We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, brilliant to chill out.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace

The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of the Pennines, this loungey little bar and restaurant in Littleborough provides the perfect pitstop for weary sightseers and is a cosy spot popular with locals for intimate evening meals and superb Sunday roasts. The Waterside Restaurant and Bar has a stylish and comfortable interior decorated with chocolate brown sofas and high-backed leather booths for semi-private dining, and there is an al fresco terrace for sunny outdoor dining during the warmer months. Famous for its roasts, the kitchen at Waterside offers a variety of options from the minted lamb shoulder to the salted pork crackling and roasted Tunisian lemon chicken. Fish fans will also love the seafood selection ��� we love the smoked haddock lasagne with Atlantic shrimps and wilted spinach.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, brilliant to chill out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Hidden gem of Littleborough, tranquil outdoor garden space where you actually feel you're in a spanish taverna. Sat outside with a glass of Pimms on numerous occasions this summer, and will be back. Food is perfect with loads of varied choice. I've been quite a few times and it used to be rather expensive, I'm sure they've brought their prices down as it seems reasonably priced nowadays. Very recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank L281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    133
    60
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been here on number of occasions, but this Sunday was the first time I went with one of my child, just me and my little one. As ever we had excellent service in a smart and comfortable restaurant. The food was fabulous and the children's meal looked great and fun. I think its important to teach children social skills and enjoy eating out so the fact that the children's food was well presented and filling was a huge bonus. I had the lamb roast dinner which was cooked to perfection, melt in the mouth scrumptiousness. A family run business much be be admired. So if you are a family, or a couple on an cosy date, or just a group of friends, I highly recommend eating here. I have also just popped in for a drink a few tapas which was most enjoyable. Thank you for ending of my weekend well, FABULOUS.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyRed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal in a really smart restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had lovely dinner at the Waterside last night - friendly, attentive staff, really good food in a restaurant with a laid back yet very smart atmosphere.

A bit more expensive than the other options in the area, but nice for a treat!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchestertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our second visit and again did not disappoint. Had a lovely Saturday evening here. The service was excellant and friendly and the atmosphere great.
Food was lovely and all well cooked. What else can I say- would definately recommend to anyone and will definately be returning shortly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinwatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our second visit to the waterside, another great lunch, the food is first class, the service excellent and the surroundings superb. We don't live local but it is well worth the drive, Lisa the owner goes out of her way to make sure your dining experience is the best it can be. The service is some of the best we have had anywhere and the important bit...the food, we enjoy eating out and know how food should be done and this is how food should be done.

If you enjoy great food, surroundings etc then a visit to the waterside should be on your to do list

Thanks Lisa for another great visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Del75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace also viewed

Littleborough, Rochdale
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Waterside Restaurant Bar & Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing