We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want perfection come here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Littleborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rake
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you want perfection come here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

If you want to come for the perfect meal in the perfect place with lovely people then The Rake is the place that will always deliver! The food is beautiful, we love to come here for special occasions as we know it will be top notch!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ToriandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
52
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Came here with a table of four, had heard good things but didn't know what to expect as I'd never visited the place - I was not dissapointed! Waiters were excellent and helpful, after placing our order we went for a quick cigarette and by the time we returned our food was already being served! (Admittedly it was a tuesday night so not the busiest, though there were several tables seated - still a good sign!) We had around ten dishes between us, each of which were truly amazing and all freshly cooked (as a chef personally this was wonderful to see) and the flavors were excellent. Fantastic wine and brandy selection to top it off, and the bill was half of what I was expecting. 10/10 all round, would recommend to anyone who enjoys Tapas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cptginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

On e again The Rake surpasses itself.

Menu changed slightly but still so much choice

The freshest best tapas you can imagine

Mark and his staff have this place running to perfection.

Can't believe so many people have not heard of this place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haigh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at The Rake on Friday night for her birthday. The accomadion is incredible, we were given room 1 which has a living room with wood burning stove, a large comfortable bedroom & bathroom which is hidden behind a bookcase, very quirky ! We dined in the restaurant in the evening & ordered 5 tapas dishes between us all of which very mouth watering. I understand from the chef all the food is locally sourced & the sausages & bacon that I experienced for breakfast were the tastiest I've ever had & believe they come from their own pigs. They have a micro brewery on site which is heaven to a real ale drinker like myself.Many thanks for wonderul stay, we will definitely be returning very soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We ate here almost by accident, as our chosen venue was closed for another hour. We remembered it as a pub food place but were delighted to find a Tapas restaurant....a comprehensive menu supplemented by a lengthy specials board. The portions were large, all beautifully cooked, and in true Tapas style, brought to table as they were ready. Really enjoyable!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely Tappas Restaurant with extensive choice of food both in the menu and on the specials board. Always cooked fresh and extremely tasty. Ambience, staff and settings are superb, made to feel very welcome. Will definetely be returning for more tasty tappas soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

My Son took me here to-night for tea and as usual, the food was divine, some f the tastiest food I have ever had, all cooked to perfection. The service was excellent, atmosphere lovely. 10/10 to the Chef and Staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleborough
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rake

Property: The Rake
Address: Blackstone Edge Old Road, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Littleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Littleborough
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* rating accommodation with silver star breakfast award. Our rooms have been lovingly restored to a standard never seen at the Rake over its 400 years. They are finished mixing the existing character of the Rake with cutting edge modern styling. All are en-suite with either shower or bath. Each room has flatscreen TV with freeview. Internet access available. Popular tapas restaurant on site. Lovely garden/patio area for residents. Set in semi-rural setting with easy motorway access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing