. Glass doors opened to a small balcony and very nice views of the grounds, pool, and countryside in the distance. The modern look of the room was enhanced by lots of nice wood features including a wood floor, warm color tones, and very good lighting. Just as attractive was the sand colored tiled bathroom with two sinks, large tub, and great separate shower. Our only complaint about the room was that the furniture was a little on the hard side. It should be noted that there are several buildings that make up this property and several décor styles. You may want to ask to see a room or two before settling in. We liked our room a lot. Wireless wifi is not available in your room, but the hotel will provide a cable for your laptop and there are no charges.

The rest of the resort is also wonderful with the huge spa area a standout. In this area is a nice outdoor pool with relaxing views. Nearby is the equally nice indoor pool with a wall of glass to the outside at one end, and a fireplace at the other. The rest of the high quality area contains wet and dry areas, luxe locker rooms, great workout room, and a big massage treatment area. An added bonus is a very attractive spa restaurant. It all is very nice and a great place to start or end the day.

We had breakfast each morning in a traditional styled room with large windows overlooking a grove of trees. It was buffet style with the option of ordering hot items not found at the buffet. We did not eat in the more formal restaurant at the hotel, but we did enjoy some very nice German wine on the terrace of the bar room.

The grounds of the hotel are nice and easy to manage. Nearby is the Hunting Lodge with traditional rooms in a manor building. We did not mind that the hotel blends old and new architecture. It worked for us.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and most seemed to speak English very well. We did feel that the hotel seems to cater to a German client base. I had to ask about a sign posted only in German at the outdoor pool which stated that the pool was going to be closed the following morning for maintenance, a good thing to know. But it really was not an issue at all, just an observation.

With it’s relaxing setting, great spa and rooms, central location for touring, we felt we made a wise choice to stay here and made sure we had some time to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Different buildings and different styles. Do your reseach before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear J_and_A_1,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay. We are excited about your detailed report and glad that you had a relaxing time in Friedrichsruhe. It is great to read your comments about the interior and how you felt when entering the room or your description of our Spa. We are positive, that these valuable insights will give a very good insight to other guests and will therefore be very helpful.

We’re sincerely hoping that you will return to Friedrichsruhe and visit us again. Until then we’re wishing you a wonderful time and more pleasant travels.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set in stunning and tranquil surroundings with beautiful buildings.
The staff exceeded all of our expectations with their attention to detail and thoughtfulness. We had the opportunity to try both restaurants and they were both exquisite with the Gourmet restaurant standing out in style. The spa facilities are also top class.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steveuzoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear „steveuzoma,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. We highly appreciate your comments and are proud to share this with our staff. Having a look at the pictures you uploaded, you had a wonderful view of the Hohenlohe region. We really hope your coming back soon for a visit so that we can spoil you even more in our gourmet-restaurant.

Until then, we are wishing you a great summer time and successful Olympic Games in London.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe is easily the most attractive and charming hotel experience I have had in Germany. We were a large party and took over the hunting lodge or Jagdschloss. The rooms could have been featured in World of Interiors and in fact were much more English country house than German schloss. Beautiful linens, excellent toiletries and charming grounds completed the experience. We were out touring every day so had little time to enjoy the spa and pool facilities which appeared state of the art. We did have two very memorable meals in two of the hotel dining rooms. For a romantic getaway close to many museums and towns of interest, I would highly recommend this charming, comfortable and well cared for historic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Attingham,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We read your comment with great pleasure and are glad to share these kind words with our staff.
Hopefully you and your group had a safe trip back home and maybe you get more time to relax in our Spa upon a return visit. We certainly would like to welcome you in Friedrichsruhe again.

Kind regards,

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
375 reviews
359 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I returned to the place of our family festivities after 15 years - and was totally dissappointed. The re-design by German screw billionaire Würth has killed the atmosphere of this previously unique hideaway. Absolutely tasteless. A failed mixture of old and modern with bland and cheap looking new furniture, lonely hallways with contemporary art (from the Würth collection), a typical conference module next to a stack of artificial wood and a life-size golden deer, a gastronomy "concept" where you cannot even get a quick snack anywhere (outside of room service) and personnel that is friendly but not trained to international 5-star-standards. You can see that it is a long way from industrial mass products (like screws) to a sophisticated luxury hotel (5 star SLH). I had such high expectations and was so let down. Positive: the Laura Chavin cigar lounge.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
“Good is not good where better is expected”
Thomas Fuller

Dear TrophyCollector,

Thank you very much for your return to Friedrichsruhe after so many years and for the time you invested for your feedback.

We highly regret that your expectations towards Friedrichsruhe were not met during your stay in August and that our new Spa building did not meet your taste. The Spa annex certainly is different to the traditional rooms in the other buildings. However, our guests generally tend to see the benefit of having the option to choose between different styles, ranging from historical to modern. After all, needs, desires, taste and expectations vary from individual to individual. Key in the process of finding the perfect room is the communication of those individual expectations. The more we know about your expectations, the better we can meet and exceed them.

Without knowing the details of your reservation, we assume that a major part of your dissatisfaction results from a lack of communication.
Your room serves as an example: through the kindness of our owner, the Würth company, we were able to add the new and modern Spa building, which attracts a lot of guests, whilst still being able to offer the historical rooms furnished with antiques in our castle, the traditional country style rooms in the main building and the Laura Ashley rooms in the gate – and garden house. The only difference to earlier years is that all rooms have been refurbished. Those rooms were most likely what you were expecting.
Another example is the gastronomy concept: we generally offer snacks throughout the day in our Spa Bistro and the Spa Restaurant and – upon request – in our bar with terrace. Through the mentioned lack of communication, the impression of the hotel that you received was misleading.

Dear TrophyCollector, we would like to take this opportunity to encourage you to stay in contact with us and we would be delighted if you would give us another chance to convince you of the overall quality and uniqueness of our hotel. Certainly, there are some individual matters of taste that we cannot influence, for all other matters our recommendation is to communicate your needs, desires and expectations towards your stay to our reservations department or to our Resident Manager Joerg Wedegaertner in order to give us a legitimate chance to meet or exceed them. With this approach, we are convinced of being able to delight even such an experienced traveler such as you.

Best regards,

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week and booked a room in the Spa building. The rooms are modern and soothing in cream and tan tones. Our room(216) is exactly what you would expect from a five star hotel: crisp linens, comfy sofas, spacious bathroom with all amenities and of course the turning down of the beds in the evening. The Spa and Pool area have been very nicely integrated into the rest of the hotel which is clearly older and represents the standard european elegance. Spa treatments were available until 7 p.m. , which I found very generous. My massages were all very professional and relaxing. A major point of this hotel is of course the food. We dined twice in the Gourmet Restaurant and twice in the Jägerstube which has a similar menu but without the attentive service of its one star twin. Only the restaurant in the Spa area could have used a more befitting menu. More salads and light soups for in between meals. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to relax and who enjoys Spa treatments, Golf and great food. All staff members are friendly, helpful amd very welled trained.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrohde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldschloss, Marketingassistant at Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Vrohde,

thank you for your kind words and the evaluation of our hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. This website is a great way for us to control our service-standard and we benefit from your comments. Certainly, we will discuss your suggestion regarding the Spa menu with our executive head chef.

We are looking forward welcoming you again – maybe the next time in one of the rooms at the historical hunting lodge.

Your
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zweiflingen
15.2 mi away
Mawell Resort
Mawell Resort
#1 of 2 in Langenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Gotzenburg
Schlosshotel Gotzenburg
#1 of 1 in Jagsthausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
11.7 mi away
Raitelberg Resort
Raitelberg Resort
#1 of 1 in Wustenrot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Rose
Hotel-Restaurant Rose
#1 of 2 in Bitzfeld
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 2 in Sindringen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Nothwang
Hotel Nothwang
#2 of 2 in Sindringen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe

Property: Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe
Address: Karcherstrasse 11, 74639 Zweiflingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Zweiflingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zweiflingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe is a 5-star Superior resort in Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany. It is located in the Hohenlohe region just an hour Northeast of Stuttgart. Set in an 4,4 Hectare big park, guests induldge with all senses: 66 individual rooms in four different buildings, a spacious Spa with the hotel's own skin care line, four different restaurants with one star-awarded gourmet-restaurant as well as a 27-hole golf course with golf-academy. Conference guests enjoy six modern rooms in a separate, half-timbered building. And for private functions the hotel provides a beautiful castle hall set in the historic hunting lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wald & Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe Germany/Zweiflingen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing