We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Bar and Grill Limited

Marina Bar and Grill Limited
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Thought we would try the Marina read some good and not so good reviews before we went. we
were greeted warmly, but then seated in a quiet corner small table for 2, felt uncomfortable and out of the way, the waiter heard me tell my husband I was not happy and reported to reception who arranged to move us into main room as soon as table was available. Service very good very attentive. Food was good, found sauce on my duck a little overpowering, otherwise everything else was fine. Will be going back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Marina Bar and Grill Limited, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi,
Thank you so much for your review, i am glad you enjoyed your overall experience :)
kind regards
Tina Granata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    80
    34
    26
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lots of scope but lots of improvement needed though”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Tried to book a table via e-mail. Sent e-mail to the one online and the one that Tina constantly refers to in her responses. Two days later, no response. At this point, I should have left it but we had agreed to give it a try with friends and phoned up to eventually reserve our table.

We arrived to warm greeting and were shown to our table. The starters were a bit of a mixed bag, one member of our table had the lobster parcel shells and was really impressed, whilst I had mussels that were a complete waster of time. Almost 50% of the mussels were closed which is an absolute no no. The sauce was also extremely hot.

Main courses were again hit and miss. Two of us had the seafood ravioli and the dish was full of broken shells. When we informed the gentleman who served us (possibly the owner) he shrugged his shoulders and explained this can happen with shell fish! Really? Prior to this he had loitered around our table all night using 'prego' as every other word!

They didn't have two of the wines on the wine menu, which was limited but all in all it was reasonable, without being good. If I could give 2.5 I would because it was very much a 50/50 experience.

There is genuine scope for this restaurant and it would be nice to see it do well but with other local restaurants that fall into the excellent category, they will quickly lose goodwill if they don't improve.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattnchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Marina Bar and Grill Limited, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi,
I am glad you enjoyed certain aspects of your meal, i am sorry that certain dishes didn't stand up to your expectations. We are constantly working to improve and i hope that you would see a positive change if you choose to return, with regards to the wine shortage, we were changing our supplier at the time which explains the low stock, we are now running a new wine list, i am really sorry however that this affected your experience,
kind regards
Tina Granata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited the marina, again after several superb meals, this time for the early bird menu. We were greeted by a very polite waiter who was extremely pleasant and made us feel very welcome. The early bird menu is fantastic value, with nearly all pizzas and pastas off the main menu available.
We will definitely be back again! Thank you!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Marina Bar and Grill Limited, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi,
thank you so much for your lovely comments! Im glad you enjoyed your return visit. :)
kind regards
Tina Granata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

First time visiting since the new owners took over and was very pleased. The service is excellent, very quick and attentive. The food was top quality and I would come back just for the lobster!
A lovely experience, thank you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Marina Bar and Grill Limited, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi,
thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed the lobster :)
kind regards
Tina Granata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unsure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We went with friends on Saturday evening. It was busy but not packed.
I felt the table was a little small for 4 people.
To begin with service was great. Had drinks. Took our order. But if anything we felt rushed. We'd sat down ordered and eaten starter and main within 45 minutes. I feel they missed opportunities, we would have had more to drink if they'd been more attentive. But once we'd had our main course we were left along. Yes we did ask for a rest before desserts. But we sat with empty glasses for a while.
Food was ok, everyone else had steak and I think they enjoyed it.
Desserts weren't v exciting.
So a little unsure of what to make of it. Maybe we'll try again... Maybe

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank clarees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Owner at Marina Bar and Grill Limited, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi,
i am sorry you were disappointed with the service on this occasion, we have had some staff changes recently, hopefully you will see a positive change if you choose to return,
kind regards
Tina Granata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Bar and Grill Limited also viewed

 
Littleborough, Rochdale
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Marina Bar and Grill Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing